Skip to content. | Skip to navigation

Sections
Home Research Tools Subject Guides Careers Websites Career Profiles & Search Engines
Document Actions

Careers

Career Profiles & Search Engines

  • FIRST, FIND YOUR ASSOCIATION
    Associations Unlimited [University of North Texas Libraries' subscription]
    Your profession has an association (probably several) with career guides and career links already built in.  It is a great chance to network and research the hidden job market.  Student memberships are ususally available.
    Hint: do a SUBJECT/ANY WORD search if you don't know your association's name.
    Hint: the Occupational Outlook Handbook sometimes has associations listed at the bottom of the writeup on the profession.
  • Career Guide to Industries (BLS Bureau of Labor Statistics)
    The Career Guide to Industries is a companion to the Occupational Outlook Handbook. For dozens of industries, the Career Guide to Industries tells you about: occupations in the industry; training and advancement; earnings; expected job prospects, and working conditions.
  • Careerjet (Careerjet.com)
    "Careerjet is a job search engine that maps the huge selection of internet job offerings in one extensive database.  It provides listings originating from company websites and recruitment agencies. The job offerings themselves are not hosted by Careerjet and users are always redirected to the original job listings. . .Careerjet Worldwide encompasses over 50 countries."  Services include Post your Resume and Career Alerts.
  • CareerOneStop (sponsored by the U.S. Department of Labor)
    Your source for employment information and inspiration, the place to manage your career, your pathway to career success. It furnishes tools to help job seekers, students, businesses, and career professionals. Sponsored by the U.S. Department of Labor. Contents: Explore Careers; Salary and Benefits; Education and Training; Job Search (including job banks), and more.
  • Career Overview  (Careeroverview.com)
    This noncommercial career information and job search guide provides aspiring career professionals and students with relevant, reliable and up-to-date career and job information to help them to make better, more informed career choices. It includes descriptions of careers (activities, earnings potential, working conditions, and directories of schools.
  • Careers.org
    Provides a directory of career directories, and offers guidance and direction for the career planner.
  • Catalyst
    Founded in 1962, Catalyst is the leading nonprofit corporate membership research and advisory organization working globally with businesses and the professions to build inclusive environments and expand opportunities for women in business.
  • CollegeGrad.com
    Internet job search service for college students and recent grads. In continuous service since 1995.
  • Five O'Clock Club
    Kate Wendleton's The Five O'Clock Club focuses on implementing effective job search strategies.
  • Glass Door (GlassDoor.com)
    This is a free online career resource that provides an inside look at over 26,000 employers. The site offers links career centers and provides postings on salaries, workplace reviews and interviews.
  • Going Global.com
    Find international jobs and internships. Contents include country profiles, cultural advice, career advice, job resources, employment trends, financial considerations, business and networking groups, CV and resume advide, interviewing advice, work permit and visa requirements for work abroad. Career information includes general, business, sales & marketing, accounting, finance, foreign trade, engineering, and information technology.
  • Internet Sites for Career Planning (National Career Development Association)
    Vast search engine with links to job banks and industry & occupation-specific information.  Includes researching employers and also includes online counseling. Unless otherwise noted, these links are from the book, The Internet: A Tool for Career Planning, (Second Edition, 2002) by JoAnn Harris-Bowlsbey, Margaret Riley Dikel and James P. Sampson Jr. The authors granted permission for use by NCDA. The links were verified and updated as of January 2010.
  • Jobsearch USA: Internships "Connecting Jobseekers & Employers"
    Covers entry-level internships, entry-level jobs, internship jobs, entry-level job training.  This site was one of the Top Publicly Recommended Job Boards from the U.S. Department of Labor's "Tools for America’s Job Seekers Challenge" in early 2010.
  • Job Accommodation Network (JAN)
    This is an international toll-free consulting service that provides information about job accommodations and the employability of people with disabilities.  JAN also provides information regarding the Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA).
  • Job-Hunt (Job-Hunt.org)
    "Provides information and links to 15,588 employers & job search resources.  Job-Hunt.org is a 'Top' or 'Best' site for job hunting and careers according to US News & World Report, Forbes, and PC Magazine. The section http://www.job-hunt.org/careers/index.html provides descriptions of the typical duties performed in many jobs, plus salary and employment statistics by career as well as by major U.S. city.  Visitors can also view a short introductory video on most of the careers listed."
