Skip to content. | Skip to navigation

Sections
Home Research Tools Subject Guides Careers Websites Health Professions & Life Sciences
Document Actions

Careers

Health Professions & Life Sciences

 

Also, look at the resources listed in these two UNT Libraries guides:

College & University Career Centers

Career Profiles and Search Engines

 

.

  1. GENERAL
  2. MEDICINE
  3. NURSING
  4. ALLIED HEALTH CAREERS
  5. BIOLOGICAL SCIENCES

.

GENERAL

  • Explore Health Careers (American Dental Education Association, ADEA)
    Career information on many health care careers.
  • Lifeworks (National Institutes of Health)
    Career information and profiles of people in health professions.
  • Sloan Career Cornerstone Center (Alfred P. Sloan Foundation et al)
    Science, Technology, Engineering, Mathematics, Computing, and Medicine Career Planning. The Sloan Career Cornerstone Center is an ever-expanding resource center for anyone interested in exploring careers and jobs in these disciplines. Explore degree fields, comprehensive education, salary, networking, job hunting, career planning resources, and personal interviews.

.

MEDICINE

  • American Medical Association
    Health care career information & professional associations.
    See the web site, "Becoming an MD."
  • Education & Careers (American Dental Association)
    Becoming a Dentist; Dental Team Centers; Continuing Education.  See the web site, "Current & Future Dental Students."
  • Tomorrow's Doctors (American Association of Medical Colleges, AAMC)
    The AAMC represents all 133 accredited U.S. and 17 accredited Canadian medical schools; approximately 400 major teaching hospitals and health systems. Contents: Considering a Medical Career, For Medical Students, Applying to Medical School, Careers in Medicine, More Resources.  The web site, AspiringDocs.org, features podcasts and other information about medical careers, medical schools, and the MCAT.

NURSING

ALLIED HEALTH CAREERS  

  • AGS Foundation for Health in Aging [American Geriatrics Society, AGS]
    News, career trends, professional careers.
  • American Dietetic Association (Student Center / Career Center)
    The major association for food and nutrition professionals.
    Includes career videos, scholarships and financial aid, career toolbox, mentoring opportunities, ADACareerLink.
  • American Speech and Hearing Association
    Career fact sheets, work settings, and market trends.
  • Audiologist (College Grad.com)
    Provides information about job descriptions, outlook, market trends and other points of interest.
  • Career Connection [American Geriatrics Society, AGS]
    AGS Career Connection is the American Geriatrics Society's official online career center.  Find career opportunities for Geriatricians, Geriatric Nurse & Nurse Practitioners, Geriatric Physicians Assistants and more! Includes job seeker tools and interview questions.
  • Careers: Gerontology [University of North Texas Center for Studies in Aging]
    Growing Mature Market; Products and Services; large number of links for more information about this profession.
  • Careers in Gerontology (George Mason University)
    Offers work settings and career titles.
  • Careers in Kinesiology [American Kinesiology Association]
    Physical Therapist, Athletic Admin., Athletic Trainer, Biomechanist, Cardiac Rehab Specialist, Chiropractic Physician, Coach, Youth Camp Dir., Exercise Physiologist, Fitness Instructor, Personal Trainer.
  • Careers in Podiatry (American Podiatric Medical Association, APMA)
    The American Podiatric Medical Association (APMA) has developed career videos that introduce students to the challenging world of podiatric medicine.
  • Chiropractic as a Career (American Chiropractic Association)
    Contents: Accredited Chiropractic Colleges; Advantages of Chiropractic as a Professional Career; Broad Professional Preparation; Education Requirements; Future of Chiropractic; Opportunities in Chiropractic; US State Chiropractic Licensing Boards.
  • Envision Ophthalmology (American Academy of Ophthalmology)
    "A Practical Guide to Ophthalmology as a Career Choice."  Contents: Ophthalmology as a career choice; subspecialties in ophthalmology; the demand for and supply of ophthalmologists; ophthalmology and optometry; frequently asked questions on applying for residency.
  • HealthcareRecruitment.com
    Health care careers and jobs including RN jobs, radiology jobs, respiratory therapy jobs, pharmacy jobs, rehab jobs, lab jobs, as well as travel healthcare jobs. There are also links to healthcare career resources.
  • Job Accommodation Network (JAN)
    This is an international toll-free consulting service that provides information about job accommodations and the employability of people with disabilities.  JAN also provides information regarding the Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA).

