Web Sites
Abbreviations and Acronymns
ChemieDe
ChemieDe abbreviations and acronyms site. Very basic system but has a wide variety of terms.
Indiana Prevention Resource Center
Indiana Prevention Resource Center Dedicated to acronyms and abbreviations for drugs and related items.
StarBits
StarBits Multilingual acronyms, abbreviations and contractions. Published by Kluwer publishers and has some authority.
Grants, Scholarships, and Funding Sources
Community of Science
Community of Science Database for funding sources allows searching by geographical location, sponsor's name, and more.
National Science Foundation
Grants available from the National Science Foundation. Search NSF's database of funding opportunities.
GrantsNet
GrantsNet Specializing in grants and funds for biomedical sciences and undergraduate sciences.
Grants and Fellowships
Grants and Fellowships (courtesy of ACS Analytical Chemistry Division)
NIH Grants & Contracts
NIH Grants & Contracts The National Institutes of Health's searchable database of funding opportunities.
NSF Directorate for Mathematical and Physical Sciences
NSF Directorate for Mathematical and Physical Sciences. Division of Chemistry
NSF Office of Science & Technology Centers
NSF Office of Science & Technology Infrastructure
National Institute of Standards and Technology Programs
National Institute of Standards and Technology Programs
Oak Ridge National Laboratory Patents Information
Oak Ridge National Laboratory Patents Information
URL:
ACS Scholarship programs
ACS Scholarship programs
Scholarship Search
Collegeboard.com's Scholarship Search Locates scholarships, as well as internships and financial aid offers.
FastWeb Scholarship Search
FastWeb Scholarship Search Extensive database providing numerous criteria for effective limiting.
Scholarship Research Network Express
Scholarship Research Network Express
URL:
Scholarship Research Center
US News Scholarship Research Center Allows you to search and select based on a variety of criteria. Also has other useful information on schools and employment.
Employment Sources
American Chemical Society
American Chemical Society's website offers a number of employment tools BUT you have to be a member of ACS to access the tools.
Science Magazine
Science's career links. Offers job search, resume posting, salary guides, satisfaction surveys and more.
Book Announcements and Reviews
Angewandte Chemie
Angewandte Chemie (International Edition) Offers book reviews online organized by volume and issue.
Pearson
Site offers online description of items, often chapter by chapter, and many have an online component for teaching. Worth checking out.
Clinical Chemistry
Clinical Chemistry offers book reviews online. Scroll down home page to "Book and Software Reviews" link.
CRC Chemistry Books
CRC Chemistry Books - Lists new CRC books, includes a description, contents and related (CRC) titles.
John Wiley Chemistry Bookstore on Amazon.com
John Wiley Chemistry Bookstore on Amazon.com In partnership with Wiley publishers, Amazon offers a list of new books. Many have reviews taken from newspapers or provided by customers.
Molecules Book Reviews
Molecules Book Reviews Free registration required to access current reviews in PDF format, HTML format should not require registration. Offers full text reviews from 1997.
New York Review of Books
New York Review of Books Free of charge to browse reviews from 1967 to present, although viewing the text online requires a subscription.
Oxford University Press
Oxford University Press a good source for finding and reviewing books.
URL: http://ukcatalogue.oup.com/
Green Chemistry
Green Chemistry Royal Society of Chemistry's journal Green Chemistry offers book reviews free of charge online.
Science
Science
Springer (New Chemistry Books)
Springer (New Chemistry Books) A list of new books from Springer publishers. May have reviews or just a description. Can search entire catalog from this site.
Wiley-VCH
Wiley-VCH Forthcoming titles. Provides links to "just published" items by month.
Physical Properties of Chemicals
ChemConnections
ChemConnections maintained by Berkeley. Provides a 3_D viewer for downloading. Also links to protein/amino acid databases.
Molecules R’Us
Molecules R’Us. Searches the Brookhaven protein data bank.
ChemFinder
ChemFinder by Cambridge Soft. A remarkably efficient Internet search engine, which searches for information on specific compounds by name, formula, CAS registry number, and molecular weight. Provides synonyms, CAS numbers, physical property data (i.e. molecular weight, melting point, boiling point, specific gravity, etc.) and 2D chemical structures on the thousand or so most common compounds.
General Chemistry Online
General Chemistry Online maintainted by F. Senese. Comprehensive links to online resources, handbooks, compound libraries (places to go when looking for info on your compound), and substantial glossary.
