Skip to content. | Skip to navigation

Sections
Home Research Tools Subject Guides Careers Websites
Document Actions

Websites

Business, Economics, Public Admin.

 

Also, look at the resources listed in these two UNT Libraries guides:

College & University Career Centers


Career Profiles and Search Engines

 

GENERAL BUSINESS

  • Vault Industries (Vault Career Intelligence)
    A comprehensive business resource for career management and job search information, including top employers, industry rankings, salaries, hiring practices and company cultures.
  • WSJ.com  (CareerJournal.com)
    Articles on companies and industries from the Wall Street Journal, including salaries by industry.

- - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - -


ACCOUNTING

  • Accounting Overview (WetFeet) overview of accounting careers.
  • Become a CPA (American Institute of Certified Public Accountants, AICPA)
    Provides a wealth of information on internships, career paths, hiring trends, and salary.

- - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - -


ECONOMICS

- - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - -


ENTREPRENEURSHIP

- - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - -

 

EXECUTIVE SEARCH SERVICE

  • TheLadders.com
    This site costs a monthly fee.
    "TheLadders.com can save time and put your resume in front of the right people. We are the largest executive job board specializing in jobs that pay over $100,000 annually. We are the leader in the executive job search space. In addition to job search we provide a listing of jobs in finance, a large variety of career advice services ranging from resume writing and interviewing advice to articles and tips which can be of value to students and alumni in their job hunt."

- - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - -


FINANCE AND BANKING

  • Vault Industries  (Vault Career Intelligence)
    Information on a wide variety of business careers, including finance.  Provides employer profiles, salary surveys, and interview preparation.
  • Jobs in Finance (TheLadders.com)
    See "Executive Search Service," above, for description.

- - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - -

 

HUMAN RESOURCES MANAGEMENT

  • Human Resources on the WWW (Troy University Global Campus Library)
    Extensive list of human resources links including general career search engines.
  • Society for Human Resource Management (SHRM
    Professional organization of human resource, personnel, and industrial relations professionals and executives. Offers certification through the Human Resource Certification Institute. Sponsors SHRM Foundation. Includes jobs and careers in Human Resource Management.
  • Tools for America's Job Seekers Challenge [United States Department of Labor]
    This site rates online career centers by topic (wages, unemployment insurance, health plans), by audience, by location, and furnishes laws and regulations.

- - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - -

 

INTERNATIONAL BUSINESS

  • Going Global.com
    Find international jobs and internships. Contents include country profiles, cultural advice, career advice, job resources, employment trends, financial considerations, business and networking groups, CV and resume advide, interviewing advice, work permit and visa requirements for work abroad.
  • One Hundred Best Blogs for International Business Students (Onlinecolleges.net)
    "These blogs provide an excellent opportunity for students to find out first-hand about doing business in countries around the world, hear from other b-school students living and studying abroad, find out what professors have to say, and even explore the developing field of microfinancing."

- - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - -

 

LEGAL BUSINESS

  • Legal Business Community (Lexis Nexis Communities)
    This website is published by Lexis Nexis on the management of today’s legal practice.  It is designed for practitioners in the legal community. It includes stories, blogs, podcases, legal web, case law, videocasts, emerging issues.  Blogs include marketing, technology, strategy, people, finance.

- - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - -


MARKETING

  • Aviation Employment Placement Service [AEPS]
    A.E.P.S. is an innovative on-line employment placement service for locating and selecting employees in Aviation Professionals, Flight Attendants, Mechanics, Dispatchers, and Pilots. Corporations rely on A.E.P.S. when looking for flight crews, mechanics, dispatchers or other aviation professionals. About AEPS
  • Marketing (WetFeet) overview of marketing.
  • Supply Chain Management  (Council of Supply Chain Management Professionals)Descriptions of the field, job profiles, and outlook.
  • What is Aviation Logistics? [University of North Texas College of Business]
    Topics include: Where the Jobs Are, Possible Employers, Career Paths and Salaries, Aviation Logistics Program/Curriculum, Professional Field in Aviation Logistics.  See also Aviation Logistics and BS in Aviation Logistics (UNT COB).

- - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - -

 

PUBLIC ADMINISTRATION

  • Careers (National Association of Schools of Public Affairs and Administration
    Description: Links to job resources, jobs and info for foreign students, salary information, internships, MPA/MPP Guide and Gateway to Federal Government Opportunities.
  • Leadership Library (Leadership Directories, Inc.) [UNT Libraries' Subscription]
    This directory provides lookup information for individuals in federal, state, and local government, corporations, financial institutions, nonprofit organizations, the news media, law firms, trade associations, interest groups, and more. Search or browse by name, job title, organization name, industry, and alma mater.

- - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - -


REAL ESTATE

  • National Association of Realtors: Education
    Includes news, trends, videos, store, library, information about joining, professional standards, certifications.
  • North Texas Real Estate Information Systems - Real Estate Statistics
    Data include: NTREIS Statistics (compiled by The Texas A&M Real Estate Center), North Central Texas Census, Real Estate Center, NAR Housing Reports, NAR/NTREIS Economic and Market Intelligence Reports, Comprehensive Data. The site also provides Community Bulletin Board, training information, MLS listings on your website, and real estate links.
  • Real Estate Careers (Career Overview) overview of real estate careers.

- - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - -

 

 Be sure you are familiar with these four resources! 