  • Job Hunters Bible
    The official online job search resource hosted By Dick Bolles, author of What Color is Your Parachute? Contents: The Internet; Research; Contacts; Counseling; Job Hunting; Jobs & Resumes. Search all the headings for best career search engines, career meta search engines, career gateways, specialized career search engines, salaries, job boards, and more.
  • JobMob (Share Select Media)
    "JobMob is a free blog that teaches job seekers how to find better jobs, faster.  The blob is filled with straight-talking advice based on real-world experience with lots of humor thrown in."
  • Jobs.com [A Monster Company]
    This site is a fast-growing job search resource directory and center.
  • Jobweb
    Offers advice concerning careers and jobs for new college graduates, and is the online complement to the Job Choices job-search publications. It is published by the National Association of Colleges and Employers. Contents: Students; Parents; Employers; Colleges; Search.
  • Monster College (from Monster.com)
    Job network and blog for college students and recent grads.
  • Monster.com
    The Monster Board is a comprehensive career management website providing personality and career quizzes, interviewing and resume advice, and access to career chats.
  • Networking & Support Groups (The Riley Guide)
    Career networking and support groups for jobs and careers. Contents: Event & Meeting Calendars, Government Services, Online Groups, Networking Websites, Nationwide Listings & Organizations, New England and Mid-Atlantic Groups, Mountain Region, Southwest, Pacific Northwest, Midwest & Great Lakes Groups; South and Southeast Groups.
  • Occupational Information Network O*NET
    Comprehensive database of the U.S. Employment and Training Administration that identifies and describes occupations, worker skills, knowledge, abilities, and workplace requirements.
  • Occupational Outlook Handbook (Sponsored by the U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics)
    OOH provides the employment outlook for hundreds of different occupations. Topics included for each occupation are: nature of the work; working conditions; employment, training, other qualifications, and advancement; job outlook; and earnings.
  • Online Colleges: Open Education Library
    Vast career planning resources for Arts & Design, Business, Criminal Justice & Law, Education, Health & Medicine, Liberal Arts, Science & Engineering, Technology, and Vocational.  Each category is split into several subcategories, with career information for each.
  • Paths to Professions (Wall Street Journal.com)
    Explore a Path to a Profession
    See a slideshow of 12 Career Paths
    Most Satisfying Jobs: Happiness Index
    Rankings by Majors; Interns Are the New Full-Time Hires, and more.
  • Riley Guide (RileyGuide.com) "Where to Search: Sites with Job Listings"
    This page connects you to 50 pages with job resources, starting with the more general resources and moving through location or audience specific listings to the occupation and industry resources. Contents: General Resources, Part-Time and Temporary Opportunities; Self-Employment, Audience-Targeted Sites; Location-Specific Sites (including international).
  • Sloan Career Cornerstone Center (Alfred P. Sloan Foundation et al)
    Science, Technology, Engineering, Mathematics, Computing, and Medicine Career Planning. The Sloan Career Cornerstone Center is an ever-expanding resource center for anyone interested in exploring careers and jobs in these disciplines. Explore degree fields, comprehensive education, salary, networking, job hunting, career planning resources, and personal interviews.
  • The 2008-18 Job Outlook in Brief (Sponsored by the U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics)
    This special issue of the Occupational Outlook Quarterly covers careers including: professional, business, service, sales, office & administrative, farming, fishing, forestry, construction trades, production, transportation and material moving, U.S. Armed Forces.
  • Wet Feet (WetFeet.com) "Helping You Make Smarter Career Decisions"
    Contents: Career Articles, City Profiles, Company Profiles, Industry Profiles, Real People Profiles, Company Salary Data, Industry Profiles, Recruiter Q&A, Weblog, and a wide variety of Career Profiles.
This page is maintained by Jeffrey Levy last modified Wednesday, March 30, 2011. 05:51 PM
Info

Looking for journal articles? 

Try out our new Find Articles (Beta) search! 

Don't forget to let us know what you think about it.

 

Jeffrey Levy

Contact Info

Government Documents Department, Room 326, Willis Library
940-565-2013
Jeffrey.Levy@unt.edu

Email me!

Other pages by me

My subjects


UNT and State of Texas: UNT | UNT Search | UNT News and Events | State of Texas | State-wide Search

Policies: UNT Web Accessibility Policy | AA/EOE/ADA | Privacy Statement | Disclaimer

1155 Union Circle #305190
Denton , TX 76203-5017
(940) 565-2413

Locations, Maps, and Shipping.

Credits
Government Information Connection
The UNT Libraries are on Facebook