ChemID
ChemID via National Library of Medicine's Internet Grateful Med. A chemical dictionary file of compounds of biomedical and regulatory interest. Records include CAS Registry and other identifying numbers, molecular formulas, generic names, and synonyms. Another feature of the database is the SUPERLIST which provides information on whether the chemical substances is on federal and state regulatory agency lists.
Chemistry WebBook
Chemistry WebBook (National Institute of Standards and Technology) Provides thermochemical data (i.e. heat capacity, vapor pressure), heat of reaction data, IR spectra, mass spectra, ion energetics data, and thermophysical property data (i.e. density) for thousands of compounds.
Making matter
Making matter. Maintained by M. Hewat. Provides access to 3-D images of molecules.
Chemical & Physical Properties
Chemical & Physical Properties - extensive list maintained by Duke University
NIST Reference on Constants, Units and Uncertainty
NIST Reference on Constants, Units and Uncertainty. National Institute of Standards and Technology.
The Laws List
The Laws List. Erik Max Francis. Laws, rules, principles, effects, paradoxes, limits, constants, experiments, & thought-experiments in physics.
NDRL Radiation Chemistry Data Center
NDRL Radiation Chemistry Data Center. Keith P. Madden. Links to compilations and evaluations of kinetic, spectroscopic and thermodynamic data for processes in solution involving reactive intermediates, including free radicals and excited states.
Periodic Tables of the Elements
Chemical Elements.com
Chemical Elements.com: Periodic Table of the Elements (A great site. Provides options of sorting by atomic number, mass, melting point, boiling point and more)
Periodic Table of the Elements
Periodic Table of the Elements. Hotlinks provide additional information
Periodic Table (MIT)
Periodic Table (MIT)
Periodic Table (UBC)
Periodic Table (UBC)
Elements
Elements (by name, symbol, atomic number) (UBC)
3-D Periodic Table of Radii and Structure Database
3-D Periodic Table of Radii and Structure Database hosted by University of Washington
WebElements: Periodic Table of the Elements
WebElements: Periodic Table of the Elements
Periodic Videos
Periodic table with educational videos for each of the elements.
Material Safety Data Sheets
Interactive Learning Paradigms
Interactive Learning Paradigms material safety data sheets on the web. Also provides links to suppliers, regulations, glossary and more.
Health Canada
Health Canada’s extensive list of material safety data sheets on the web.
Comprehensive list
Comprehensive list of online MSDS maintained by Berkeley.
Patents
Patentalert
Patentalert provides alerts to newly published patents.
Delphion
US and international patent search by Delphion
US Patent and Trademark office
US Patent and Trademark office. Provides search engines for US patents some available online.
Europe’s network of patent databases
Europe’s network of patent databases. Search for European patents. Some may be online.
Safety and Hazard Information
Chemical Health and Safety Data
Chemical Health and Safety Data - from the National Toxicology Program.
International Chemical Safety Cards
International Chemical Safety Cards - sponsored by the National Institute for Occupational Health and Safety.
Reaction Information
Ligand
Ligand Database of Chemical Compounds and Reactions in Biological Pathways. Maintained by GenomeNet of Japan. Search by reaction, compound (can draw own compound), and more.
SPRESI Reaction Database
SPRESI Reaction Database Provided by the All-Union Institute of Scientific and Technical Information of the Academy of Sciences of the USSR (VINITI) and the German Zentrale Informationsverarbeitung Chemie, Berlin (ZIC). SPRESI is a web searchable database of 3.3 million compounds and 2.5 million reactions. Searching by exact structure, substructure and structural "similarity" are available. Reactions are displayed as part of the compound record. You get to draw your own structure. Pay per use.
Structure and Imaging Information
ChemIDplus
ChemIDplus - provided by the National Library of Medicine provides access to structure and nomenclature authority files used for the identification of chemical substances cited in National Library of Medicine (NLM) databases. ChemIDplus also provides structure searching and direct links to many biomedical resources at NLM and on the Internet for chemicals of interest. The database contains over 350,000 chemical records, of which over 80,000 include chemical structures, and is searchable by Name, Synonym, CAS Registry Number, Molecular Formula, Classification Code, Locator Code, and Structure. Very helpful factsheet which should be checked before using ChemIDplus
SPRESI Structural Database
SPRESI Structural Database - contains about 4 million organic and organometallic compounds and data, 700,000 stereoisomers and over 3 million journal article references taken from the worldwide literature of the period 1975-current. This is a pay per use site
Spectra Resources
ACD/I-Lab
ACD/I-Lab is an Internet-based service for instant access to chemical databases and property predictions programs. With I-Lab access, you can obtain NMR spectra, get systematic chemical names and predict properties such as pKa or LogP for their chemical structures from both your Internet browser and from inside ChemSketch, a powerful structure drawing tool that can be downloaded from our Web site for free.
