Skip to content. | Skip to navigation

Sections
Home Research Tools Subject Guides Careers Websites Science, Tech, & Math Careers
Document Actions

Careers

Science, Tech, & Math Careers

 

Also, look at the resources listed in these two UNT Libraries guides:

College & University Career Centers

Career Profiles and Search Engines

 

  • BrightRecruits (Physicsworld.com)
    This is the new jobs website from IOP Publishing. If you're looking for a career where you can make the most of your physics degree, you can search this site for a range of jobs in which your skills will be highly sought after.
  • Career and Employment Resources [IEEE]
    Career Resources by Life Stage; Career Resources by Category.  Includes career asset manager; career webinars; software development; consulting; entrepreneurs village; IEEE Career Alert; IEEE mentoring; IEEE Student Job Site; IEEE Salary Service.
  • Career & Job Center [Association for Computing Machinery]
    The ACM Career & Job Center is the perfect place for job seekers and employers in the computing industry to connect with each other. ACM is the worlds largest professional, educational, and scientific computing society with over 92,000 members across every spectrum including educators, researchers, and industry professionals.
  • Career Center [American Statistical Association, ASA]
    Career Center home, Careers in Statistics, Career Resources for Statisticians.
  • Career Center [National Institute for Certification in Engineering Technologies]
    Positions available and positions wanted; training provider directory; career development with NICET certification.
  • Career Information [American Mathematical Society]
    Contemplating a career centered on mathematics? Mathematical research and education are at the heart of some careers, while other careers utilize mathematics and its applications to build and enhance important work in the sciences, business, finance, manufacturing, communications, and engineering.  Includes the sections: "Early Career Profiles," and "What do mathematicians do?"
  • Career Management Center [American Institute of Chemical Engineers]
    Topics: Find a Job, Post a Job, CareerToolsPLUS, Career Development, Student Focus, Internships, Networking, Career Facts, Career Fair, Education.
  • Careers [American Chemical Society]
    Topics: Job Search, Personal Career Consulting, ACS Center for Professional Development, What Chemists Do, Salaries & Surveys, Find a Job, Post a Job, Resume Writing, Career Fair.  See Career Descriptions
  • Careers [American Design Drafting Association & American Digital Design Association]
    Drafters prepare technical drawings and plans used by production and construction workers to build everything from manufactured products such as toys, toasters, industrial machinery, and spacecraft to structures such as houses, office buildings, and oil and gas pipelines. Drafters’ drawings provide visual guidelines, show the technical details of the products and structures, and specify dimensions, materials, & procedures. Contents: Designers/ Engineering Technicians; Digital Technician; Technical Illustrating; Continuing Education.
  • Careers [American Society for Information Science and Technology]
    Contents: Jobline is a service ASIS&T provides to the community. Continuing Education provides information on seminars and both online and in-person course information.  The Placement Center is held each year at the ASIS&T Annual Meeting.
  • Careers in Chemistry: What can I do with my degree after I graduate? [University of Alabama]
    Topics: Industrial Chemistry Careers, Academic Careers, Government Careers, Related Fields and Careers, Links.
  • Careers in Physics [American Institute of Physics]
    Physics offers challenging, exciting, and productive careers. As a career, physics covers many specialized fields -- from acoustics, astronomy, and astrophysics to medical physics, geophysics, and vacuum sciences. Physics offers a variety of work activities-lab supervisor, researcher, technician, teacher, manager. Physics opens doors to employment opportunities throughout the world in government, industry, schools, and private organizations.  Contents include "Where Do I Find Additional Information?"
  • Careers Using Physics [Society of Physics Students]
    People are using physics in their jobs in many unique and exciting ways today—ways you might not even imagine! An asset manager? A video game designer? A fashion technologist? A fighter pilot? All with physics educations! Read, listen, and watch video clips about some of these people and the many different career paths that are possible with a degree in physics.
  • Chemical Technician Careers [American Chemical Society]
    Topics: Job Search, Personal Career Consulting, Employers, Professional Development, Salaries & Surveys.
