Skip to content. | Skip to navigation

Sections
Home Research Tools Subject Guides Careers Reference Sources
Document Actions

Reference Sources

Career Encyclopedias

  • Big Book of Jobs
    Published by the Bureau of Labor Statistics, this volume covers career management skills and writing resumes as well as exploring 250 career possibilities.  Location: Willis Library, 3rd floor, Business Reference, call number HF5382.5.U5 B53 (2009-2010 edition).
  • VGM's careers encyclopedia [electronic resource] by the editors of VGM Career Books.  Describes nearly 200 jobs in an A-Z format.  This is an electronic book accessible through UNT's subscription to eBooks on Ebscohost.

Cost of Living/Cities/Moving

  • Homefair.com
    Provides moving expenses calculator, salary calculator, and several financial calculators such as rent vs. buy, mortgage payments, refinancing your home, salary calculator, home affordability, move planner, and credit analyzer. Includes mortgage and salary comparisons by city, and vital statistics on both cities and school districts.
  • Salary.com
    Offers compensation information, salary surveys and reports, as well as SALARY WIZARD, which will compute salaries based on job title and geographic location.

Job outlook for 2008-18

 

The 2008 - 18 Job Outlook in Brief

A special issue of Occupational Outlook Quarterly

Published by the U.S. Department of Labor, U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics (Spring 2010)

  • The Occupational Outlook Handbook— published every 2 years by the U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics (BLS)—features projections of long-term job growth and employment prospects for nearly 300 occupations.
  • This special issue of the Occupational Outlook Quarterly includes a table summarizing that information so readers can compare occupations at a glance.
  • It covers:
  • Management, business, and financial
  • Professional and related
  • Service
  • Sales and related
  • Office and administrative support
  • Farming, fishing, and forestry
  • Construction trades and relate
  • Installation, maintenance, and repair
  • Production
  • Transportation and material moving
  • Job opportunities with the U.S. Armed Forces

Monster Employment Index

 

Key Features of the Monster Employment Index

  • U.S. Monster Employment Index 
    This index is a broad and comprehensive monthly analysis of U.S. online job demand conducted by Monster Worldwide, Inc. The Monster Employment Index presents a snapshot of employer online recruitment activity nationwide.
  • U.S. Monster Local Employment Index
    Monthly data tables for each of the 28 markets will be made available for download on the same day the Monster Employment Index findings are published.
  • Monster Employment Index Europe
    The Index monitors online job opportunities across 24 European countries. Detailed reports, with information about industry, occupational and regional trends, are released for Belgium, Europe, France, Germany, Italy, the Netherlands, Sweden, the United Kingdom.
  • Monster Employment Index Canada
    The Index offers a comprehensive measurement of online job availability by province, city and occupations based on real-time data culled from Monster Canada and other major Web sites believed to be representative of employer online recruitment activity nationwide.
  • Monster Employment Index India
    The Index provides monthly insight into online recruitment trends across various industries, occupations and cities in India.

Occupational Info. Network O*NET

Occupational Information Network O*NET

Comprehensive database of the U.S. Employment and Training Administration that identifies and describes occupations, worker skills, knowledge, abilities, and workplace requirements. Replaced the Dictionary of Occupational Titles.

Occupational Outlook Handbook

Occupational Outlook Handbook
Powered by the Bureau of Labor Statistics, OOH provides the employment outlook for hundreds of different occupations. Topics included for each occupation are: nature of the work; working conditions; employment, training, other qualifications, and advancement; job outlook; and earnings.

Organizational Directories

1. All types of organizations

2. Arts directories

3. Business directories

4. Education directories

5. Government directories

6. Nonprofit directories

7. Research organization directories 

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

 

1. All types of organizations

Almanac of American Employers 
This is a career directory of the largest growth companies, detailing benefits and types of employees sought. Companies are rated on the level of salaries and benefits they provide. Location: Willis Library, 3rd floor, Government Documents / Business Reference, call number HF5382.75.U6 A45.

American Salaries and Wages Survey 
Arranged alphabetically by primary occupation. Each table provides occupational/type/industry; location; wage denomination; low, mid and high figures; source from which the information was collected; and date of sources. Location: Willis Library, 3rd floor, Government Documents / Business Reference, call number HD4973.A67.