Career Profiles & Search Engines

  • FIRST, FIND YOUR ASSOCIATION
    Associations Unlimited [University of North Texas Libraries' subscription]
    Your profession has an association (probably several) with career guides and career links already built in.  It is a great chance to network and research the hidden job market.  Student memberships are ususally available.
    Hint: do a SUBJECT/ANY WORD search if you don't know your association's name.
    Hint: the Occupational Outlook Handbook sometimes has associations listed at the bottom of the writeup on the profession.
  • Career Guide to Industries (BLS Bureau of Labor Statistics)
    The Career Guide to Industries is a companion to the Occupational Outlook Handbook. For dozens of industries, the Career Guide to Industries tells you about: occupations in the industry; training and advancement; earnings; expected job prospects, and working conditions.
  • Careerjet (Careerjet.com)
    "Careerjet is a job search engine that maps the huge selection of internet job offerings in one extensive database.  It provides listings originating from company websites and recruitment agencies. The job offerings themselves are not hosted by Careerjet and users are always redirected to the original job listings. . .Careerjet Worldwide encompasses over 50 countries."  Services include Post your Resume and Career Alerts.
  • CareerOneStop (sponsored by the U.S. Department of Labor)
    Your source for employment information and inspiration, the place to manage your career, your pathway to career success. It furnishes tools to help job seekers, students, businesses, and career professionals. Sponsored by the U.S. Department of Labor. Contents: Explore Careers; Salary and Benefits; Education and Training; Job Search (including job banks), and more.
  • Career Overview  (Careeroverview.com)
    This noncommercial career information and job search guide provides aspiring career professionals and students with relevant, reliable and up-to-date career and job information to help them to make better, more informed career choices. It includes descriptions of careers (activities, earnings potential, working conditions, and directories of schools.
  • Careers.org
    Provides a directory of career directories, and offers guidance and direction for the career planner.
  • Catalyst
    Founded in 1962, Catalyst is the leading nonprofit corporate membership research and advisory organization working globally with businesses and the professions to build inclusive environments and expand opportunities for women in business.
  • CollegeGrad.com
    Internet job search service for college students and recent grads. In continuous service since 1995.
  • Five O'Clock Club
    Kate Wendleton's The Five O'Clock Club focuses on implementing effective job search strategies.
  • Glass Door (GlassDoor.com)
    This is a free online career resource that provides an inside look at over 26,000 employers. The site offers links career centers and provides postings on salaries, workplace reviews and interviews.
  • Going Global.com
    Find international jobs and internships. Contents include country profiles, cultural advice, career advice, job resources, employment trends, financial considerations, business and networking groups, CV and resume advide, interviewing advice, work permit and visa requirements for work abroad. Career information includes general, business, sales & marketing, accounting, finance, foreign trade, engineering, and information technology.
  • Internet Sites for Career Planning (National Career Development Association)
    Vast search engine with links to job banks and industry & occupation-specific information.  Includes researching employers and also includes online counseling. Unless otherwise noted, these links are from the book, The Internet: A Tool for Career Planning, (Second Edition, 2002) by JoAnn Harris-Bowlsbey, Margaret Riley Dikel and James P. Sampson Jr. The authors granted permission for use by NCDA. The links were verified and updated as of January 2010.
  • Jobsearch USA: Internships "Connecting Jobseekers & Employers"
    Covers entry-level internships, entry-level jobs, internship jobs, entry-level job training.  This site was one of the Top Publicly Recommended Job Boards from the U.S. Department of Labor's "Tools for America’s Job Seekers Challenge" in early 2010.
  • Job Accommodation Network (JAN)
    This is an international toll-free consulting service that provides information about job accommodations and the employability of people with disabilities.  JAN also provides information regarding the Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA).
  • Job-Hunt (Job-Hunt.org)
    "Provides information and links to 15,588 employers & job search resources.  Job-Hunt.org is a 'Top' or 'Best' site for job hunting and careers according to US News & World Report, Forbes, and PC Magazine. The section http://www.job-hunt.org/careers/index.html provides descriptions of the typical duties performed in many jobs, plus salary and employment statistics by career as well as by major U.S. city.  Visitors can also view a short introductory video on most of the careers listed."
  • Job Hunters Bible
    The official online job search resource hosted By Dick Bolles, author of What Color is Your Parachute? Contents: The Internet; Research; Contacts; Counseling; Job Hunting; Jobs & Resumes. Search all the headings for best career search engines, career meta search engines, career gateways, specialized career search engines, salaries, job boards, and more.
  • JobMob (Share Select Media)
    "JobMob is a free blog that teaches job seekers how to find better jobs, faster.  The blob is filled with straight-talking advice based on real-world experience with lots of humor thrown in."
  • Jobs.com [A Monster Company]
    This site is a fast-growing job search resource directory and center.
  • Jobweb
    Offers advice concerning careers and jobs for new college graduates, and is the online complement to the Job Choices job-search publications. It is published by the National Association of Colleges and Employers. Contents: Students; Parents; Employers; Colleges; Search.
  • Monster College (from Monster.com)
    Job network and blog for college students and recent grads.
  • Monster.com
    The Monster Board is a comprehensive career management website providing personality and career quizzes, interviewing and resume advice, and access to career chats.
  • Networking & Support Groups (The Riley Guide)
    Career networking and support groups for jobs and careers. Contents: Event & Meeting Calendars, Government Services, Online Groups, Networking Websites, Nationwide Listings & Organizations, New England and Mid-Atlantic Groups, Mountain Region, Southwest, Pacific Northwest, Midwest & Great Lakes Groups; South and Southeast Groups.
  • Occupational Information Network O*NET
    Comprehensive database of the U.S. Employment and Training Administration that identifies and describes occupations, worker skills, knowledge, abilities, and workplace requirements.
  • Occupational Outlook Handbook (Sponsored by the U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics)
    OOH provides the employment outlook for hundreds of different occupations. Topics included for each occupation are: nature of the work; working conditions; employment, training, other qualifications, and advancement; job outlook; and earnings.
  • Online Colleges: Open Education Library
    Vast career planning resources for Arts & Design, Business, Criminal Justice & Law, Education, Health & Medicine, Liberal Arts, Science & Engineering, Technology, and Vocational.  Each category is split into several subcategories, with career information for each.
  • Paths to Professions (Wall Street Journal.com)
    Explore a Path to a Profession
    See a slideshow of 12 Career Paths
    Most Satisfying Jobs: Happiness Index
    Rankings by Majors; Interns Are the New Full-Time Hires, and more.
  • Riley Guide (RileyGuide.com) "Where to Search: Sites with Job Listings"
    This page connects you to 50 pages with job resources, starting with the more general resources and moving through location or audience specific listings to the occupation and industry resources. Contents: General Resources, Part-Time and Temporary Opportunities; Self-Employment, Audience-Targeted Sites; Location-Specific Sites (including international).
  • Sloan Career Cornerstone Center (Alfred P. Sloan Foundation et al)
    Science, Technology, Engineering, Mathematics, Computing, and Medicine Career Planning. The Sloan Career Cornerstone Center is an ever-expanding resource center for anyone interested in exploring careers and jobs in these disciplines. Explore degree fields, comprehensive education, salary, networking, job hunting, career planning resources, and personal interviews.
  • The 2008-18 Job Outlook in Brief (Sponsored by the U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics)
    This special issue of the Occupational Outlook Quarterly covers careers including: professional, business, service, sales, office & administrative, farming, fishing, forestry, construction trades, production, transportation and material moving, U.S. Armed Forces.
  • Wet Feet (WetFeet.com) "Helping You Make Smarter Career Decisions"
    Contents: Career Articles, City Profiles, Company Profiles, Industry Profiles, Real People Profiles, Company Salary Data, Industry Profiles, Recruiter Q&A, Weblog, and a wide variety of Career Profiles.

