Skip to content. | Skip to navigation

Sections
Home Research Tools Subject Guides Careers Websites Humanities Careers
Document Actions

Careers

Humanities Careers

.

Also, look at the resources listed in these two UNT Libraries guides:

College & University Career Centers

Career Profiles and Search Engines

 

  • American Academy of Religion
    Provides articles, employment trends, and job search information. The article, "Why Study Religion?" , describes the religious studies major, how to find an program, and pressing issues in the field.
  • Aviso Online Classified Ads (American Association of Museums)
    Searchable database of employment advertising, providing information on careers and jobs in museums.
  • Career Info by Major: Liberal Arts (Indiana University at Bloomington)
    Note that call numbers pertain to the Indiana University at Bloomington, but you can scroll down to Online Resources for a list of liberal arts career guides from several universities, associations, commercial sites, and the federal government.
  • Career Opportunities for Majors in Journalism and Media Studies (Rutgers University, Career Services)
    Contents: A sample of related occupations, types of employers, further information.
  • Careers for English Majors (Western Carolina University)
    Contrary to popular belief, English majors can find jobs after graduation! Choose a career field to learn more about Careers for English Majors. Contents (including links for more information): High Tech/Training, Journalism, Nonprofit, teaching, higher education, marketing, creative writing, editing and publishing.
  • Careers for English Majors (Winthrop University)
    Contents: What Jobs Can I Get?  Who Was an English Major? Where Can I Find Info?  Career Information Resources.
  • Careers for History Majors (American Historical Association)
    Contents: Jobs & Careers for History Majors, Career Resources, What Can You Do with an Undergraduate Degree in History?, Historians as Educators, Historians as Researchers, Historians as Communicators, Historians as Advocates, Historians in Businesses and Associations.
  • Careers for Students of History: Historians in Archives (American Historical Association)
    Contents: Overview of the Field, Scope of Training, Recent Trends in the Job Market, Profiles.
  • Careers in Associations: Where Are They Located? (Career Headquarters, American Society of Association Executives ASAE and the Center for Association Leadership)
    According to the IRS, in 2004 there were more than 86,000 trade and professional associations in the U.S. The Washington, D.C., metro area has the highest concentration. Associations and nonprofits are the third largest industry in the D.C. area. Many exist to follow Congressional activities. New York and Chicago are other large metropolitan areas with high concentrations of associations.  Associations are growing across the country in small and large cities and towns. Contents of the web site: Search Job Listings, Post a Job, Careers in Associations, Career-Related Articles.
  • Careers in History (University of North Carolina Wilmington - The Career Center)
    This site includes related career titles, typical employers of history graduates, related major skills, and links to jobs, internships, career planning, and professional associations.
  • Careers / Records Management (American Records Management Association, ARMA)
    ARMA International’s CareerLink is the only job bank specifically targeting records and information management professionals. Job seekers can post their resume and search a database of available positions. It makes job hunting easy! You can also get sound tips on how to write an effective resume, interviewing, and other topics designed to give you the edge in the job market.
  • Communication Career Services [University of Texas at Austin]
    Resources by Field: Advertising; Consulting; Entertainment; Fundraising; Development; Non-Profit; Government; Public Service; Higher Education; Academics; Social Media; HR; Management; Sales; Marketing; Meeting Planning; Hospitality; Public Relations; Business Communication; Speech Language Pathology; Audiology.
  • English (Career Services, University of Wisconsin-Eau Claire)
    Discusses associated career fields and provides links.
  • H-Net (H-Net.org Humanities & Social Sciences network)
    This site provides Humanities and Social Sciences job listings.
  • Idealist Organization (Action without Borders, a nonprofit organization)
    Volunteer, internship, and job search opportunities with non-profit organizations.
  • Job Board for Media Professionals (JournalismJobs.com)
    News, trends, job listings: freelance jobs and internships.
  • Jobs in Publishing (Bookjobs.com, Association of American Publishers)
    Jobs and internships in a wide variety of publishing fields.
  • Journalism Jobs [CubReporters.org]
    Contents: The Best Journalism Job Banks, Jobs by Specialty, Extended Internships, Great First Journalism Jobs.
  • Library and Information Sciences: Professional Development (UNT Libraries' Subject Guide)
    Contents: 100+ Job Resources for Librarians, Collections 2.0, Digital Projects Guide, LibGig Jobs, Library Success: A Best Practices Wiki, LISNews, Tame the Web, Writing for the Web.
  • Museum Employment Resource Center
    Online since 1996. Lists careers and jobs and other information related to museums, heritage management, and cultural resource communities.
         For other museum employment sites, see Art Careers and Schools, a UNT Libraries' Subject Guide.
  • Philanthropy Careers (Chronicle of Philanthropy)
    Lists careers in non-profit sectors.
  • Rotary International
    Offers fellowships and programs for those pursing community services projects.
  • So You Want to Be an Archivist: An Overview of the Archival Profession [Society of American Archivists]
    Contents: The Work of Archivists, Archival Repositories, Qualifications for Employment, Salaries and Benefits, A Day in the Life - Archivist (video). Click this link for the SAA Online Career Center.
  • Ten Things to do With an English Degree (Hubpages.com)
    Provides articles, video, skills, related articles, related careers, useful links, Ten Things to do With an English Degree in the News, and visitor comments.
  • The Ultimate Philosophy Career Guide (GuidetoCareerEducation.com)
    This extensive site focuses on giving students the necessary tools to find and explore career paths available with a philosophy degree, which can be hard information to find. Especially take a look at the section, "Great Job Boards & Career Resources for Philosophy Professionals."

 

 Be sure you are familiar with these four resources! 

This page is maintained by Jeffrey Levy last modified Wednesday, March 30, 2011. 06:00 PM
Info

The UNT Libraries will be closed Saturday, May 26 through Monday, May 28 for the Memorial Day weekend. The Libraries will reopen during regular building hours on Tuesday, May 29.

Looking for journal articles? 

Try out our new Find Articles (Beta) search! 

Don't forget to let us know what you think about it.

 

Jeffrey Levy

Contact Info

Government Documents Department, Room 326, Willis Library
940-565-2013
Jeffrey.Levy@unt.edu

Email me!

Other pages by me

My subjects


UNT and State of Texas: UNT | UNT Search | UNT News and Events | State of Texas | State-wide Search

Policies: UNT Web Accessibility Policy | AA/EOE/ADA | Privacy Statement | Disclaimer

1155 Union Circle #305190
Denton , TX 76203-5017
(940) 565-2413

Locations, Maps, and Shipping.

Credits
Government Information Connection
The UNT Libraries are on Facebook