Books
Almanac - Business/Industrial Fin. Ratios
Almanac of business and industrial financial ratios by Leo Troy ("Troy's Almanac")
Hardcopy edition only.
- Also known as "Troy's Almanac."
- Location: HF5681.R25 A4 [ON RESERVE at Willis Library, 1st floor, Current Periodicals/Reserves Desk].
- Covers 192 industries in the U.S., Canada, and Mexico.
- Organized by NAICS codes.
- Furnishes 50 comparative performance indicators.
- Provides competitive norms in actual dollar amounts for revenue and capital factors, such as net receivables, net property, inventories, total assets, portfolio income, and more.
- Provides ratios for industry-wide results
- Inventory turnover
- Current assets to working capital
- Quick ratio and asset turnover
- Debt ratio
- Return on assets and equity
- Profit margin
- and more - Based on the latest IRS data for more than 4.9 million U.S. corporations
- The Almanac includes ten-year trends for 13 key indicators for each industry sector.
Need Help?
The UNT Libraries Government Documents staff is happy to answer your questions! Visit us on the 3rd Floor of Willis Library Government Documents Department, or call us at (940) 565-2870, or email us!
Business & Company Resource Center
- Provides company and industry information for over 300,000 companies.
- Includes company profiles, industry rankings, marketing information, products, brands, investment ratings, financial ratios, financial statements, market size, industries by SIC, directory information, and more.
- Search by company name, industry, topic, or geography.
A Company name or Industry search will pull the latest information drawn from the following databases:
American Wholesalers and Distributors Directory
Brands and Their Companies
Business Rankings Annual, 2000 through Present
Consultants and Consulting Organizations Directory
Encyclopedia of American Industries
Encyclopedia of Associations: National Organizations of the U.S.
Encyclopedia of Associations: Regional, State, and Local Organizations
Encyclopedia of Associations: International Organizations
Encyclopedia of Emerging Industries
Encyclopedia of Global Industries
Graham and Whiteside Major Company Series
International Directory of Company Histories
Market Share Reporter
Notable Corporate Chronologies
Publishers Directory
Telecommunications Directory
Ward's Business Directory of U.S. Private and Public Companies
Ward's Business Directory of Private and Public Companies in Canada and Mexico
World Market Share Reporter
Need Help?
The UNT Libraries Government Documents staff is happy to answer your questions! Visit us on the 3rd Floor of Willis Library Government Documents Department, or call us at (940) 565-2870, or email us!
D&B Industry Norms/Key Business Ratios
INDUSTRY NORMS AND KEY BUSINESS RATIOS
.
The UNT Libraries do not have the online equivalent at this time.
- Location: HF5681. R25I5 [ON RESERVE at Willis Library, 1st floor, Current Periodicals/Reserves Desk]. A copy is also located at the UNT Dallas Library.
- Published annually by Dun & Bradstreet.
- Organized by SIC (Standard Industrial Classification) code.
- It provides benchmark annual financial performance ratios per industry code by asset size (large, medium, and small-size firms).
- 14 key ratios provide important information about industry performance with respect to solvency, efficiency and, profitability.
- It includes private companies.
- Use this book to compare a company's performance against its industry/competitors.
- Use to spot important trends, identify strengths and weaknesses, or serve as a benchmark.
.
SAMPLE ENTRY: SIC 5112
Aggregation of Balance Sheets & Income Statements for the Stationery & Office Supplies Industry
| SIC 5112 Stationery & Office Supplies (No Breakdown)2008 (71 establishments) |
$ | % |
|---|---|---|
| Cash | 243,070 | 17.0 |
| Accounts Receivable | 533,325 | 37.3 |
| Notes Receivable | 1,430 | 0.1 |
| Inventory | 263,088 | 18.4 |
| Other Current | 64,342 | 4.5 |
| Total Current | 1,105,255 | 77.3 |
| Fixed Assets | 205,895 | 14.4 |
| Other Non-Current | 118,675 | 8.3 |
| Total Assets | 1,429,825 | 100.0 |
| Accounts Payable | 583,369 | 40.8 |
| Bank Loans | 8,579 | 0.6 |
| Notes Payable | 21,447 | 1.5 |
| Other Current | 77,210 | 5.4 |
| Total Current | 690,605 | 48.3 |
| Other Long-Term | 152,992 | 10.7 |
| Deferred Credits | 1,430 | 0.1 |
| Net Worth | 584,798 | 40.9 |
| Total Liabilities & Net Worth | 1,429,825 | 100.0 |
| Net Sales | 5,908,368 | 5,980,368 |
| Gross Profit | 1,760,694 | 1,760,694 |
| Net Profit After Tax | 64,992 | 64,992 |
| Working Capital | 414,650 | 414,650 |
RATIOS for SIC 5112, Stationery & Office Supplies Industry:
.
