Census
Statistics
Census Bureau
The U.S. Bureau of the Census publishes thousands of volumes of statistics on population, housing, business, and agriculture. These may be available at UNT in paper and/or on CD-ROM. Much recent census data (starting with the 2000 census) is only available online.
If you would like to look at any Census publication, ask at the Government Documents Service Desk. Please be as specific as possible in describing the type of information you need.
Keep in mind that because privacy is a very important concern of the Census Bureau, you won't find information on specific persons or companies (except in the older census publications mentioned below).
Numerous interactive Data Sets are available through the U.S. Census Bureau’s American FactFinder. You can generate your own custom tables on many different topics for many types of geographic areas, including the United States, counties, cities and towns, congressional districts, American Indian reservations, and census tracts and blocks.
Places can be identified with the U.S. Gazetteer; maps are available through the TIGER Map server.
State Data Centers make data produced by the Census Bureau available locally to the public through a network of state agencies, universities, libraries, and regional and local governments.
Census 2010
The last comprehensive U.S. census took place in 2010. Here are some sources of and guides to using data from the 2010 census.
- Census 2010 Homepage (U.S. Census Bureau)
- Links to Census 2000 products and data, news releases, outreach information, and plans and operations reports.
- American FactFinder: Decennial Census (U.S. Census Bureau)
- The primary source for Census 2010 data. Search by topic, geography, race and ethnic groups, industry codes.
- Congressional Apportionment (U.S. Census Bureau)
- The fundamental reason for conducting the decennial census of the United States is to determine the number of members of the House of Representatives each of the 50 states is entitled to have (U.S. Constitution: Article I, Section 2). The items here will help you understand the Census Bureau's role in the congressional apportionment process.
- State Population Profile Maps (U.S. Census Bureau)
- View detailed population and housing data from the 2010 Census for each state. Each map includes a pie chart showing population by race, a population pyramid, and a bar chart illustrating housing occupancy rates.
- Interactive Population Map (U.S. Census Bureau)
- View 2010 Census statistics for local areas down to the block level. Statistics include population counts, age, sex, race, ethnicity and household information.
Population Reports
The Census publishes summary reports on various aspects of the U.S. population, including reports on Age and Density, periodic Estimates of the population between official censuses, Profiles of certain segments of the population, Projections of expected developments, and reports on specific Topics.
The Current Population Reports series includes the following reports:
-
P-20 - Population
Characteristics
- P-23 - Special Studies
- P-25 - Population Estimates and Projections
- P-60 - Consumer Income
- P-70 - Household Economic Studies
Other Major Sources of Census Data
- Census 2000 Gateway (U.S. Census Bureau)
- Statistics, reports, bulletins, and other publications from the decennial census conducted in 2000.
- 1990 Census (U.S. Census Bureau)
- Statistics, reports, bulletins, and other publications from the decennial census conducted in 1990.
- American FactFinder (U.S. Census Bureau)
- Population, housing, economic, and geographic data from the 2010 Census
are available.
- CensusCD+Maps
CD-ROM available at the Government Documents Service Desk, Call Number CD-ROM 216 - This comprehensive database contains complete 1990 U.S. Census data
down to census block group; projections of demographics and consumer
spending; complete map boundaries for all block groups; and county statistics
from 1790 to 1996. Allows user to select, report, and map data.
A guided tour to CensusCD+Maps is available online from the GeoLytics product list. - CensusCD 1980
CD-ROM available at the Government Documents Service Desk, Call Number CD-ROM 287 - This comprehensive database allows access to the complete results
of the 1980 US census, down to the census tract. Over 1,500 demographics
and geographic identifiers exist for every geographic area. Over 50
demographics from the 1990 census have been converted back to 1980 geographic
areas. A full set of 1980 maps, along with mapping software, have also
been included.
A guided tour to CensusCD+Maps is available online from the GeoLytics product list.
- Circular Area Profiles (Missouri Census Data Center)
- This online application allows you to calculate Census data using as few as 1 and as many as 5 circles whose radii you determine. Census data will display for the population within each circle. Use the Geographic Names Information System find a latitude and longitude to run a Circular Area Profile search by coordinates.
- County
and City Data Book
Latest edition at Government Documents Service Desk, Call Number C 3.134/2:C 83/2/ - This
U.S. Bureau of the Census publication gives the most frequently
requested census information for U.S., states, counties, cities of
25,000 or more, and places of 2500 or more.
The 1944–2000 County and City Data Books are available from the University of Virginia Library Social Sciences Data Center in an electronic format that allows one to create custom printouts and/or customized data subsets. - Historical Census Reports (U.S. Census Bureau)
- Scans of selected portions of the decennial census volumes from
1790 to the present. Includes population and housing data as well as
other portions of census. Scanning project is incomplete, but data is
being added continuously as time allows.
- Historical Statistics of the United States: Colonial Times to
1970 (U.S. Census Bureau)
Available at the Government Documents Service Desk. - More than 12,500 time series, mostly annual, providing a statistical history of U.S. social, economic, political, and geographic development during periods from 1610 to 1970. Data later than 1970 are presented for many of the series in annual issues of the Statistical Abstract of the United States (listed below). A special historical appendix in each Abstract, beginning with the 1975 edition, links the historical series to specific Abstract tables.
- Historical Statistics of the States of the United States: Two Centuries of the Census, 1790-1990 (Greenwood Press)
Available in General Reference and at the Government Documents Service Desk under Call Number HA214 .D63 1993. - Census-focused compilation of state-level population, agriculture, and manufacturing data for the fifty states and the District of Columbia. It also includes population figures for the largest 1990 cities from 1790 to 1990.
- Population Trend Report (Missouri Census Data Center)
- Online application that allows you to look at statistical trends from 1990 to 2009, or various time periods within this span, for counties, race and ethnicity, and age groups. Its importance is that its data spans two Census' and several additional Census data collections.
- State and Metropolitan Area Data Book
Latest edition available at Government Documents Service Desk, Call Number C 3.134/5:[year] - This U.S. Bureau of the Census publication, available at the Government Documents services desk, gives frequently requested census information for U.S., regions, divisions, states, and metropolitan areas.
- Statistical Abstract
of the United States (Census Bureau)
Latest two years available at Government Documents Service Desk, Call Number C 3.134:
Earlier paper editions, dating back to 1878, available in federal documents stacks, Call Number C 3.134: - This annual collection of statistics (mostly U.S., but includes some international) covers a broad range of topics, including demographics, economics, science and technology, geography, environment, and more. More detailed sources of statistics may be referred to in chapter introductions, table source notes, and appendices. as of October 1, 2011 the U.S. Census Bureau has terminated the collection of data for the Statistical Abstract of the United States and its supplemental products, the State and Metropolitan Area Data Book and the County and City Data Book.
- Historical Census Browser (University of Virginia Library)
- This online database has Census data on the population and economy of the U.S. and is browsable by individual Census years. All variables for each Census are included.
- USA Counties (U.S. Bureau of the Census)
- This electronic database provides demographic, economic, and governmental statistics spanning several years for comparisons and profiles of counties and selected regions in the United States.