Nomenclature
Abbreviations and Symbols
Abbreviations and Symbols for Nucleic Acids, Polynucleotides, and Their Constituents.
Autonom
Autonom - An automatic IUPAC name generating program from Beilstein is available free from Chemweb.com (you must sign up for a free personal membership first). You will need to install the ISIS/Draw and Chime plug-ins to use Autonom. You draw the structure in ISIS, export it to the web query box, and Autonom will generate a chemical name.
Brenda
Brenda - The comprehensive enzyme system. Everything about enzymes, including nomenclature
ChemINDEX
ChemINDEX Created by the Canadian Center for Occupational Health and Safety, ChemINDEX is a quick way to find out basic information on a chemical, including linking CAS numbers with commonly used chemical names.
Enzyme Nomenclature Database
Enzyme Nomenclature Database Based on recommendations from the IUBMB and contains all enzymes which have a EC number. Searches by EC number, class, compound, and cofactor. Provides links to other enzyme naming systems.
Glossary of Class Names
Glossary of Class Names of Organic Compounds and Reactive Intermediates Based on Structure; IUPAC
IUBMB
IUBMB Nomenclature Recommendations. Nicely lists options by broad group name.
IUPAC Compendium of Chemical Terminology
IUPAC Compendium of Chemical Terminology Online version of the well known print source. Maintained by Chemsoc.org.
IUPAC Naming Software
IUPAC Naming Software is part of ACD/ChemSketch Free Software offered by Advanced Chemistry Development and allows you to draw and name chemical up to 50 atoms. Pay software is available which will allow up to 255 atoms.
Chemistry 4-D Nomenclator
Chemistry 4-D Nomenclator - Pay software which will convert names to structures or structures to names. Produced by ChemInnovation.
Chemical and Lab Equipment Suppliers
ChemIndustry.com
ChemIndustry.com - a search engine for chemicals and related supplies
Software and Design Tools
SciVision
SciVision A division of Academic Press, SciVision offers a variety of software for chemistists, primarily for organic compounds.
Fun Stuff
4000 Years of Women in Science
4000 Years of Women in Science Biographies, photographs and references for famous women in science.
Chemistry of Chili Peppers
Chemistry of Chili Peppers An interesting site, especially for cooks.
Illusionworks
Illusionworks A fun site devoted to optical and sensory illusions
Mad Scientist Network
Mad Scientist Network Hosted by the Washington University Medical School and devoted to interesting facts about science.
National Inventors Hall of Fame
National Inventors Hall of Fame All about inventors and inventions
National Medal of Science
National Medal of Science Winners Can search back until 1962.
Nobel Museum
Nobel Museum Official site for the Nobel prize winners.
OxyMoron Humor Archive
OxyMoron Humor Archive Contains both general and science humor. Maintained by Paul Merton.
Molecular Expressions
Molecular Expressions maintained by Florida State University. Offers optical microscopy images (photomicrographs) of a variety of items, including "burgers 'n fries", dinosaur bones and microchips. Worth taking a look at.
Periodic Table of Comics
Periodic Table of Comics Check out appearances of your favorite element in comic books. Fun stuff!
Snow Page
Snow Page. Go figure - a site devoted to the study of snow. Hosted by the USDA.
A Visual Interpretation of the Elements
A Visual Interpretation of the Elements hosted by Chemsoc.org. Provides a visual representation of elements, as well as historical facts and chemical data.
Other Sites of Interest
Molecular Diversity Preservation International
Molecular Diversity Preservation International : chemical museum and samples exchange. MDPI Center (Bazel, Switzerland). Provides access to historically significant research chemical samples in the chemical museum in Basel, Switzerland. Promotes the sharing and exchanging of other rare chemical samples worldwide.
Supramolecular Site
The Supramolecular Site created by Scott Childs and hosted by Emory University Atlanta, GA. Information about crystal engineering: solid state synthesis of supramolecular species in organic supramolecular chemistry, supramolecular aggregates, cyclic nanotubes composed of poly peptides.
Virtual Chemistry Laboratory
The Virtual Chemistry Laboratory developed at Oxford University is a growing collection of tutorials and experiments that covers the following topics in inorganic chemistry: nickel(II) complexes, metal ions in solution, superconductors, organometallic chemistry, and the structures of inorganic solids.