College & University Career Centers

 

UNIVERSITY OF NORTH TEXAS 

  • UNT Career Center
    Student and employer guides, on- and off-campus job listings and customer service training. Contents include: Student Employment Resources, Career Planning Resources, Job Search and Interviewing Resources, Career Center Planning and Events, Graduate School Resources; Employer Resources; Faculty and Staff (Meet the Career Advisors, UNT Graduate Salary and Status.
    Physical location at Chestnut Hall, Suite 103
  • Undergraduate Interests and Majors (UNT Career Services)
    The University of North Texas has many defining resources available if you are unsure about which degree or career you would like to pursue. Contents include: Choosing a Career, Career Development Course, Internships and Cooperative Education, Career Services. 
    Physical location at Chestnut Hall, Suite 103

 
- - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - -

OTHER UNIVERSITIES 

  • Ball State University Career Center: "Resumes, Portfolios, Curriculum Vitae, Letters"
    Lots of great information, including career search engines.
  • Career Exploration Center, University of Texas at Austin, "Weblinks"
    The first link is General Career Information.  Next are links to information on the following careers: Arts (Fine Arts & Architecture); Business; Communication; Education & Childcare; Engineering; Fitness & Sports; Foreign Language & International; Government & Law; Healthcare; Liberal Arts & Academic; Science & Math; Social Services; Salary Information; Internships; Graduate School.
  • Career Exploration Center, University of Texas at Austin, "What do I do with a Major in...?"
    Covers careers in Advertising and Public Relations; Geography; Anthropology; Government; Art; Health Care; Biological Sciences; History; Business; Kinesiology; Classics; Liberal Arts; Communications; Management; Communication Studies; Music; Computer Science and Mathematics; Philosophy; Computer Science and MIS; Psychology; Economics; Science; Engineering.
  • Career Info by Major (Indiana University at Bloomington)
    Note that reference book call numbers pertain to the Indiana University at Bloomington, but you can scroll down to Online Resources for a list of career guides from several universities, associations, commercial sites, and the federal government.  Career guides include business (all areas), education, Computer Science & Library Science, Fine Arts, Math & Science, Philosophy & Religion, Social Science, Language & Communications.
  • University of California at Berkeley Career Center
    Job listing sites include careers and jobs in Architecture, Arts, Biotechnology, Business, Chemistry, Communications, Education, Engineering, Entertainment & Media (including radio, television, film, recording, advertising), Environmental, Government, Health care, High Tech, International, Law, Nonprofit, Social Service, Internships, Fellowships; also Job and Career Metasites.
  • University of Texas at Dallas Career Center "What can I do with this major?"
    Covers careers in: Agriculture and Natural Resources; Anthropology and Archaeology; Architecture; Art; Athletics and Sport; Biochemistry; Biological Sciences (Biology, Zoology, Microbiology); Botany; Business; Chemistry; Child and Family Studies; Classics; Communications; Computer Science; Education; Engineering; English; Environmental Sciences; Languages.
  • University of Texas at Dallas Career Center "Career-Related Websites"
    Covers careers and jobs in many areas. Contents include: Academic and Education Jobs; Career Information; City Jobs; Careers in Community and Non-Profit; Financial Aid; Careers in Government; Careers in Health; International Resources; Internships; Job and Resume Sites (General); Legal Jobs; Salary Information; Technology Jobs; Other Information.
  • Yale Undergraduate Career Services "Career Crib Sheets" 
    Each section is extensively detailed. Sections include careers in the Arts, Communications, Education, Engineering, Government and Politics, Health Professions, Law, the Sciences, the Social Sciences, and Social Services and Advocacy. Read the industry overviews, explore different career paths, and view the links to internship and job information.

Education Careers

 

TEXAS JOBS 

  • Education Service Center Region 10 
    Includes Region 10 school district web sites as well as charter schools and private schools.  Includes employment opportunities. Includes school districts in the following counties:  Collin, Dallas, Ellis, Fannin, Grayson, Hunt, Kaufman, Rockwall.
  • Education Service Center Region 11 
    Includes region 11 school district web sites as well as charter schools and private schools.  Includes employment opportunities.  Includes school districts in the following counties:  Cooke, Denton, Erath, Hood, Johnson, Palo Pinto, Parker, Somervell, Tarrant, Wise.
  • Texas Education Agency
    Includes State Board of Education, educator certification, educator preparation, educator laws and rules, health and safety, state initiatives. 

