Careers
Social Science Careers
|
Also, look at the resources listed in these two UNT Libraries guides: |
- All Sociology Jobs in Texas (JustJobs.com)
Search job boards, company career pages and associations for all Sociology jobs in Dallas with one search. Free, no registration necessary. - American Association for Marriage and Family Therapy
Description of marriage and family therapy. - American Sociological Association: Career Resources
Includes Job Bank, Careers in Sociology, Facts on Sociology Careers. - Careers in Counseling (American Counseling Association)
Interviewing, resumes, dressing for the interview, getting a federal job, navigating the USA Jobs website, how to write KSAs, career-related questions. - Careers in Criminology (Hubpages.com)
Contents include: What is Criminology? Career Paths in Criminology, Employment Systems for Criminologists, Personal Qualifications of a Criminologist, Education Requirements for the Criminologist, Areas of Specialization, Videos, Organizational Resources. - Careers in Political Science (American Political Science Association)
Contents: Examples of Careers for Political Scientists, APSA's eJobs, Online Job Lists, Article and Books on Career Issues, Internship Resources. - Careers in Psychology (American Psychological Association)
Contents: What Psychology Is; Some of the Subfields in Psychology; The Job Outlook; What Psychologists Do and Where They Do It; Getting Ready To Work in Psychology. Visit PsycCareers (APA's online career center). - Careers in Social Work (National Association of Social Workers)
"Choices" includes: Substance Misuse and Addictions; Aging; Child Welfare; Public Welfare; School Social Work; Justice & Corrections; Developmental Disabilities; Employment & Occupational Social Work; Mental Health & Clinical Social Work; Community Organization; International Social Work; Management & Administration; Policy and Planning; Politics; Research. - Careers in Sociology (American Sociological Association, ASA)
Contents include: Sociological Specialties, Career Preparation, Job Prospects for the BA Graduate, Graduate Training, The Common Core of Sociological Careers. - Considering a Career in Psychology (American Psychological Association)
Provides information about careers in the field, work settings, and salary. - Corrections Connection Career Center (Corrections Connection Network News [CCNN], known as Corrections.com)
Online since 1996. Provides an index to online employment resources, including job postings searchable by state and other criteria. In additional to federal job links (USA Jobs), the site provides links to state departments of correction including public safety, parole, youth administration, juvenile justice, and criminal justice. - H-Net (H-Net.org Humanities & Social Sciences network)
This site provides Humanities and Social Sciences job listings. - Idealist Organization (Action without Borders, a nonprofit organization)
Volunteer, internship, and job search opportunities with non-profit organizations. - Interest Areas / College & University Counselors (National Career Development Association)
Career Information Resources for the following areas: College & University Counselors, Career Assessment Instruments, Professional Development Opportunities, Related Career Counseling Associations. Click on INTEREST AREAS to view other counseling careers accessible from this site:
Corrections/Workforce Development
Counselor Educators & Researchers
K-12 Counselors & Educators
Graduate Students
Private Practitioners
Disabilities - Lawjobs.com (ALM, an integrated media company focusing on the legal and commercial real estate sectors)
Covers jobs and careers in Law. Search for legal positions by job type, region, and keyword. Browse by job category. The Career Center provides salary information, career advancement advice, and lists and rankings from American Lawyer Media Research. - Legal Business Community (Lexis Nexis Communities)
Website published by Lexis Nexis on the management of today’s legal practice. Designed for practitioners in the legal community. Includes stories, blogs, podcases, legal web, case law, videocasts, emerging issues. Blogs include marketing, technology, strategy, people, finance. - Library and Information Sciences: Professional Development (UNT Libraries' Subject Guide)
Contents: 100+ Job Resources for Librarians, Collections 2.0, Digital Projects Guide, LibGig Jobs, Library Success: A Best Practices Wiki, LISNews, Tame the Web, Writing for the Web. -
National Association of Social Workers, Texas Chapter
Information about the field, news blog, and job search. -
Philanthropy Careers (Chronicle of Philanthropy)
Lists careers in non-profit sectors. -
Psychology Information Online (Internet Practice Solutions)
Brief information on various fields, internship and graduate information. -
Rotary International
Offers fellowships and programs for those pursing community services projects.
Be sure you are familiar with these four resources!
|