Associations Unlimited [UNT Libraries' Subscription]
This electronic resource contains information for approximately 460,000 international and U.S. national, regional, state, and local nonprofit membership organizations in all fields.

Book of Lists (Dallas Business Journal)
Published annually, this provides essential information on the largest businesses, buyers, and the largest employers in Dallas. It provides a look at the local economy and includes key contact information and facts for top businesses, industries, professions, governmental units and nonprofit organizations. Location: Willis Library, 3rd floor, Government Documents / Business Reference, call number HF5065.T4 B612. Also located at the UNT Dallas campus.

Book of Lists (Fort Worth Business Press)
Published annually, this provides lists and rankings of the top businesses in Tarrant County by industry. In addition to the largest businesses, it includes the largest employers and the largest non-profits. Location: Willis Library, 3rd floor, Government Documents /Business Reference, call number HF5065.T4 B8. Also located at the UNT Dallas campus.

Career Guide: Duns Employment Opportunities Directory
Contents: Employers Alphabetically, Employers Geographically, Employers by Industry, Employer Branch Offices Geographically, Employers Offering Work Study or Internship Programs. Location: Willis Library, 3rd floor, Government Documents / Business Reference, call number HF5382.U5D86.

Dun & Bradstreet's Million Dollar Database [UNT Libraries' Subscription
Coverage: 305,000 U.S. businesses with $9 million+ sales or 180+ total employees, plus branches with 900+ employees this site. Company information includes industry information, size criteria (employees and annual sales), type of ownership, principal executives, subsidiaries, corporate family tree.

Encyclopedia of Associations
This is the hardcopy equivalent of Associations Unlimited,  described above. Hint: use the keyword index to look up your association, get a reference number, and then look it up in volume two. Location: Willis Library, 1st floor, General Reference, call number HS17 .E5.

Hoover's Online [UNT Libraries' Subscription]
Provides proprietary information on about 18,500 companies, 180,000 officers, and 600 industries. The database also furnishes access to additional information on nearly 13 million companies. More information about Hoover's Online.

Literary Market Place LMP
This directory of the American book publishing industry covers around 11,500 entries including Canadian houses, small presses, service providers and suppliers, book manufacturing, advertising and publicity. Indexed by company, personnel, categories, and advertisers. Location: Willis Library, 1st floor, General Reference, call number PN161.L511. Click this link for the online edition.

Million Dollar Directory / Dun & Bradstreet [UNT Libraries' book and electronic subscription]
Included in this five-volume directory are approximately 160,000 leading U.S. public and private companies. Also included are domestic subsidiaries of foreign corporations. Vols. 1-3 list these businesses alphabetically. Location: Willis Library, 3rd floor, Government Documents / Business Reference, call number HF5035 .M531 Online equivalent is Dun & Bradstreet's Million Dollar Database.

Occupational Information Network O*NET
Comprehensive database of the U.S. Employment and Training Administration that identifies and describes occupations, worker skills, knowledge, abilities, and workplace requirements.

Occupational Outlook Handbook
Provides the employment outlook for more than 250 occupations. Topics included for each occupation are: nature of the work; working conditions; employment, training, other qualifications, and advancement; job outlook; and earnings.

Reference USA [UNT Libraries' Subscription]
This database provides directory information for more than 12 million U.S. businesses. Quick Search: search by company name, city, and state. Custom Search: search by company name, yellow page heading, SIC number, geographic location, headquarters/branch, or by business sales volume. More information about Reference USA.

Standard and Poor's Register of Corporations, Directors, and Executives [UNT Libraries' Subscription
This is a directory of over 100,000 corporations, including private company information on over 85,000 companies that are not publicly traded. Hint: search under RESOURCES and then by company name. The directory is one of the features available through the UNT Libraries' subscription to Standard and Poor's NetAdvantage.

[Top]

2. Arts directories

American Art Directory
This directory covers museums, libraries, associations, corporations with art holdings, galleries, art schools, art history, and architecture. Indexed by organization, personnel, and subject. Location: Willis Library, 1st floor, General Reference, call number N50.A54.