- - - - - - - - - - - - - - - -

NATIONAL SITES 

  • Academic Employment Network 
    AEN lists jobs and positions in colleges, primary and secondary educational institutions for faculty, staff, and administrative professionals.
  • Academic 360
    Covers jobs, positions, and careers for faculty. Academic360.com is a meta-collection of Internet resources that have been gathered for the academic job hunter. It includes links to 3012 faculty, staff, and administrative announcements and is not restricted to teaching positions. Contents: Institutional HR Job Announcements, General Faculty and Administrative Positions, and more.
  • ABC Teaching Jobs (K-12)
    Covers careers and jobs in teaching. ABC Teaching Jobs is a classified network of teacher job postings. K-12 schools can find qualified teachers and job seeking educators can find teaching positions in education. ABC Teaching Jobs is a no-fee service for all job seeking K-12 teachers and administrators. Search by subject area, school type, and location.
  • American Schools Directory
    $9.99 subscription cost per month.
  • Careers in Counseling (American Counseling Association)
    Interviewing, resumes, dressing for the interview, getting a federal job, navigating the USA Jobs website, how to write KSAs, career-related questions.
  • Chronicle of Higher Education Career Network
    This site lists jobs classified by the Chronicle's list of job titles. Faculty and research positions include the humanities, social sciences, and science and technology. Professional fields include administrative positions, executive positions, community college positions, and distance learning positions. Also included are positions outside academe.
  • HigherEd Jobs Online
    You must create a free account to view the jobs. This site includes non-tenure jobs for beginning your teaching career.
  • Interest Areas / College & University Counselors (National Career Development Association)
    Career Information Resources for the following areas: College & University Counselors, Career Assessment Instruments, Professional Development Opportunities, Related Career Counseling Associations.  Click on INTEREST AREAS to view other counseling careers accessible from this site:
    Corrections/Workforce Development
    Counselor Educators & Researchers
    K-12 Counselors & Educators
    Graduate Students
    Private Practitioners
    Disabilities
  • Knowledge Center (National Association of Secondary School Principals, NASSP)
    The national voice for middle level and high school principals, assistant principals, and aspiring school leaders. NASSP provides members with professional research-based and peer-tested resources, and practical tools.  The Knowledge Center includes news, blogs, E-newsletters, hot topics, and videos.
  • Teachers' Educational Resources
    Official information and services from the U.S. government.
  • Top School Jobs (Education Week)
    Covers careers and jobs in teaching. The home of Education Week and Teacher Magazine. Provides education jobs in administration and teaching in schools and other education organizations, plus career-advancing news and advice. Search jobs by category or state.
  • Your Career (American Association of School Administrators)
    AASA offers listings to all school leaders, with additional service to members, to support and develop effective school system leaders. Contents include the following: Sample Superintendent Contracts (here you'll find a sample of superintendent contracts from AASA’s state affiliate ssociations); Superintendent Evaluation; School Superintendents Salary Data (2006 ERS report); Pension Portability.

Fine Arts & Performing Arts Careers

 

Also, look at the resources listed in these two UNT Libraries guides:

College & University Career Centers

Career Profiles and Search Engines

 

TEXAS SITES 

  • Texas Commission on the Arts (TCA
    Serves constituents in each of the six artistic disciplines (visual arts, theatre, dance, music, media and literature) as well as local arts agencies. The site provides grants, programs, and job listings.
  • Texas Music Educators Association
    A great source for all music teaching careers and jobs in Texas. These are jobs for music teachers and music educators. Especially click on the Music Industry tab, then scroll down and click Links.
  • Texas Music Office
    The TMO is a clearinghouse of music in Texas and music-related industry information. They also sponsor internships in music.

 

- - - - - - - - - - - - - - - -


NATIONAL SITES 

  • Art Careers and Schools (UNT Libraries Subject Guide)
    Art careers and employment opportunities for art majors. Includes sections on teaching art in higher education and K-12 schools, fine digital and alternative media art, art image professionals, auction house opportunities, digital arts, animation, 3-D modeling and alternative media, graphic design, illustration and photography, interior design and more.
  • ArtsLynx
    A metasite offering links to careers and jobs in the performing arts and visual arts including theater, art, dance, music, film, writing, art therapy, arts administration, and museums. Look at the relevant career links or scroll down to Employment Resources.
  • California Career Zone 
    Covers arts, design, theater, entertainment, broadcast industry technicians, radio, photographers, news broadcasters, sports, and media, and more.  Covers all aspects of the film industry.
  • Career Guides, University of Texas at Austin
       Art History Majors
       Dance Majors
       Studio Art Majors
       Theatre Majors
  • College Art Association (CAA)
    Provides a database of employment listings in the art and academic worlds. Job seekers may search listings and post their CV, and employers may submit classified advertisements and browse information about potential candidates. Other features allow schools and institutions to set up interviews at the CAA conference and elsewhere.
  • Film and Video (Drexel University)
  • National Association of Broadcast Employees and Technicians
  • Women in Film & Video of Washington, D.C.

  

 Be sure you are familiar with these four resources! 

Health Professions & Life Sciences

 

Also, look at the resources listed in these two UNT Libraries guides:

College & University Career Centers

Career Profiles and Search Engines

 

.

  1. GENERAL
  2. MEDICINE
  3. NURSING
  4. ALLIED HEALTH CAREERS
  5. BIOLOGICAL SCIENCES

.

GENERAL

  • Explore Health Careers (American Dental Education Association, ADEA)
    Career information on many health care careers.
  • Lifeworks (National Institutes of Health)
    Career information and profiles of people in health professions.
  • Sloan Career Cornerstone Center (Alfred P. Sloan Foundation et al)
    Science, Technology, Engineering, Mathematics, Computing, and Medicine Career Planning. The Sloan Career Cornerstone Center is an ever-expanding resource center for anyone interested in exploring careers and jobs in these disciplines. Explore degree fields, comprehensive education, salary, networking, job hunting, career planning resources, and personal interviews.

.

MEDICINE

  • American Medical Association
    Health care career information & professional associations.
    See the web site, "Becoming an MD."
  • Education & Careers (American Dental Association)
    Becoming a Dentist; Dental Team Centers; Continuing Education.  See the web site, "Current & Future Dental Students."
  • Tomorrow's Doctors (American Association of Medical Colleges, AAMC)
    The AAMC represents all 133 accredited U.S. and 17 accredited Canadian medical schools; approximately 400 major teaching hospitals and health systems. Contents: Considering a Medical Career, For Medical Students, Applying to Medical School, Careers in Medicine, More Resources.  The web site, AspiringDocs.org, features podcasts and other information about medical careers, medical schools, and the MCAT.