  • Chemistry / Career Center [University of North Carolina at Wilmington]
    Topics: Chemistry Fields, Related Major Skills,  Job & Internship Search Links, Career Planning Links, Explore/Research Careers, Professional Association Links, Miscellaneous Resources Links.
  • Civil Engineering Central.com: Engineering Careers
    Long list of professional associations; search for civil engineering jobs; browse employers.
  • Computer Science & Engineering / Organizations [UNT Libraries' Subject Guide]
    American Association for Artificial Intelligence, Association for Computing Machinery, Electrochemical Society, Institute of Electrical & Electronics Engineers, IEEE Computer Society, Institute of Electrical Engineers, International Neural Network Society, Materials Research Society, SPIE: The International Society for Optical Engineering.
  • Dice.com Tech Employment Site
    Dice News keeps you up to date on hiring, firing, rising tech trends, management moves, and offers tech-jobs-focused advice to get your job search moving.  Contents: Browse jobs by location, Enter keywords, Enter Location, Post your resume, Resume center, Blogs, Salary Discussion.
  • Engineer Girl! [National Academy of Engineering]
    Check out these engineering careers! You're sure to find at least one career on this list that matches your interests and talents.
  • Engineering Associations [Job-Hunt.org]
    Long list of association links, including green industry associations and job hunting tips.
  • Engineeringjobs.com
    Covers jobs and careers in Engineering. Contents: Company Employment Pages, Headhunters and Jobs Database, resumes posted by job-seeking engineers, Resume posting, Engineering Employers, Engineering Tools and References, Engineering Societies and Organizations.
  • Going Global.com
    Find international jobs and internships. Contents include country profiles, cultural advice, career advice, job resources, employment trends, financial considerations, business and networking groups, CV and resume advide, interviewing advice, work permit and visa requirements for work abroad.  Career information includes general, business, sales & marketing, accounting, finance, foreign trade, engineering, and information technology.
  • Mechanical Engineer.com Job listings 
    Provides information on careers and jobs for mechanical engineers and jobs related to the mechanical engineering field.
  • Physics Jobs and Careers [American Physical Society, APS]
    The APS Careers in Physics website is a gateway for physicists, students, and physics enthusiasts to information about physics jobs and careers. Find physics job listings, career advice, upcoming workshops and meetings, and career and job related resources.
  • Physics Students / Why Study Physics? [American Physical Society, APS]
    Topics: Why Study Physics, How Can I Prepare for a Career in Physics?  What Kind of Job Can I get?
  • PhysicsWorld.com 
    News, views and information for the global physics community from Institute of Physics Publishing.
  • Professional Engineering Associations & Societies list [George Mason University]
    Association Web pages provide information on membership, conferences, events, and publications and typically include related Web links.
  • Science Careers [American Association for the Advancement of Science]
    From the journal, Science. Offers a career development section that includes information on careers and jobs, resume posting, salary guides, satisfaction surveys, blogs & communities, tools & tips, multimedia, and more.
  • Sloan Career Cornerstone Center
    Topics: Science, Technology, Engineering, Mathematics, Computing, and Medical Career Planning. The Sloan Career Cornerstone Center is an ever-expanding resource center for anyone interested in exploring careers and jobs in these disciplines. Explore degree fields, comprehensive education, salary, networking, job hunting, career planning resources, and personal interviews.
  • Your Guide to Physics on the Web [Physics.org]
    Contents: Careers Home, Profiles, Careers FAQ, Work Experience, Careers Useful Links.

 

 Be sure you are familiar with these four resources! 

This page is maintained by Jeffrey Levy last modified Wednesday, March 30, 2011. 06:03 PM
Info

Looking for journal articles? 

Try out our new Find Articles (Beta) search! 

Don't forget to let us know what you think about it.

 

Jeffrey Levy

Contact Info

Government Documents Department, Room 326, Willis Library
940-565-2013
Jeffrey.Levy@unt.edu

Email me!

Other pages by me

My subjects


UNT and State of Texas: UNT | UNT Search | UNT News and Events | State of Texas | State-wide Search

Policies: UNT Web Accessibility Policy | AA/EOE/ADA | Privacy Statement | Disclaimer

1155 Union Circle #305190
Denton , TX 76203-5017
(940) 565-2413

Locations, Maps, and Shipping.

Credits
Government Information Connection
The UNT Libraries are on Facebook