Art Careers and Schools [UNT Libraries' Subject Guide]

[Top]

3. Business directories

ABI Inform [UNT Libraries' Subscription]
Offers full text cover-to-cover journal coverage for journals in the business and management areas. Search by publication, keyword, topic or use a guided search to find articles. More information about ABI/INFORM.

Business & Company Resource Center [UNT Libraries' Subscription
Provides company and industry information for over 300,000 companies. Includes company profiles, industry rankings, marketing information, products, brands, investment ratings, financial ratios, financial statements, market size, companies by industry, directory information, and more. More information about Business & Company Resource Center.

Business Source Complete [UNT Libraries' Subscription]
Provides full text and abstracts of articles in journals, magazines, newspapers and periodicals covering a wide range of topics in business and industry. More information about Business Source Complete.

International Directory of Company Histories  Available through the UNT Libraries' subscription to the electronic resource, Business & Company Resource Center (find your company; then click on Histories).
     Alternate hardcopy edition: HD2721 .I63, Willis Library, 3rd floor, Government Documents / Business Reference. This 97+ volume set of books provides 2-5 page historical profiles for over 3,700 (mostly large) companies. The index in each volume indexes all the preceding volumes, so use the index in the last volume to look up your company.

Morningstar Research [UNT Libraries' Subscription]
Former name: 10-K Wizard. This database includes all 418 electronically filed forms with the SEC. It includes EDGAR Archives through 1994. It contains pre-Edgar listing of all SEC filings to 1966. It also includes the full text of ADR filings for foreign companies, current and historical audit reports, updated company profiles, and glossy annual reports.

NetAdvantage - Standard and Poor's [UNT Libraries' Subscription]
Standard and Poor's NetAdvantage is a comprehensive source of business and investment information, offering on-line access to Industry Surveys, Directory of Corporations, and Corporation Records. Included is private company information on over 85,000 companies that are not publicly traded.

Plunkett Research Online [UNT Libraries' Subscription]
Furnishes in-depth industry information on 29 industries ranging from Advertising to Wi-Fi. Furnishes company profiles. Analyzes trends, technologies, and statistics supplemented with market data and glossary. More information about Plunkett Research Online.

[Top]

4. Education directories

Higher Education Directory
This is a directory of academic institutions (accredited, postsecondary, and degree-granting institutions) in the U.S., including its possessions and territories. For each college or university, the directory provides the FICE identification, Unit ID, URL, affiliation, and an extensive list of key personnel. Location: Willis Library, 1st floor, General Reference, call number L901.H46; also located at the UNT Dallas Campus Library

International Handbook of Universities
This directory includes over 14,000 institutions of higher education in 183 countries and territories. Includes websites. Includes basic information on the educational systems of the various countries. Indexed by institution and by field of study. Location: Willis Library, 1st floor, General Reference, call number L900.I581.

National Faculty Directory
Find names, departmental affiliations and institutional addresses of professionals at more than 4,600 American colleges and universities--and at 240 Canadian institutions that use instructional materials primarily in English. Each Supplement updates approximately 60,000 new entries. Location: Willis Library, 2nd floor, call number: L901 .N34.

Patterson's American Education
Organized geographically, this is a directory of almost 11,000 public school districts, over 30,300 public secondary schools, over 6,400 private and Catholic secondary schools, and more than 7,000 post-secondary schools. Location: Willis Library, General Reference, call number L901.P3.

[Top]

5. Government directories

Leadership Library (Leadership Directories, Inc.) [UNT Libraries' Subscription]
This directory provides lookup information for individuals in federal, state, and local government, corporations, financial institutions, nonprofit organizations, the news media, law firms, trade associations, interest groups, and more. Search or browse by name, job title, organization name, industry, alma mater, etc.

[Top]

6. Nonprofits directories

National Directory of Nonprofit Organizations 
This is a directory of over 260,000 not-for-profit organizations in the U.S. with reported incomes of over $25,000. Entries are arranged alphabetically. Indexes are by activity and by geographic region. Location: Willis Library, 1st floor, General Reference, call number AS29.5.N38.