NURSING

ALLIED HEALTH CAREERS  

  • AGS Foundation for Health in Aging [American Geriatrics Society, AGS]
    News, career trends, professional careers.
  • American Dietetic Association (Student Center / Career Center)
    The major association for food and nutrition professionals.
    Includes career videos, scholarships and financial aid, career toolbox, mentoring opportunities, ADACareerLink.
  • American Speech and Hearing Association
    Career fact sheets, work settings, and market trends.
  • Audiologist (College Grad.com)
    Provides information about job descriptions, outlook, market trends and other points of interest.
  • Career Connection [American Geriatrics Society, AGS]
    AGS Career Connection is the American Geriatrics Society's official online career center.  Find career opportunities for Geriatricians, Geriatric Nurse & Nurse Practitioners, Geriatric Physicians Assistants and more! Includes job seeker tools and interview questions.
  • Careers: Gerontology [University of North Texas Center for Studies in Aging]
    Growing Mature Market; Products and Services; large number of links for more information about this profession.
  • Careers in Gerontology (George Mason University)
    Offers work settings and career titles.
  • Careers in Kinesiology [American Kinesiology Association]
    Physical Therapist, Athletic Admin., Athletic Trainer, Biomechanist, Cardiac Rehab Specialist, Chiropractic Physician, Coach, Youth Camp Dir., Exercise Physiologist, Fitness Instructor, Personal Trainer.
  • Careers in Podiatry (American Podiatric Medical Association, APMA)
    The American Podiatric Medical Association (APMA) has developed career videos that introduce students to the challenging world of podiatric medicine.
  • Chiropractic as a Career (American Chiropractic Association)
    Contents: Accredited Chiropractic Colleges; Advantages of Chiropractic as a Professional Career; Broad Professional Preparation; Education Requirements; Future of Chiropractic; Opportunities in Chiropractic; US State Chiropractic Licensing Boards.
  • Envision Ophthalmology (American Academy of Ophthalmology)
    "A Practical Guide to Ophthalmology as a Career Choice."  Contents: Ophthalmology as a career choice; subspecialties in ophthalmology; the demand for and supply of ophthalmologists; ophthalmology and optometry; frequently asked questions on applying for residency.
  • HealthcareRecruitment.com
    Health care careers and jobs including RN jobs, radiology jobs, respiratory therapy jobs, pharmacy jobs, rehab jobs, lab jobs, as well as travel healthcare jobs. There are also links to healthcare career resources.
  • Job Accommodation Network (JAN)
    This is an international toll-free consulting service that provides information about job accommodations and the employability of people with disabilities.  JAN also provides information regarding the Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA).

 .

BIOLOGICAL SCIENCES  

  • Biology Jobs.com
    Biology Jobs.com was created as a targeted resource for job seekers and employers in Life Science. Biology jobs are divided into categories in our database which include Agriculture, Anatomy/Physiology, Bioinformatics / Biotechnology, Botany, Cell Biology, Conservation, Ecology, Environmental Science Jobs, Genetics, Marine Science, Medicine, Natural Resources, Pharmacology, Toxicology, Veterinary Medicine, and Zoology.
  • Career Information: Biology [Society for Integrative & Comparative Biology, SICB]
    Frequently Asked Questions; Animal Behavior; Comparative Endocrinology; Comparative Physiology and Biochemistry; Ecology and Evolution; Invertebrate Zoology; Neurobiology; Systematic and Evolutionary Biology; Integrative and Comparative Issues; Vertebrate Morphology.
  • Career Paths for Ph.D. Graduates: Biomedical Scientists [American Association of Medical Colleges]
    What can I be with a PhD? Where do biomedical scientists work? General information about careers in biomedical science.
  • Career Resources [American Society for Biochemistry and Molecular Biology]
    Topics: 77 Things to do with a Biochemistry Degree, Non-Traditional Careers in Science, Personal Stories, Research Positions and Fellowship Opportunities.
  • Careers: Microbiology and Biotechnology [Society for Industrial Microbiology, SIM]
    Career information; placement service; job postings; associations.
  • Careers in Biochemistry [University of Arizona]
    These links will take you to a variety of websites offering career advice, employment listings, and networking opportunities in the life sciences.
  • Careers in Biology [University of California at San Bernardino]
    Mollecular/Cellular; Organismal; Field; Health-Related Careers; Education.
  • Careers in Biology [University of Florida]
    Biology, Botany, Ecology, Entomology, Forensic Science, Genetics, Herpetology, Medicine and other health careers, Microbiology, Parasitology, Plant pathology, Physiology, Veterinary medicine, Zoos and aquariums.
  • Careers in the Biological Sciences [American Institute of Biological Sciences, AIBS]
    Frequently Asked Questions about Careers in Biology; Where can I find more information about people who have become biologists; General career development and job hunting sites; Internship listings.
  • Careers in Biomedical Research [National Association for Biomedical Research, NABR]
    Anatomy, Biochemistry, Bioinformatics/computational biology, biophysics, cell biology, genetics, immunology, microbiology, molecular biology, neuroscience, pharmacology, physiology, toxicology.
  • Frontiers in Bioscience Job Databases
    A database of careers and jobs available in the field of biology.
  • ResearchJOBS [ResearchGATE]
    "ResearchJOBS is an international job board for research, science and higher education. There, universities and academic institutions post employment offerings; these postings are then seen by the 400,000+ members of ResearchGATE as well as non-registered visitors."
[Top]

 

 Be sure you are familiar with these four resources! 

Humanities Careers

.

Also, look at the resources listed in these two UNT Libraries guides:

College & University Career Centers

Career Profiles and Search Engines

 