 .

BIOLOGICAL SCIENCES  

  • Biology Jobs.com
    Biology Jobs.com was created as a targeted resource for job seekers and employers in Life Science. Biology jobs are divided into categories in our database which include Agriculture, Anatomy/Physiology, Bioinformatics / Biotechnology, Botany, Cell Biology, Conservation, Ecology, Environmental Science Jobs, Genetics, Marine Science, Medicine, Natural Resources, Pharmacology, Toxicology, Veterinary Medicine, and Zoology.
  • Career Information: Biology [Society for Integrative & Comparative Biology, SICB]
    Frequently Asked Questions; Animal Behavior; Comparative Endocrinology; Comparative Physiology and Biochemistry; Ecology and Evolution; Invertebrate Zoology; Neurobiology; Systematic and Evolutionary Biology; Integrative and Comparative Issues; Vertebrate Morphology.
  • Career Paths for Ph.D. Graduates: Biomedical Scientists [American Association of Medical Colleges]
    What can I be with a PhD? Where do biomedical scientists work? General information about careers in biomedical science.
  • Career Resources [American Society for Biochemistry and Molecular Biology]
    Topics: 77 Things to do with a Biochemistry Degree, Non-Traditional Careers in Science, Personal Stories, Research Positions and Fellowship Opportunities.
  • Careers: Microbiology and Biotechnology [Society for Industrial Microbiology, SIM]
    Career information; placement service; job postings; associations.
  • Careers in Biochemistry [University of Arizona]
    These links will take you to a variety of websites offering career advice, employment listings, and networking opportunities in the life sciences.
  • Careers in Biology [University of California at San Bernardino]
    Mollecular/Cellular; Organismal; Field; Health-Related Careers; Education.
  • Careers in Biology [University of Florida]
    Biology, Botany, Ecology, Entomology, Forensic Science, Genetics, Herpetology, Medicine and other health careers, Microbiology, Parasitology, Plant pathology, Physiology, Veterinary medicine, Zoos and aquariums.
  • Careers in the Biological Sciences [American Institute of Biological Sciences, AIBS]
    Frequently Asked Questions about Careers in Biology; Where can I find more information about people who have become biologists; General career development and job hunting sites; Internship listings.
  • Careers in Biomedical Research [National Association for Biomedical Research, NABR]
    Anatomy, Biochemistry, Bioinformatics/computational biology, biophysics, cell biology, genetics, immunology, microbiology, molecular biology, neuroscience, pharmacology, physiology, toxicology.
  • Frontiers in Bioscience Job Databases
    A database of careers and jobs available in the field of biology.
  • ResearchJOBS [ResearchGATE]
    "ResearchJOBS is an international job board for research, science and higher education. There, universities and academic institutions post employment offerings; these postings are then seen by the 400,000+ members of ResearchGATE as well as non-registered visitors."
[Top]

 

 Be sure you are familiar with these four resources! 

This page is maintained by Jeffrey Levy last modified Monday, August 22, 2011. 05:09 PM
Info

The UNT Libraries will be closed Saturday, May 26 through Monday, May 28 for the Memorial Day weekend. The Libraries will reopen during regular building hours on Tuesday, May 29.

Looking for journal articles? 

Try out our new Find Articles (Beta) search! 

Don't forget to let us know what you think about it.

 

Jeffrey Levy

Contact Info

Government Documents Department, Room 326, Willis Library
940-565-2013
Jeffrey.Levy@unt.edu

Email me!

Other pages by me

My subjects


UNT and State of Texas: UNT | UNT Search | UNT News and Events | State of Texas | State-wide Search

Policies: UNT Web Accessibility Policy | AA/EOE/ADA | Privacy Statement | Disclaimer

1155 Union Circle #305190
Denton , TX 76203-5017
(940) 565-2413

Locations, Maps, and Shipping.

Credits
Government Information Connection
The UNT Libraries are on Facebook