Skip to content. | Skip to navigation

Sections
Home Research Tools Subject Guides Chemistry Articles Chemistry Databases
Document Actions

Chemistry

Chemistry Databases

Journal article databases and other electronic resources useful for Chemistry can be accessed by going to Find Journal Articles on the middle left of the Libraries home page. The best of the best are provided below:

SciFinder Scholar

is the online version of Chemical Abstracts, and is the best resource to use when doing literature reviews in chemistry. The database contains journal articles from 1907 to current. SciFinder is restricted to 3 simultaneous users so you may occasionally encounter messages telling you that there are not enough connections. You will need to set up an account using the registration link https://origin-scifinder.cas.org/registration/index.html?corpKey=3574ABFD-86F3-50AB-5853-7F37D9CB1A36 using your UNT e-mail and password. SciFinder will sent a message within 24 hours to which you must respond.

Web of Science   

is a good resource to use if you can't get into SciFinder. Covers a wide variety of journals in all disciplines, but only a small segment compared to SciFinder. Included journals are frequently consider to be the "top" journals in each field. Strength of Web of Science is the ability to create an account and set up alerts for search terms/keywords, cited articles, and tables of contents for specific journals. Can also perform a "cited reference" search and follow an author's publishing history and calculate their "h index". A tutorial is available

 

SciVerse (formerly ScienceDirect) 

is a journal package and is normally used for accessing articles found using SciFinder. However, like Web of Science, you can create an account and set up alerts for search terms/keywords, cited articles, and tables of contents. It is also good to use when SciFinder is having issues

Other useful resources are: AccessScience (an online encyclopedia), Encyclopedia of Computational Chemistry, Ullmann's Encyclopedia of Industrial Chemistry, Methods in Organic Synthesis Database, and Catalysts and Catalysed Reactions

 

If you have any trouble accessing the resources, go to https://vpn.unt.edu and log in using your euid and password. Then type in the url for the Libraries' home page http://www.library.unt.edu and then proceed as you would usually.

This page is maintained by Beth Thomsett-Scott last modified Friday, July 01, 2011. 01:59 PM

UNT and State of Texas: UNT | UNT Search | UNT News and Events | State of Texas | State-wide Search

Policies: UNT Web Accessibility Policy | AA/EOE/ADA | Privacy Statement | Disclaimer

1155 Union Circle #305190
Denton , TX 76203-5017
(940) 565-2413

Locations, Maps, and Shipping.

Credits
Government Information Connection
The UNT Libraries are on Facebook