  • American Academy of Religion
    Provides articles, employment trends, and job search information. The article, "Why Study Religion?" , describes the religious studies major, how to find an program, and pressing issues in the field.
  • Aviso Online Classified Ads (American Association of Museums)
    Searchable database of employment advertising, providing information on careers and jobs in museums.
  • Career Info by Major: Liberal Arts (Indiana University at Bloomington)
    Note that call numbers pertain to the Indiana University at Bloomington, but you can scroll down to Online Resources for a list of liberal arts career guides from several universities, associations, commercial sites, and the federal government.
  • Career Opportunities for Majors in Journalism and Media Studies (Rutgers University, Career Services)
    Contents: A sample of related occupations, types of employers, further information.
  • Careers for English Majors (Western Carolina University)
    Contrary to popular belief, English majors can find jobs after graduation! Choose a career field to learn more about Careers for English Majors. Contents (including links for more information): High Tech/Training, Journalism, Nonprofit, teaching, higher education, marketing, creative writing, editing and publishing.
  • Careers for English Majors (Winthrop University)
    Contents: What Jobs Can I Get?  Who Was an English Major? Where Can I Find Info?  Career Information Resources.
  • Careers for History Majors (American Historical Association)
    Contents: Jobs & Careers for History Majors, Career Resources, What Can You Do with an Undergraduate Degree in History?, Historians as Educators, Historians as Researchers, Historians as Communicators, Historians as Advocates, Historians in Businesses and Associations.
  • Careers for Students of History: Historians in Archives (American Historical Association)
    Contents: Overview of the Field, Scope of Training, Recent Trends in the Job Market, Profiles.
  • Careers in Associations: Where Are They Located? (Career Headquarters, American Society of Association Executives ASAE and the Center for Association Leadership)
    According to the IRS, in 2004 there were more than 86,000 trade and professional associations in the U.S. The Washington, D.C., metro area has the highest concentration. Associations and nonprofits are the third largest industry in the D.C. area. Many exist to follow Congressional activities. New York and Chicago are other large metropolitan areas with high concentrations of associations.  Associations are growing across the country in small and large cities and towns. Contents of the web site: Search Job Listings, Post a Job, Careers in Associations, Career-Related Articles.
  • Careers in History (University of North Carolina Wilmington - The Career Center)
    This site includes related career titles, typical employers of history graduates, related major skills, and links to jobs, internships, career planning, and professional associations.
  • Careers / Records Management (American Records Management Association, ARMA)
    ARMA International’s CareerLink is the only job bank specifically targeting records and information management professionals. Job seekers can post their resume and search a database of available positions. It makes job hunting easy! You can also get sound tips on how to write an effective resume, interviewing, and other topics designed to give you the edge in the job market.
  • Communication Career Services [University of Texas at Austin]
    Resources by Field: Advertising; Consulting; Entertainment; Fundraising; Development; Non-Profit; Government; Public Service; Higher Education; Academics; Social Media; HR; Management; Sales; Marketing; Meeting Planning; Hospitality; Public Relations; Business Communication; Speech Language Pathology; Audiology.
  • English (Career Services, University of Wisconsin-Eau Claire)
    Discusses associated career fields and provides links.
  • H-Net (H-Net.org Humanities & Social Sciences network)
    This site provides Humanities and Social Sciences job listings.
  • Idealist Organization (Action without Borders, a nonprofit organization)
    Volunteer, internship, and job search opportunities with non-profit organizations.
  • Job Board for Media Professionals (JournalismJobs.com)
    News, trends, job listings: freelance jobs and internships.
  • Jobs in Publishing (Bookjobs.com, Association of American Publishers)
    Jobs and internships in a wide variety of publishing fields.
  • Journalism Jobs [CubReporters.org]
    Contents: The Best Journalism Job Banks, Jobs by Specialty, Extended Internships, Great First Journalism Jobs.
  • Library and Information Sciences: Professional Development (UNT Libraries' Subject Guide)
    Contents: 100+ Job Resources for Librarians, Collections 2.0, Digital Projects Guide, LibGig Jobs, Library Success: A Best Practices Wiki, LISNews, Tame the Web, Writing for the Web.
  • Museum Employment Resource Center
    Online since 1996. Lists careers and jobs and other information related to museums, heritage management, and cultural resource communities.
         For other museum employment sites, see Art Careers and Schools, a UNT Libraries' Subject Guide.
  • Philanthropy Careers (Chronicle of Philanthropy)
    Lists careers in non-profit sectors.
  • Rotary International
    Offers fellowships and programs for those pursing community services projects.
  • So You Want to Be an Archivist: An Overview of the Archival Profession [Society of American Archivists]
    Contents: The Work of Archivists, Archival Repositories, Qualifications for Employment, Salaries and Benefits, A Day in the Life - Archivist (video). Click this link for the SAA Online Career Center.
  • Ten Things to do With an English Degree (Hubpages.com)
    Provides articles, video, skills, related articles, related careers, useful links, Ten Things to do With an English Degree in the News, and visitor comments.
  • The Ultimate Philosophy Career Guide (GuidetoCareerEducation.com)
    This extensive site focuses on giving students the necessary tools to find and explore career paths available with a philosophy degree, which can be hard information to find. Especially take a look at the section, "Great Job Boards & Career Resources for Philosophy Professionals."

 

 Be sure you are familiar with these four resources! 

Job Hotlines

  • Career Builder (CareerBuilder.com)
    Search for jobs and careers by company, by industry, and by city. Cities include metropolitan areas such as Dallas, Fort Worth, Denton, Irving, Plano, Lewisville. Find jobs, post recommendations, post resumes, receive job alerts. Jobs include sales, management, customer service, information technology, finance, health care, human resources, retail, sales, and more.
  • DallasNews.com Classifieds (via Yahoo! Hotjobs)
    Search for jobs in Dallas and surrounding cities by keywords, job category, or by browsing jobs. The site includes career tools (resumes, interviewing, salary wizard, networking, diversity).
  • Creative Hotlist (part of the Commarts Network, owned by Coyne & Blanchard, Inc., the parent company of Communication Arts magazine)
    This site lists jobs for creative services, artists and designers. Search by location, experience, job category, new listings, companies, and organizations. Career and job links include architecture, consulting, design, film production, sound studio, photography, public relations, video production.
  • Job Applications.com
    Includes job applications, printable job applications, and top part-time jobs: "Find and download a printable job application form for the job you need...We are here to not only make that process more efficient so that you don’t have to hunt around to every employer’s site, but we are also developing a community where job-seekers those that were recently hired, and people that have worked at each company for many years can share information..."
  • JustJobs.com
    Search job boards, company career pages and associations for all jobs in USA with one search. Free, no registration necessary.
  • Yahoo! HotJobs
    Search jobs and careers by city, state, or zip code. Top cities include Dallas, Fort Worth, Austin, San Antonio, Houston. Find a job, post your resume, research careers at featured companies. Compare salaries and get career advice. Thousands of jobs listed daily. Jobs include sales, accounting, finance, medical assistant, customer service, nursing, and more.