Official Museum Directory
Provides information on more than 12,200 museums operating in 87 different fields, including fine arts, historic homes, zoos, cultural centers, science museums, and products and services of museum suppliers. Indexed by institution, category, collection, and personnel. Location: Willis Library, General Reference, call number AM10.A2O4.

[Top]

7. Research organization directories

Foundation Directory
This directory provides information on the finances, governance, and giving interests of the nation's 10,000 largest grant making foundations in terms of awards made in the last fiscal year of record. It is arranged alphabetically by state and within states, by foundation name. Location: Willis Library, 1st floor, General Reference, call number: AS911.A2 F65.

Annual Register of Grant Support
This is a directory of over 3,000 grant support programs of government agencies, public and private foundations, corporations, community trusts, unions, educational and professional associations, and special interest organizations. Arrangement is by discipline, then alphabetically. Use the index. Location: Willis Library, 1st floor, General Reference, call number AS911.A2A67.

Research Centers Directory
This is a guide to over 16,500 university-related and other not-for-profit research organizations in all areas of research. It covers centers, laboratories, institutes, experiment stations, farms, research support facilities, technology transfer centers, think tanks, and research parks. It is arranged by subject. Use the index. Location: Willis Library 1st floor, General Reference, call number AS25.D5.

[Top]

Salaries and Salary Converters

  • Homefair.com
    Provides moving expenses calculator, salary calculator, and several financial calculators such as rent vs. buy, mortgage payments, refinancing your home, salary calculator, home affordability, move planner, and credit analyzer. Includes mortgage and salary comparisons by city, and vital statistics on both cities and school districts.
  • Payscale: Compare your salary (Payscale.com)
    Get a Free Salary Report based on your job title, location, education, skills and experience.
  • Salary.com
    Offers compensation information, salary surveys and reports, as well as SALARY WIZARD, which will compute salaries based on job title and geographic location.

Texas Government sites

  • Job Seekers & Employees (Texas Workforce Commission)
    Contents: Search for Jobs, Tips on Work Search, Interviews, and Resumes, Career Planning and Trends, training Providers and Programs, Job Trends, Wages, and Other Job Market Data, Employee Rights and Laws, Civil Rights and Discrimination, Empoyment Statistics.
  • Labor Market and Career Information (Texas Workforce Commission
    This is a unit of the Texas Workforce Commission. The mission is to improve the way Texans make career and educational decisions by providing useful and reliable information about careers, educational training options and jobs. The site provides statistics, industry profiles, and more.
  • Search for Jobs (Texas Workforce Commission)
    Contents: Texas Job Hunter's Guide, Texas Newspapers' Classified Ads, Austin Jobs, Houston Jobs, StatesmanJobs - where Austin goes to work, JobCentral Texas, Resume Banks, Web Sites of Texas State Agencies and State-Funded Institutions, Government and Military Jobs, Career and Economic Data Search, TRACER Hot Careers in Texas - Nurses & Teachers, and more.
  • State and Local Government on the Net
    Provides links to state and local government websites, which further connect to employment opportunities. The site provides state government offices, as well as the offices of local U.S. Government, city governments and federal government.
  • State Job Banks (from CareerOneStop, sponsored by the U.S. Department of Labor)
    This site provides links to state jobseeker services and employer services (state agencies similar to the Texas Workforce Commission) for all 50 states.
  • WorkInTexas.com (Texas Workforce Commission)
    Contents of WorkInTexas.com: logon as a Texas job seeker; register as job seeker; find state jobs; search jobs; access career tools (with links to other popular and helpful job and career websites).
Info

Looking for journal articles? 

Try out our new Find Articles (Beta) search! 

Don't forget to let us know what you think about it.

 

Jeffrey Levy

Contact Info

Government Documents Department, Room 326, Willis Library
940-565-2013
Jeffrey.Levy@unt.edu

Email me!

Other pages by me

My subjects


UNT and State of Texas: UNT | UNT Search | UNT News and Events | State of Texas | State-wide Search

Policies: UNT Web Accessibility Policy | AA/EOE/ADA | Privacy Statement | Disclaimer

1155 Union Circle #305190
Denton , TX 76203-5017
(940) 565-2413

Locations, Maps, and Shipping.

Credits
Government Information Connection
The UNT Libraries are on Facebook