Skip to content. | Skip to navigation

Sections
Home Research Tools Subject Guides Census Books
Document Actions

Census

Books

These are some books that are helpful in learning to use and understand the U.S. Census. Other books about the Census can be identified by consulting the Library Catalog.


Age Search Information (U.S. Bureau of the Census)
“Age Search” is a term used by the U.S. Census Bureau to refer to searches of the individual records in its custody
from the federal population censuses. The agency may issue official transcripts of the results to the inquirer. Individuals can use these transcripts, which may contain information on a person’s age, sex, race, state or country
of birth, and relationship to the householder, as evidence to qualify for social security and other retirement benefits,
in making passport applications, to prove relationship in settling estates, in genealogy research, or to satisfy other
situations where a birth or other certificate may be needed but is not available. This book provides an explanation of census records and instructions on how to obtain a transcript.
The American Census Handbook, by Thomas Jay Kemp
State-by-state guide to print and online census indexes. Useful for genealogists and local historians.
Encyclopedia of the U.S. Census, edited by Margo J. Anderson
Drawing from academia, government, and the private sector, CQ Press and their editorial board have commissioned more than 100 concise, definitive articles on the decennial census and related topics, including content of the census, procedure, uses of the census, and census history.
A Guide to State and Local Census Geography (U.S. Bureau of the Census)
This guide has information about geographical concepts used in the latest U.S. census. A separate entry is provided for each state and outlying area.
Manufacturing Measures: Census Bureau Data for Manufacturing (U.S. Bureau of the Census)
This booklet is designed to make users of manufacturing and related data aware of the resources available from the Census Bureau and how to use them. Whether you’re interested in analyzing your sales performance, locating sites for plants and warehouses, or measuring your market potential, you can find answers to many of your questions with data from the printed reports and CD-ROMs described in this booklet. Also provides information on locating additional resources.
Measuring America: The Decennial Censuses From 1790 to 2000 (U.S. Bureau of the Census)
This book document the history of the census of population from its beginnings in 1790, when marshals counted 3.9 million US residents, to the year 2000, when the census totaled 281.4 million residents. Includes descriptions of the questionnaires used in each census, as well as the instructions on how to complete them. Also explains how each census was conducted and discusses its historical significance.
200 Years of U.S. Census Taking: Population and Housing Questions, 1790–1990 (U.S. Bureau of the Census)
This book discusses the historical development of the census and provides examples of census questions in their original phraseology and format. Also includes historical photographs and cartoons related to the census.
Understanding the Census: A Guide for Marketers, Planners, Grant Writers and Other Data Users, by Michael R. Lavin
This book explains census concepts, methods, terminology, and data sources in plain English; assists census users in locating needed census data; and shows how easy it is to use inappropriate figures, or to interpret appropriate numbers incorrectly.
The Who, What, and Where of America: Understanding the Census Results, edited by Martha Farnsworth Riche and Deirdre A. Gaquin
Compilation of detailed information gathered from the census long form (filled out by a sample of the population) as well as basic information from the short form that most housing units received. Each section is prefaced by a discussion of trends and issues to help you understand your own community and how it relates to other communities and to the nation as a whole.

 

This page is maintained by Bobby Griffith last modified Thursday, February 23, 2012. 03:07 PM
Info

The UNT Libraries will be closed Saturday, May 26 through Monday, May 28 for the Memorial Day weekend. The Libraries will reopen during regular building hours on Tuesday, May 29.

Looking for journal articles? 

Try out our new Find Articles (Beta) search! 

Don't forget to let us know what you think about it.

 

Bobby Griffith

Contact Info

Willis Library, Room 326
Telephone: (940) 565-2869

Email me!

Website/Blog

Other pages by me


UNT and State of Texas: UNT | UNT Search | UNT News and Events | State of Texas | State-wide Search

Policies: UNT Web Accessibility Policy | AA/EOE/ADA | Privacy Statement | Disclaimer

1155 Union Circle #305190
Denton , TX 76203-5017
(940) 565-2413

Locations, Maps, and Shipping.

Credits
Government Information Connection
The UNT Libraries are on Facebook