Science, Tech, & Math Careers

 

Also, look at the resources listed in these two UNT Libraries guides:

College & University Career Centers

Career Profiles and Search Engines

 

  • BrightRecruits (Physicsworld.com)
    This is the new jobs website from IOP Publishing. If you're looking for a career where you can make the most of your physics degree, you can search this site for a range of jobs in which your skills will be highly sought after.
  • Career and Employment Resources [IEEE]
    Career Resources by Life Stage; Career Resources by Category.  Includes career asset manager; career webinars; software development; consulting; entrepreneurs village; IEEE Career Alert; IEEE mentoring; IEEE Student Job Site; IEEE Salary Service.
  • Career & Job Center [Association for Computing Machinery]
    The ACM Career & Job Center is the perfect place for job seekers and employers in the computing industry to connect with each other. ACM is the worlds largest professional, educational, and scientific computing society with over 92,000 members across every spectrum including educators, researchers, and industry professionals.
  • Career Center [American Statistical Association, ASA]
    Career Center home, Careers in Statistics, Career Resources for Statisticians.
  • Career Center [National Institute for Certification in Engineering Technologies]
    Positions available and positions wanted; training provider directory; career development with NICET certification.
  • Career Information [American Mathematical Society]
    Contemplating a career centered on mathematics? Mathematical research and education are at the heart of some careers, while other careers utilize mathematics and its applications to build and enhance important work in the sciences, business, finance, manufacturing, communications, and engineering.  Includes the sections: "Early Career Profiles," and "What do mathematicians do?"
  • Career Management Center [American Institute of Chemical Engineers]
    Topics: Find a Job, Post a Job, CareerToolsPLUS, Career Development, Student Focus, Internships, Networking, Career Facts, Career Fair, Education.
  • Careers [American Chemical Society]
    Topics: Job Search, Personal Career Consulting, ACS Center for Professional Development, What Chemists Do, Salaries & Surveys, Find a Job, Post a Job, Resume Writing, Career Fair.  See Career Descriptions
  • Careers [American Design Drafting Association & American Digital Design Association]
    Drafters prepare technical drawings and plans used by production and construction workers to build everything from manufactured products such as toys, toasters, industrial machinery, and spacecraft to structures such as houses, office buildings, and oil and gas pipelines. Drafters’ drawings provide visual guidelines, show the technical details of the products and structures, and specify dimensions, materials, & procedures. Contents: Designers/ Engineering Technicians; Digital Technician; Technical Illustrating; Continuing Education.
  • Careers [American Society for Information Science and Technology]
    Contents: Jobline is a service ASIS&T provides to the community. Continuing Education provides information on seminars and both online and in-person course information.  The Placement Center is held each year at the ASIS&T Annual Meeting.
  • Careers in Chemistry: What can I do with my degree after I graduate? [University of Alabama]
    Topics: Industrial Chemistry Careers, Academic Careers, Government Careers, Related Fields and Careers, Links.
  • Careers in Physics [American Institute of Physics]
    Physics offers challenging, exciting, and productive careers. As a career, physics covers many specialized fields -- from acoustics, astronomy, and astrophysics to medical physics, geophysics, and vacuum sciences. Physics offers a variety of work activities-lab supervisor, researcher, technician, teacher, manager. Physics opens doors to employment opportunities throughout the world in government, industry, schools, and private organizations.  Contents include "Where Do I Find Additional Information?"
  • Careers Using Physics [Society of Physics Students]
    People are using physics in their jobs in many unique and exciting ways today—ways you might not even imagine! An asset manager? A video game designer? A fashion technologist? A fighter pilot? All with physics educations! Read, listen, and watch video clips about some of these people and the many different career paths that are possible with a degree in physics.
  • Chemical Technician Careers [American Chemical Society]
    Topics: Job Search, Personal Career Consulting, Employers, Professional Development, Salaries & Surveys.
  • Chemistry / Career Center [University of North Carolina at Wilmington]
    Topics: Chemistry Fields, Related Major Skills,  Job & Internship Search Links, Career Planning Links, Explore/Research Careers, Professional Association Links, Miscellaneous Resources Links.
  • Civil Engineering Central.com: Engineering Careers
    Long list of professional associations; search for civil engineering jobs; browse employers.
  • Computer Science & Engineering / Organizations [UNT Libraries' Subject Guide]
    American Association for Artificial Intelligence, Association for Computing Machinery, Electrochemical Society, Institute of Electrical & Electronics Engineers, IEEE Computer Society, Institute of Electrical Engineers, International Neural Network Society, Materials Research Society, SPIE: The International Society for Optical Engineering.
  • Dice.com Tech Employment Site
    Dice News keeps you up to date on hiring, firing, rising tech trends, management moves, and offers tech-jobs-focused advice to get your job search moving.  Contents: Browse jobs by location, Enter keywords, Enter Location, Post your resume, Resume center, Blogs, Salary Discussion.
  • Engineer Girl! [National Academy of Engineering]
    Check out these engineering careers! You're sure to find at least one career on this list that matches your interests and talents.
  • Engineering Associations [Job-Hunt.org]
    Long list of association links, including green industry associations and job hunting tips.
  • Engineeringjobs.com
    Covers jobs and careers in Engineering. Contents: Company Employment Pages, Headhunters and Jobs Database, resumes posted by job-seeking engineers, Resume posting, Engineering Employers, Engineering Tools and References, Engineering Societies and Organizations.
  • Going Global.com
    Find international jobs and internships. Contents include country profiles, cultural advice, career advice, job resources, employment trends, financial considerations, business and networking groups, CV and resume advide, interviewing advice, work permit and visa requirements for work abroad.  Career information includes general, business, sales & marketing, accounting, finance, foreign trade, engineering, and information technology.
  • Mechanical Engineer.com Job listings 
    Provides information on careers and jobs for mechanical engineers and jobs related to the mechanical engineering field.
  • Physics Jobs and Careers [American Physical Society, APS]
    The APS Careers in Physics website is a gateway for physicists, students, and physics enthusiasts to information about physics jobs and careers. Find physics job listings, career advice, upcoming workshops and meetings, and career and job related resources.
  • Physics Students / Why Study Physics? [American Physical Society, APS]
    Topics: Why Study Physics, How Can I Prepare for a Career in Physics?  What Kind of Job Can I get?
  • PhysicsWorld.com 
    News, views and information for the global physics community from Institute of Physics Publishing.
  • Professional Engineering Associations & Societies list [George Mason University]
    Association Web pages provide information on membership, conferences, events, and publications and typically include related Web links.
  • Science Careers [American Association for the Advancement of Science]
    From the journal, Science. Offers a career development section that includes information on careers and jobs, resume posting, salary guides, satisfaction surveys, blogs & communities, tools & tips, multimedia, and more.
  • Sloan Career Cornerstone Center
    Topics: Science, Technology, Engineering, Mathematics, Computing, and Medical Career Planning. The Sloan Career Cornerstone Center is an ever-expanding resource center for anyone interested in exploring careers and jobs in these disciplines. Explore degree fields, comprehensive education, salary, networking, job hunting, career planning resources, and personal interviews.
  • Your Guide to Physics on the Web [Physics.org]
    Contents: Careers Home, Profiles, Careers FAQ, Work Experience, Careers Useful Links.

