Company and Industry Research
10-K Sources
- Business & Company Resource Center [UNT Libraries' Subscription]
Provides company and industry information for over 300,000 companies.
Hint: do a Company Search. Find your public company and click Financials to get the 10K Report. To get the analysts' reports, click Investment Reports. - Hoover's Online [UNT Libraries' Subscription]
Provides proprietary information on about 18,500 companies, 180,000 officers, and 600 industries.
Additional information includes nearly 13 million companies from leading providers such as Dun & Bradstreet. - LexisNexis Academic [UNT Libraries' Subscription]
News, legal, & business sources.
Hint: How to find company filings on LexisNexis Academic (parent companies only):
Click on the BUSINESS tab to find company reports. Then type in the company's name or ticker. Then click SEARCH. Once you pull up the company's "SNAPSHOT," click FINANCIAL INFORMATION on the side menu. - Morningstar Document Research [UNT Libraries' Subscription]
Former name: 10-K Wizard. Includes all electronically filed forms with the SEC. Includes EDGAR Archives through 1994. Includes pre-Edgar listing of all SEC filings to 1966.
Also includes the full text of ADR filings for foreign companies, current and historical audit reports, updated company profiles, and glossy annual reports. - SEC EDGAR Database
Includes quick EDGAR tutorial, search for company filings, descriptions of SEC forms, requesting public documents, investor information, check out brokers & advisers, news digest, publications.
- EDGAR Tutorial
- EDGAR FAQ
- EDGAR Search - Thomson One Banker (Thomson Analytics) [UNT Libraries' Subscription]
Obtain more than 200 pre-formatted presentation-ready reports and charts containing financials, earnings ratios, and stock data. View and update graphs and reports as you work, and create custom price charts. You can download or import into Excel. This Resource will not work on Mozilla Firefox.
- - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - -
Elements of a 10K Report
[note the usefulness of PART II, ITEM 7 for company and industry analysis]
PART I
ITEM 1. Description of Business.
ITEM 1A. Risk Factor.
ITEM 1B. Unresolved Staff Comments.
ITEM 2. Description of Properties.
ITEM 3. Legal Proceedings.
ITEM 4. Submission of Matters to a Vote of Security Holders.
PART II
ITEM 5. Market for Registrant’s Common Equity, Related Stockholder Matters and Issuer Purchases of Equity Securities.
ITEM 6. Selected Financial Data.
ITEM 7. Management’s Discussion and Analysis of Financial Condition and Results of Operations.
ITEM 7A. Quantitative and Qualitative Disclosures about Market Risk.
ITEM 8. Financial Statements and Supplementary Data.
ITEM 9. Changes in and Disagreements With Accountants on Accounting and Financial Disclosure.
ITEM 9A(T). Controls and Procedures.
ITEM 9B. Other Information.
PART III
ITEM 10. Directors, Executive Officers and Corporate Governance.
ITEM 11. Executive Compensation.
ITEM 12. Security Ownership of Certain Beneficial Owners and Management and Related Stockholder Matters.
ITEM 13. Certain Relationships and Related Transactions, and Director Independence.
ITEM 14. Principal Accounting Fees and Services.
PART IV
ITEM 15. Exhibits, Financial Statement Schedules.
Signatures
- - - - - - - -
Need Help?
The UNT Libraries Government Documents staff is happy to answer your questions! Visit us on the 3rd Floor of Willis Library Government Documents Department, or call us at (940) 565-2870, or email us!