Skip to content. | Skip to navigation

Sections
Home Research Tools Subject Guides Finance Financial Ratios
Document Actions

Financial Ratios

Industry financial ratios

Almanac of business and industrial financial ratios by Leo Troy ("Troy's Almanac")

This almanac provides comparative NAICS financial data and benchmarks (including 50 performance indicators) for 192 industries in the U.S., Canada, and Mexico. Based on the latest IRS data for more than 4.9 million U.S. corporations, it includes ten-year trends for 13 key indicators for each industry sector.  HF5681.R25 A4  [ON RESERVE at Current Periodicals/Reserves Desk].

Industry Norms and Key Business Ratios (Dun & Bradstreet)

Industry Norms and Key Business Ratios_ is organized by industry code (NAICS code or SIC code).  It provides benchmark annual financial performance ratios per industry code by asset size (large, medium, and small-size firms).  It includes private companies.  D&B covers one year at a time. It contains information from over 1 million financial statements from over 800 different lines of business.  Use this book to compare a company's performance against its industry/competitors or to see trends in industry performance over time. It is updated annually. HF5681. R25I5 [ON RESERVE at Current Periodicals/Reserves Desk]. A copy is also located at the UNT Dallas Library.

RMA Annual Statement Studies (Robert Morris Associates)

RMA Annual Statement Studies_ is organized by industry code (NAICS code or SIC code).  The book provides benchmark industry ratios for large, medium, and small-size firms.  The book includes private companies. RMA provides ratios for the current year but it also covers several prior years for comparison purposes. The book provides 19 widely used financial ratios for over 370 industry groups collected from annual financial statements of firms. Data is presented in columns by size of firm in terms of total assets and other columns in terms of total sales.  Industries include manufacturing, wholesaling, retailing, service, and contracting businesses.

HG1507. R6 [ON RESERVE at Current Periodicals/Reserves Desk]. A copy is also located at the UNT Dallas Library.

For more information, see the following URL:
RMA Annual Statement Studies definition of ratios:

http://www.rmahq.org/NR/rdonlyres/3374780C-3BAD-4450-B47D-E12A5F34888E/0/DefinitionofRatios_FRB_web.pdf

See the following RMA product description page with
the FAQs about how to use the Annual Statement Studies:
http://www.rmahq.org/RMA/RMAUniverse/ProductsandServices/RMABookstore/
StatementStudies/statementstudiesfaqs.htm

Databases

Business Research Databases (COBA Computer Labs only)

The Libraries provide substantial financial support for research databases that are made available through the College of Business Administration. This link leads to information about those databases and how to access them. The databases include CRSP, Compustat, Research Insight, TAQ, EVENTUS, I B E S, ORS/ROS, WRDS.

Research Insight (COBA Computer Labs only)

Access to Research Insight is via the College of Business computer labs only. This database provides extensive coverage of the annual and quarterly financial statements and the supplemental data of publicly held companies and is designed for financial analysis. Contains 20 years of annual, 12 years of quarterly, seven years of business and geographic information.

Thomson One Banker (Thomson Analytics)

Thomson One Banker conducts powerful searches against data from multiple databases and displays detailed reports and charts. Search across multiple databases for immediate access to news, quotes, earnings estimates, key financials, ratios, and growth rates for over 65,000 active and inactive global companies. The data is drawn from IBES, Worldscope, SDC, other Thomson databases, and Edgar filings. Save search criteria and results for quick reference. Analyze the performance of companies individually or in the context of peers and industry averages. Obtain more than 200 pre-formatted presentation-ready reports and charts containing financials, earnings ratios, and stock data.  You can download (export) fixed fields into Excel, or use the Excel Add-In to pull data from "live"" Thomson Analytics databases directly into your Excel spreadsheets. 
Note: This resource will not work with Mozilla Firefox.

Websites

Bankrate.com

Small Business Ratio Calculators: Bankrate.com provides a brief introduction to ratio analysis as well as calculators for the most common ratios. Also provides calculators for mortgage, home equity, auto, CDs and investments, retirement planning, checking and savings, credit cards, debt management, college finance, personal finance, and taxes.

Bizstats: Free business statistics and financial ratios

BizStats.com provides information about ratios and benchmarks and statistics for various manufacturing and service industries. Ratios included: Industry Financial Ratios; Industry Balance Sheets; Industry Income and Expense. Hint: Scroll down the whole page before using it.

MSN Money - Stock Research

After you enter a company's ticker symbol, look in the left margin menu bar for 'Financial Results'. Then click on 'Key Ratios' to get ratios for both the company and the particular industry.

Reuters.com

This site provides financial ratios of industries in addition to market news and company and industry figures. To find industry ratios, click on Stocks and then enter the stock symbol of a public company. You will then go to a summary page about that company. If you then select "Ratios" (on the left side), you will get comparisons of some of the company's financial performance ratios against the industry.

Yahoo! Finance - Industry Summary

This section of Yahoo! Finance gives you a list of the industries covered. Click on the industry name to get a list of companies in it, ratios for each and for the industry.

Yahoo! Finance - Competitors information

Click on Investing.  Type in the ticker of a public company in your industry. Once the Quotes page comes up, click on Competitors on the left-hand margin.  This pulls up a page comparing a few of the company's profit numbers with those of three competitors and the industry as a whole.

Info
iSearch

iSearch

Search multiple databases for articles, all from one location

Jeffrey Levy

Contact Info

Willis Library, room 155
940-565-2013
Jeffrey.Levy@unt.edu

Email me!

Other pages by me


UNT and State of Texas: UNT | UNT Search | UNT News and Events | State of Texas | State-wide Search

Policies: UNT Web Accessibility Policy | AA/EOE/ADA | Privacy Statement | Disclaimer

1155 Union Circle #305190
Denton , TX 76203-5017
(940) 565-2413

Locations, Maps, and Shipping.

Credits
Government Information Connection