Skip to content. | Skip to navigation

Sections
Document Actions

Articles

Electronic Databases, Indexes, & Abstracts

ELECTRONIC DATABASES, INDEXES and ABSTRACTS

Many communication journals at UNT Libraries are available in electronic format through a full-text database. Keep in mind, however, that there are other abstracts and indexes (databases) that do not provide full-text access to articles but which are still useful research tools. Some useful databases, full-text or otherwise, are described below.

Communication Abstracts provides summaries of journal articles, book chapters, and papers documenting all areas of communication studies (mass, interpersonal, and new communication technologies). Entries are arranged under subtopic headings such as "Health Communication" or "Education and Communication.Online coverage is 1998 to 2003. UNT Libraries have a print version of Communication Abstracts that covers 1978 to 2006.

ComAbstracts contains abstracts of articles and books published in the primary professional literature of the communications field. As of June 2006, ComAbstracts indexes approximately 87 journals, most of which are held by UNT Libraries. Coverage for most journals starts in the 1980s. This is not a full-text database, but it does contain coverage for some titles and time periods not covered by other communication-specific databases. Once you identify an article in ComAbstracts, use the Library Catalog Journal Title Search to determine if UNT Libraries has the particular journal issue needed.

Communication and Mass Media Complete is an index that provides full-text access to articles related to communications and mass media. It combines the databases CommSearch and Mass Media Articles Index. Full-text articles are available for nearly 200 journals.

Academic Search Complete is a scholarly collection providing full-text journal coverage for nearly all academic areas of study, including social sciences, humanities, education, computer sciences, engineering, arts & literature, medical sciences, and ethnic studies. It contains full-text articles for nearly 4,600 scholarly publications, with coverage dating back to 1975. Searching Academic Search Premier in addition to searching communication-specific resources (ComAbstracts, Communication & Mass Media Complete), may be desirable when researching topics that cross academic disciplines.

LexisNexis Academic Contains general news (1980 to today), business information (full text news and financial information), legal research (full-text federal, state, and international legal materials), medical (full-text and abstracted medical and health information), and general reference sources.

Newspapers and Magazines

Newspapers and Magazines

Most of the newspapers and magazines that UNT subscribes to will be available primarily in electronic format. Some will be located in Microforms or stored in the Current Periodical Room, next to Reserves (1st floor map). Whenever available, the free internet version will be listed on this page.  Please note that while some of these are free, they may require you to create an account to view the stories.

UNT access requires a current UNT EUID/Password (Tips and Tricks).

  • IPL Newspaper Collection list

The Internet Public Library has links online newspapers from around the world, arranged by country/region.

http://www.ipl.org/div/news/
  • BBC (British Broadcasting Corporation)

Site includes news links and BBC radio programs in various languages. Also has a link to World Service.

http://www.bbc.co.uk/

  • New York Times

(Free internet version may require you to  create an account and log in)

http://www.nytimes.com/

 

UNT coverage of New York Times source based on Journal Title search

New York Times [electronic resource]
UNT coverage from 1980 - present
UNT catalog permalink: http://iii.library.unt.edu/record=b2684721
Requires UNT EUID/Password (Tips and Tricks) 

New York Times in Print at UNT
UNT catalog permalink: http://iii.library.unt.edu/record=b1008111  

 

Need more Newspapers or Magazines? 

You can search an electronic Resource at UNT

Access World News

1. Go to the electronic resources page for the letter A at:  http://irservices.library.unt.edu/ais.cfm?alpha=A

2. Click on Access World News
3.  If off-campus, enter your current UNT EUID/Password (Tips and Tricks).

SEARCH:
Pick your region before doing a search (i.e. United States, then Texas to limit to Texas Newspapers)
 

Catalog Browsing:

Try using these terms to browse the UNT Library Catalog in a Subject Heading Search:

Newspapers United States

Newspapers Texas

 

 

 Advertising, Newspaper

 

Electronic Newspapers (which has a link to sources about

this topic)

Use the term Periodicals instead of Magazines for sources about that topic)

Journals - Subject Catalog Search

UNT Catalog Subject Search Terms
     (by Communication areas):

 If you want to browse a journal area in our collection, click on the following subject headings. . .

Communication Periodicals
Communication and Culture Periodicals
Communication in Management Periodicals
Communication Methodology Periodicals
Communication Research Periodicals
Communication Sex Differences Periodicals
Communication Social Aspects Periodicals
Forensics (Public Speaking) Periodicals
Freedom of Speech Periodicals
Freedom of Speech United States Periodicals
Information Technology Social Aspects Periodicals
Mass Media Periodicals
Oral Communication Periodicals
Oral Communication Study and Teaching Periodicals
Oratory Periodicals
Public Speaking Periodicals
Rhetoric Philosophy Periodicals
Speech Periodicals

 

Locating a Journal by Journal Title

If you have a specific journal title in mind, conduct a search in the UNT Library Catalog to determine if UNT subscribes either in print or online.

You can request journal articles not available at the UNT Libraries through Interlibrary Loan & Document Delivery.

Keep in mind that a Library Catalog search will not work for the title of an article or the author of an article, only the title of the journal in which an article is published. For article title and article author searches, consult an electronic abstract or index (database).

Info

Looking for journal articles? 

Try out our new Find Articles (Beta) search! 

Don't forget to let us know what you think about it.

 

Frances May

Contact Info

UNT Library Research & Instructional Services Willis 155. 940-565-4812

Email me!

Other pages by me


UNT and State of Texas: UNT | UNT Search | UNT News and Events | State of Texas | State-wide Search

Policies: UNT Web Accessibility Policy | AA/EOE/ADA | Privacy Statement | Disclaimer

1155 Union Circle #305190
Denton , TX 76203-5017
(940) 565-2413

Locations, Maps, and Shipping.

Credits
Government Information Connection
The UNT Libraries are on Facebook