| RATIOS | Upper Quartile | Median Quartile | Lowest Quartile |
|---|---|---|---|
| SOLVENCY | |||
| Quick Ratio (times) | 2.7 | 1.2 | 0.8 |
| Current Ratio (times) | 3.7 | 1.9 | 1.3 |
| Curr Liab to NW (%) | 27.2 | 74.1 | 146.4 |
| Curr Liab to Inv (%) | 114.1 | 214.4 | 531.9 |
| Total Liab to NW (%) | 30.4 | 96.6 | 232.6 |
| Fixed Assets to NW (%) | 8.8 | 23.8 | 51.6 |
| EFFICIENCY | |||
| Coll Period (days) | 26.9 | 32.9 | 42.4 |
| Sales to Inv (%) | 45.8 | 21.2 | 13.9 |
| Assets to Sales (%) | 15.8 | 24.2 | 36.4 |
| Sales to Nwc (times) | 19.6 | 11.4 | 6.1 |
| Acct Pay to Sales (%) | 3.2 | 5.3 | 7.0 |
| PROFITABILITY | |||
| Return on Sales (%) | 2.5 | 0.8 | (0.3) |
| Return on Assets (%) | 10.0 | 3.9 | (0.5) |
| Return on NW (%) | 19.6 | 10.6 | (0.7) |
Need Help?
The UNT Libraries Government Documents staff is happy to answer your questions! Visit us on the 3rd Floor of Willis Library Government Documents Department, or call us at (940) 565-2870, or email us!
International Directory - Company Histories
International Directory of Company Histories
Available through the UNT Libraries' subscription to the electronic resource, Business & Company Resource Center (find your company in the database; then click on Histories).
Alternate hardcopy edition: call number HD2721 .I63, Willis Library, 3rd floor, Government Documents / Business Reference.
Use the index in the last volume to look up your company.
Description:
-- Over 109 volumes and growing!
-- Provides detailed information on 8,500 companies.
Use to:
-- Research company background & history.
-- Research merger and acquisition activity over time.
-- Determine the impact of marketing campaigns.
Each company entry provides:
-- Founders
-- Expansions and strategies.
-- Labor/management actions.
-- Stock exchanges, ticker symbols and industries.
-- Subsidiaries, divisions, & competitors.
-- Statistics, dates & names of key players.
Need Help?
The UNT Libraries Government Documents staff is happy to answer your questions! Visit us on the 3rd Floor of Willis Library Government Documents Department, or call us at (940) 565-2870, or email us!
RMA Annual Statement Studies
RMA ANNUAL STATEMENT STUDIES (Risk Management Association)
The UNT Libraries do not have the online equivalent at this time.
- Also known as Robert Morris Associates.
- Location: HG1507. R6 [ON RESERVE at Willis Library, 1st floor, Current Periodicals/Reserves Desk]. A copy is also located at the UNT Dallas Library.
- Organized by NAICS industry code.
- This book provides benchmark industry ratios for large, medium, and small-size firms.
- The book includes private companies.
- RMA provides ratios for the current year but it also covers several prior years for comparison purposes.
- The book provides 19 widely used financial ratios for over 370 industry groups collected from annual financial statements of firms.
- Data is presented in columns by size of firm in terms of total assets and other columns in terms of total sales.
- View a sample page from the RMA Annual Statement Studies
Need Help?
The UNT Libraries Government Documents staff is happy to answer your questions! Visit us on the 3rd Floor of Willis Library Government Documents Department, or call us at (940) 565-2870, or email us!