 

 Be sure you are familiar with these four resources! 

Social Science Careers

 

Also, look at the resources listed in these two UNT Libraries guides:

College & University Career Centers

Career Profiles and Search Engines

 

  • All Sociology Jobs in Texas (JustJobs.com)
    Search job boards, company career pages and associations for all Sociology jobs in Dallas with one search. Free, no registration necessary.
  • American Association for Marriage and Family Therapy
    Description of marriage and family therapy.
  • American Sociological Association: Career Resources
    Includes Job Bank, Careers in Sociology, Facts on Sociology Careers.
  • Careers in Counseling (American Counseling Association)
    Interviewing, resumes, dressing for the interview, getting a federal job, navigating the USA Jobs website, how to write KSAs, career-related questions.
  • Careers in Criminology (Hubpages.com)
    Contents include: What is Criminology? Career Paths in Criminology, Employment Systems for Criminologists, Personal Qualifications of a Criminologist, Education Requirements for the Criminologist, Areas of Specialization, Videos, Organizational Resources.
  • Careers in Political Science (American Political Science Association)
    Contents: Examples of Careers for Political Scientists, APSA's eJobs, Online Job Lists, Article and Books on Career Issues, Internship Resources.
  • Careers in Psychology (American Psychological Association)
    Contents: What Psychology Is; Some of the Subfields in Psychology; The Job Outlook; What Psychologists Do and Where They Do It; Getting Ready To Work in Psychology. Visit PsycCareers (APA's online career center).
  • Careers in Social Work (National Association of Social Workers)
    "Choices" includes: Substance Misuse and Addictions; Aging; Child Welfare; Public Welfare; School Social Work; Justice & Corrections; Developmental Disabilities; Employment & Occupational Social Work; Mental Health & Clinical Social Work; Community Organization; International Social Work; Management & Administration; Policy and Planning; Politics; Research.
  • Careers in Sociology (American Sociological Association, ASA)
    Contents include: Sociological Specialties, Career Preparation, Job Prospects for the BA Graduate, Graduate Training, The Common Core of Sociological Careers.
  • Considering a Career in Psychology (American Psychological Association)
    Provides information about careers in the field, work settings, and salary.
  • Corrections Connection Career Center (Corrections Connection Network News [CCNN], known as Corrections.com)
    Online since 1996. Provides an index to online employment resources, including job postings searchable by state and other criteria. In additional to federal job links (USA Jobs), the site provides links to state departments of correction including public safety, parole, youth administration, juvenile justice, and criminal justice.
  • H-Net (H-Net.org Humanities & Social Sciences network)
    This site provides Humanities and Social Sciences job listings.
  • Idealist Organization (Action without Borders, a nonprofit organization)
    Volunteer, internship, and job search opportunities with non-profit organizations.
  • Interest Areas / College & University Counselors (National Career Development Association)
    Career Information Resources for the following areas: College & University Counselors, Career Assessment Instruments, Professional Development Opportunities, Related Career Counseling Associations.  Click on INTEREST AREAS to view other counseling careers accessible from this site:
    Corrections/Workforce Development
    Counselor Educators & Researchers
    K-12 Counselors & Educators
    Graduate Students
    Private Practitioners
    Disabilities
  • Lawjobs.com  (ALM, an integrated media company focusing on the legal and commercial real estate sectors)
    Covers jobs and careers in Law. Search for legal positions by job type, region, and keyword. Browse by job category. The Career Center provides salary information, career advancement advice, and lists and rankings from American Lawyer Media Research.
  • Legal Business Community (Lexis Nexis Communities)
    Website published by Lexis Nexis on the management of today’s legal practice.  Designed for practitioners in the legal community. Includes stories, blogs, podcases, legal web, case law, videocasts, emerging issues.  Blogs include marketing, technology, strategy, people, finance.
  • Library and Information Sciences: Professional Development (UNT Libraries' Subject Guide)
    Contents: 100+ Job Resources for Librarians, Collections 2.0, Digital Projects Guide, LibGig Jobs, Library Success: A Best Practices Wiki, LISNews, Tame the Web, Writing for the Web.
  • National Association of Social Workers, Texas Chapter
    Information about the field, news blog, and job search.
  • Philanthropy Careers (Chronicle of Philanthropy)
    Lists careers in non-profit sectors.
  • Psychology Information Online (Internet Practice Solutions)
    Brief information on various fields, internship and graduate information.
  • Rotary International
    Offers fellowships and programs for those pursing community services projects.

 

 Be sure you are familiar with these four resources! 

U.S. Government Careers

  • GovCentral (Monster.com)
    Government job fairs; GS pay scale information; government career resources.
  • Government Job Sites (from CareerOneStop, sponsored by the U.S. Department of Labor)
    The site includes state-specific job sites, general job sites, and government job sites including DoD Military Transportal; HireVetsFirst; Key To Career Success; MilSpouse.Org; TurboTap; USAJobs; VetSuccess. Be sure to click "GOVERNMENT JOB SITES" at the left side of the screen.
  • Leadership Library (Leadership Directories, Inc.) [UNT Libraries' Subscription]
    This online directory furnishes lookup information for individuals in federal, state, and local government, corporations, financial institutions, nonprofit organizations, the news media, law firms, trade associations, interest groups, and more. Search or browse by name, job title, organization name, industry, alma mater, etc.
  • TodaysMilitary.com 
    The leading information resource for jobs and careers in the military. Includes job descriptions for a wide range of professional job categories.
  • USA Jobs 
    This is the Government's official one-stop source for Federal careers, jobs, and employment information.
Info

Looking for journal articles? 

Try out our new Find Articles (Beta) search! 

Don't forget to let us know what you think about it.

 

Jeffrey Levy

Contact Info

Government Documents Department, Room 326, Willis Library
940-565-2013
Jeffrey.Levy@unt.edu

Email me!

Other pages by me

My subjects


UNT and State of Texas: UNT | UNT Search | UNT News and Events | State of Texas | State-wide Search

Policies: UNT Web Accessibility Policy | AA/EOE/ADA | Privacy Statement | Disclaimer

1155 Union Circle #305190
Denton , TX 76203-5017
(940) 565-2413

Locations, Maps, and Shipping.

Credits
Government Information Connection
The UNT Libraries are on Facebook