Reference Sources
Dictionaries and Encyclopedias
Electrochemistry Dictionary
Provides information on electrochemistry.Freely available onlineChemInfo
Quick reference, short factual answers site that searches pages mounted by staff and the University of Indiana. Freely available online
ThermoDex
Hosted by University of Texas at Austin. An index to selected thermodynamic handbooks
Chemical Tutorials
Web available Chemical tutorials. Useful for learning new techniques or upgrading skills. Freely available online
Nomenclature Guides
Links to online Nomenclature Guides. Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory. University of California
Web Elements
Web Elements - Online periodical table
NMR Table
NMR Table sponsored by TAMU department of Chemistry
Toolbox by Chemie.de
Toolbox by Chemie.de. Provides links to chemical dictionaries, abbreviations, unit converter, molecular mass calculator.
Common Weights and Measures Lists
Common weights and measures lists. Maintained by UC Berkeley.
The Addison-Wesley Science Handbook
The Addison-Wesley science handbook. Gordon J. Coleman and David Dewar. Eagle Commons Library REFERENCE Q199.C65 1997 (In Library Use Only). Constants for science -- Units & conversions -- Translating science into English, Biology, Chemistry, Geology, Physics -- Mathematics.
Analytical Chemistry Handbook
Analytical chemistry handbook. John A. Dean. Eagle Commons Library REFERENCE. QD78.D43 1995. (In Library Use Only). Analytic chemistry.
Atlas of Spectral Data and physical constants for organic compounds
Atlas of spectral data and physical constants for organic compounds. Editors, Jeanette G. Grasselli, William M. Ritchey. Eagle Commons Library REFERENCE QD257.7.G7 1975. (In Library Use Only). Organic chemistry and spectrum analysis tables.
The chemical dynamics and kinetics of small radicals
The chemical dynamics and kinetics of small radicals. Kopin Liu, Albert Wagner. Eagle Commons Library QD471.C485 1995 v.1-2. Chemical radicals, reactivity, kinetics.
The Chemical Formulary
The Chemical formulary. Eagle Commons Library REFERENCE: v.1-v.27 TP151.B35 (In Library Use Only). Technical chemistry, formulae, prescriptions, recipes for thousands of products.
Comprehensive Organometallic Chemistry : the synthesis, reactions, and structures of organometallic compounds
Comprehensive organometallic chemistry : the synthesis, reactions, and structures of organometallic compounds. Editor, Sir Geoffrey Wilkinson Eagle Commons Library REFERENCE QD411.C65 1982 (In Library Use Only). Organometalic compounds
CRC Handbook of Chemistry and Physics
CRC handbook of chemistry and physics. Eagle Commons Library REFERENCE: 77th ed. (1996-1997) UNTSCD:80th ed.(1999-2000) QD65.H31. Chemistry and physics tables. (In Library Use Only).
Dictionary of Chemical Terminology : In five languages, English, German, French, Polish, Russian
Dictionary of chemical terminology : in five languages, English, German, French, Polish, Russian. Dobromila Kryt. Eagle Commons Library REFERENCE QD5.D49 (In Library Use Only). Chemistry -- Dictionaries -- Polyglot. Dictionaries, Polyglot.
Encyclopedia of Analytical Science
Encyclopedia of analytical science. Editor-in-chief, Alan Townshend. Eagle Commons Library REFERENCE QD71.5.E53 1995 (In Library Use Only). 1. A-Che -- v. 2. Chi-Fla -- v. 3. Flow-Gas -- v. 4. Gast-Lip -- v. 5. Liq-Micros -- v. 6. Microw-Pha -- v. 7. Pha-Rut -- v. 8. Sam-Sur -- v. 9. Sew-Z -- v. 10. Index, directories, and appendices. Chemistry, Analytic -- Encyclopedias.
Encyclopedia of Analytical Chemistry : applications, theory, and instrumentation
Encyclopedia of analytical chemistry : applications, theory, and instrumentation. R.A. Meyers. Eagle Commons Library REFERENCE QD71.5.E52 2000 (In Library Use Only). v.1-v. 10. Applications of instrumental methods -- v. 11-v. 15. Theory and instrumentation. Chemistry, Analytic -- Encyclopedias.
Thermochemical Data of Organic Compounds
Thermochemical data of organic compounds. J.B. Pedley, R.D. Naylor, S.P. Kirby. Eagle Commons Library REFERENCE QD511.8.P43 1986 (In Library Use Only). Thermochemistry, organometallic compounds, organic chemistry.
Writing Guides and Style/Citation Manuals
The ACS [American Chemical Society] style guide
The UNT Libraries has 3 copies of the 2006 ACS Style Guide: effective communication of scientific information located with the call number QD8.5.A25 2006, all of which are located in the Eagle Commons Library. One copy is located in the Eagle Commons Library Reference Collection, one on Reserve, and one is available for normal check out from the circulating collection. There are also 2 copies of the previous 1997 edition located in the circulating collection with the call number QD8.5.A25 1997
Online ACS Style
Brief online ACS Style guidelines from ACS.
ACS Style Guide Examples: University of Wisconsin
A good site from the University of Wisconsin Library. Covers the basics.
ACS Style Guide Examples: Penn State
A 5 page pdf document developed by Penn State listing a fairly broad range of examples using the 3rd edition.
1997 ACS Style Guide Examples:
Based on the 1997 guidelines but provides more examples than the U Wisconsin. Hosted by Berkeley.
ACS Style Guide: Sample Chapter
A sample chapter from the 1997 edition. Provides a number of writing tips that are relevant today.