Careers
Business, Economics, Public Admin.
|
Also, look at the resources listed in these two UNT Libraries guides: |
GENERAL BUSINESS
- Vault Industries (Vault Career Intelligence)
A comprehensive business resource for career management and job search information, including top employers, industry rankings, salaries, hiring practices and company cultures. - WSJ.com (CareerJournal.com)
Articles on companies and industries from the Wall Street Journal, including salaries by industry.
- - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - -
ACCOUNTING
- Accounting Overview (WetFeet) overview of accounting careers.
- Become a CPA (American Institute of Certified Public Accountants, AICPA)
Provides a wealth of information on internships, career paths, hiring trends, and salary.
- - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - -
ECONOMICS
- Job Openings for Economists "JOE" (American Economic Association)
JOE is updated near the first of every month except January and July. - National Economics Career Center ("Econjobs.org," National Association of Business Economists, NABE) Occupational profiles, salary surveys, view job listings, post your resume.
- Undergraduate Economics - Careers (Vanderbilt University)
Career earnings, The corporate world, law and other professions, government and not-for-profits, academia.
- - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - -
ENTREPRENEURSHIP
- Entrepreneur Career Guide (Vocational Information Center)
Links to information about starting and owning your own business.
- - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - -
EXECUTIVE SEARCH SERVICE
-
TheLadders.com
This site costs a monthly fee.
"TheLadders.com can save time and put your resume in front of the right people. We are the largest executive job board specializing in jobs that pay over $100,000 annually. We are the leader in the executive job search space. In addition to job search we provide a listing of jobs in finance, a large variety of career advice services ranging from resume writing and interviewing advice to articles and tips which can be of value to students and alumni in their job hunt."
- - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - -
FINANCE AND BANKING
- Vault Industries (Vault Career Intelligence)
Information on a wide variety of business careers, including finance. Provides employer profiles, salary surveys, and interview preparation. - Jobs in Finance (TheLadders.com)
See "Executive Search Service," above, for description.
- - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - -
HUMAN RESOURCES MANAGEMENT
- Human Resources on the WWW (Troy University Global Campus Library)
Extensive list of human resources links including general career search engines. - Society for Human Resource Management (SHRM)
Professional organization of human resource, personnel, and industrial relations professionals and executives. Offers certification through the Human Resource Certification Institute. Sponsors SHRM Foundation. Includes jobs and careers in Human Resource Management. - Tools for America's Job Seekers Challenge [United States Department of Labor]
This site rates online career centers by topic (wages, unemployment insurance, health plans), by audience, by location, and furnishes laws and regulations.
- - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - -
INTERNATIONAL BUSINESS
- Going Global.com
Find international jobs and internships. Contents include country profiles, cultural advice, career advice, job resources, employment trends, financial considerations, business and networking groups, CV and resume advide, interviewing advice, work permit and visa requirements for work abroad. - One Hundred Best Blogs for International Business Students (Onlinecolleges.net)
"These blogs provide an excellent opportunity for students to find out first-hand about doing business in countries around the world, hear from other b-school students living and studying abroad, find out what professors have to say, and even explore the developing field of microfinancing."
- - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - -
LEGAL BUSINESS
- Legal Business Community (Lexis Nexis Communities)
This website is published by Lexis Nexis on the management of today’s legal practice. It is designed for practitioners in the legal community. It includes stories, blogs, podcases, legal web, case law, videocasts, emerging issues. Blogs include marketing, technology, strategy, people, finance.
- - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - -
MARKETING
- Aviation Employment Placement Service [AEPS]
A.E.P.S. is an innovative on-line employment placement service for locating and selecting employees in Aviation Professionals, Flight Attendants, Mechanics, Dispatchers, and Pilots. Corporations rely on A.E.P.S. when looking for flight crews, mechanics, dispatchers or other aviation professionals. About AEPS - Marketing (WetFeet) overview of marketing.
- Supply Chain Management (Council of Supply Chain Management Professionals)Descriptions of the field, job profiles, and outlook.
- What is Aviation Logistics? [University of North Texas College of Business]
Topics include: Where the Jobs Are, Possible Employers, Career Paths and Salaries, Aviation Logistics Program/Curriculum, Professional Field in Aviation Logistics. See also Aviation Logistics and BS in Aviation Logistics (UNT COB).
- - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - -
PUBLIC ADMINISTRATION
- Careers (National Association of Schools of Public Affairs and Administration)
Description: Links to job resources, jobs and info for foreign students, salary information, internships, MPA/MPP Guide and Gateway to Federal Government Opportunities. - Leadership Library (Leadership Directories, Inc.) [UNT Libraries' Subscription]
This directory provides lookup information for individuals in federal, state, and local government, corporations, financial institutions, nonprofit organizations, the news media, law firms, trade associations, interest groups, and more. Search or browse by name, job title, organization name, industry, and alma mater.
- - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - -
REAL ESTATE
- National Association of Realtors: Education
Includes news, trends, videos, store, library, information about joining, professional standards, certifications. - North Texas Real Estate Information Systems - Real Estate Statistics
Data include: NTREIS Statistics (compiled by The Texas A&M Real Estate Center), North Central Texas Census, Real Estate Center, NAR Housing Reports, NAR/NTREIS Economic and Market Intelligence Reports, Comprehensive Data. The site also provides Community Bulletin Board, training information, MLS listings on your website, and real estate links. - Real Estate Careers (Career Overview) overview of real estate careers.
- - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - -
Be sure you are familiar with these four resources!
|