Articles
Academic Search Complete
Click here to Enter Academic Search Complete.
Academic Search Complete is a UNT Libraries-subscribed full text online journal collection that covers the social sciences, humanities, education, computer sciences, engineering, language and linguistics, arts & literature, medical sciences, and ethnic studies, etc. An EBSCOhost database by way of TexShare.
Academic Search Complete offers:
-
abstracts
-
reviews
-
full text for most articles.
Search by keyword, title, author, publication, or subject. Once discovered, articles can be downloaded, emailed or printed and can be accessed from any computer at anytime, 24 hours a day.
For additional help:
Contact Library Liaison Jeffrey Levy at Jeffrey.Levy@unt.edu
Use the Ask Us service featuring virtual reference chat, email, phone; or visit a reference desk.
Education Research Complete
Education Research Complete [UNT Libraries' Subscription]
Covers all levels of education from early childhood to higher education, and all educational specialties, such as multilingual education, health education, and testing. It also provides indexing and abstracts for more than 1,500 journals, as well as full text for more than 750 journals. This database also includes full text for 133 books.
Professional Development Collection
Professional Development Collection [UNT Libraries' Subscription]
Designed for professional educators, this database provides a highly specialized collection of nearly 550 high quality education journals, including more than 350 peer-reviewed titles. This database also contains more than 200 educational reports.
Psychology/Behavioral Sci. Collection
Psychology and Behavioral Sciences Collection [UNT Libraries' Subscription]
Emotional and behavioral characteristics, psychiatry & psychology, mental processes, anthropology, and observational & experimental methods.
Reference USA
REFERENCE USA [UNT Libraries' Subscription]
Provides directory information for more than 12 million U.S. organizations.
The information is compiled from the following public sources:
- Yellow Pages and Business White pages
- Annual reports
- Chamber of Commerce information
- Quick Search: search by company name, city, and state.
- Custom Search: search by company name, yellow page heading, SIC number, geographic location, headquarters/branch, or by business sales volume.
- You can compile lists of any organizations: companies, partnerships, firms, franchises, cultural organizations, philanthropic organizations, associations, hospitals, educational organizations.
Suggested search strategy:
Sample topic: hospitals in the DFW area.
- First, under "select a database to search," choose "U.S. Businesses"
- Next, click Custom Search and click the Business Type/Keyword SIC and NAICS and the Metro Area boxes
- On the next screen, in the top SIC / NAICS box, type hospitals
- In the LOOKUP box, click hospitals (the code will be 8062-02)
- In the State box, select Texas
- In the Metro Area box, select Dallas-Fort Worth-Arlington, Texas
- Click View Results
- You will pull up a list of hospitals in the DFW area
- View either SUMMARY (list of hospitals) or DETAILS of particular hospitals
- As of June, 2010 there were 182 hospitals (32 with email addresses)
Note that Reference USA allows only 50 prints/downloads per search.
Research Library
Research library (Periodical Abstracts Research II) [UNT Libraries' Subscription]
Provides abstracts, indexing, and full text articles from academic journals and magazines. Formats include full text, text + graphics, and page image.
Science & Technology Collection
The Science and Technology Collection [UNT Libraries' Subscription]
Covers Aeronautics, astrophysics, chemistry, computer technology, geology, aviation, physics, archaeology, materials science, and more.
Vocational & Career Collection
The Vocational & Career Collection (EBSCOhost) [UNT Libraries' Subscription]
Designed to meet vocational and technical research needs. The database provides full text coverage for 400 trade and industry related periodicals such as American Machinist, Contemporary Longterm Care, Pediatric Nursing, Wireless Week, Drug Store News, Video Business, Reeves Journal, Hotel and Motel Management, Restaurant Business, Advertising Age, and many more.
Web of Science
Web of Science [UNT Libraries' Subscription]
Covers 10,000 high impact journals across disciplines and 120,000 conference proceedings. It includes the Science Citation Index, Social Sciences Index and Arts and Humanities Citation Index. You can search by topic, title, author, and publication. Once discovered, articles can be downloaded, emailed or printed and can be accessed from any computer at anytime, 24 hours a day.
Tutorial can be accessed at http://www.library.unt.edu/ris/tutorials/web-of-science/