|
|
Census
Print Friendly View
Reference Sources
- County
and City Data Book
Latest edition at Government Documents Service Desk,
Call Number C 3.134/2:C 83/2/ - This
U.S. Bureau of the Census publication gives the most frequently
requested census information for U.S., states, counties, cities of
25,000 or more, and places of 2500 or more.
The 1944–2000 County and City Data Books
are available from the University of Virginia Library Social Sciences
Data Center in an electronic format that allows one to create custom
printouts and/or customized data subsets. - Historical Census Reports (U.S. Census Bureau)
- Scans of selected portions of the decennial census volumes from
1790 to the present. Includes population and housing data as well as
other portions of census. Scanning project is incomplete, but data is
being added continuously as time allows.
- Historical Statistics of the United States: Colonial Times to
1970 (U.S. Census Bureau)
Available at the Government Documents Service Desk. - More than 12,500 time series, mostly annual, providing a statistical
history of U.S. social, economic, political, and geographic development
during periods from 1610 to 1970. Data later than 1970 are presented
for many of the series in annual issues of the Statistical Abstract
of the United States (listed below). A special historical appendix
in each Abstract, beginning with the 1975 edition, links
the historical series to specific Abstract tables.
- Historical Statistics of the States of the United States: Two Centuries of the Census, 1790-1990 (Greenwood Press)
Available in General Reference and at the Government Documents
Service Desk under Call Number HA214 .D63 1993. - Census-focused compilation of state-level population, agriculture,
and manufacturing data for the fifty states and the District of Columbia.
It also includes population figures for the largest 1990 cities from
1790 to 1990.
- State and Metropolitan Area Data Book
Latest edition available at Government Documents Service Desk, Call Number C 3.134/5:[year] - This U.S. Bureau of the Census publication, available at the Government
Documents services desk, gives frequently requested census information
for U.S., regions, divisions, states, and metropolitan areas.
- Statistical Abstract
of the United States (Census Bureau)
Latest two years available at Government Documents Service
Desk, Call Number C 3.134:
Earlier paper editions, dating back to 1878, available in federal documents
stacks, Call Number C 3.134: - This annual collection of statistics (mostly U.S., but includes some
international) covers a broad range of topics, including demographics,
economics, science and technology, geography, environment, and more.
More detailed sources of statistics may be referred to in chapter introductions,
table source notes, and appendices.
- United
States Historical Census Data Browser (University of Virginia Library)
- This online database has Census data on the population and economy
of the U.S. and is browsable by individual Census years. All variables
for each Census are included.
- USA Counties
(U.S. Bureau of the Census)
- This electronic database provides demographic, economic, and governmental
statistics spanning several years for comparisons and profiles of counties
and selected regions in the United States.
This page is maintained by
Bobby Griffith
—
last modified
Tuesday, November 17, 2009. 09:45 AM
|
-
The UNT Libraries will be closed Saturday, May 26 through Monday, May 28 for
the Memorial Day weekend. The Libraries will reopen during regular
building hours on Tuesday, May 29.
Looking for journal articles?
Try out our new Find Articles (Beta) search!
Don't forget to let us know what you think about it.
|