Websites
Business -- General
China Center for Economic Research
http://en.ccer.edu.cn/index.asp
Contents: News, Lectures, China Economic News, Working Papers, Hot Issues.
.
Global Financial Crisis - articles (London Times)
http://www.ft.com/indepth/global-financial-crisis
Brings together coverage of the mounting crisis and its impact on the markets through links to in depth packages, interactive maps, audio, video and blogs.
.
National Bureau of Statistics of China
http://www.stats.gov.cn/english/
News and statistical data
.
NationMaster.com
http://www.nationmaster.com/index.php
This is a massive central data source and a handy way to graphically compare nations. NationMaster is a vast compilation of data from such sources as the CIA World Factbook, UN, and OECD. Using the form above, you can generate maps and graphs on all kinds of statistics with ease. This website was created by Rapid Intelligence, a web technology company based in Sydney, Australia.
.
OECD Organization for Economic Co-operation and Development
http://www.oecd.org
The OECD provides a setting where governments of industrialized contries compare policy experiences, seek answers to common problems, identify good practice and coordinate domestic and international policies. OECD is one of the world’s largest publishers in the fields of economics and public policy. Includes Statistics Portal, By Country, By Topic
Industry Associations
The Academy of Management (the Academy; AOM) is a leading professional association for scholars dedicated to creating and disseminating knowledge about management and organizations. Academy members are scholars at colleges, universities, and research institutions, as well as practitioners with scholarly interests from business, government, and not-for-profit organizations.
American Management Association
American Management Association (AMA) is a world leader in professional development and performance-based learning solutions. AMA provides individuals and organizations worldwide with the knowledge, skills, and tools to achieve performance excellence, adapt to changing realities, and prosper in a complex and competitive world.
American Marketing Association
The American Marketing Association, one of the largest professional associations for marketers, has 38,000 members worldwide in every area of marketing. For over six decades the AMA has been the leading source for information, knowledge sharing and development in the marketing profession.
Associations Unlimited contains information for approximately 460,000 international and U.S. national, regional, state, and local nonprofit membership organizations in all fields, including IRS data on U.S. 501(c) nonprofit organizations. For some 2,600 major U.S. national associations, provides full-text association materials such as brochures, pamphlets, and membership application forms. A GaleGroup database.
NOTE: Only available to UNT students, staff, and faculty. Access for guests is on-campus only.
How to Access Electronic Resources
Consumer Electronics Association (CEA)
Consumer Electronics Association (CEA) membership unites 2,200 companies within the U.S. consumer technology industry. CEA provides market research and forecasts, consumer surveys, legislative and regulatory news, engineering standards, and training resources. CEA hosts the International Consumer Electronics Show (CES).
The Direct Marketing Association is the leading global trade association of business and nonprofit organizations using and supporting direct marketing tools and techniques. DMA advocates industry standards for responsible marketing, promotes relevance as the key to reaching consumers with desirable offers, and provides cutting-edge research, education, and networking opportunities to improve results throughout the entire direct marketing process.
This is the hardcopy equivalent of Associations Unlimited, described above. Hint: use the keyword index to look up your association, get a reference number, and then look it up in volume two. HS17.E5 Location: Willis Library General Reference and the Dallas Campus Library.
Institute for Supply Management
Online reports include Report on Manufacturing Business, Report on Non-Manufacturing Business, U.S. Department Of Commerce Annual Adjustments to Seasonal Factors, Manufacturing Data, Non-Manufacturing Data, Manufacturing and Non-Manufacturing Graphical Data, Regional Business Survey Reports, J P Morgan Global PMI Reports on Manufacturing and Services, and more.
International Council of Shopping Centers (ICSC)
Founded in 1957, the International Council of Shopping Centers (ICSC) is the global trade association of the shopping center industry. Its 70,000 members in the U.S., Canada and more than 80 other countries include shopping center owners, developers, managers, marketing specialists, investors, lenders, retailers and other professionals as well as academics and public officials. As the global industry trade association, ICSC links with more than 25 national and regional shopping center councils throughout the world.
International Hotel & Restaurant Association (IH&RA)
The International Hotel & Restaurant Association (IH&RA), is a network of national associations, international chains, hotel operators, restaurateurs and supplier companies in more than 150 countries, representing over 750,000 establishments. Its mission is to protect, promote and inform the hospitality industry, which comprises over 300,000 hotels and 8 million restaurants worldwide, employs 60 million people and contributes $950 billion annually to the global economy.
Marketing Research Association
The Marketing Research Association, based in Glastonbury, CT (USA), was formed in 1954 as an outgrowth of the Trade Problem Discussion Group of the American Marketing Association’s (AMA) New York Chapter. MRA has a fully operational Headquarters with a full time staff. The Association’s activities are governed by a volunteer Board of Directors. MRA is a self-managed, not-for-profit organization providing programs and services for members.
National Association for Business Economics (NABE)
NABE® is an association of professionals who have an interest in business economics and who want to use the latest economic data and trends to enhance their ability to make sound business decisions. Economic links include Macro Data and Links; Economic Blogs; International Data and Links sponsored by the International Roundtable; Economic Research Institutions and Think Tanks; Micro Industry Data and Links; Financial Market News and Data; Regional Economic Data and Issues; Tools for Economics and Finance; Federal Reserve Corner; Technology News and Links Sponsored by the Technology Roundtable.
National Association of Home Builders (NAHB)
NAHB is a trade association that helps promote the policies that make housing a national priority. Since 1942, NAHB has been serving its members, the housing industry, and the public at large. NAHB is a Washington, D.C.-based trade association whose mission is to enhance the climate for housing and the building industry. Sponsors the International Builders Show.
National Association of Manufacturers (NAM)
Represents manufacturers and cooperating non-manufacturers with a direct interest in or relationship to manufacturing. Represents industry's views on national and international problems to government. Maintains public affairs and public relations programs. Reviews current and proposed legislation, administrative rulings, and interpretations, judicial decisions, and legal matters affecting industry.
National Association of Purchasing Managers Economic Indicators
Key Economic Indicators, with web links for tracking the US economy and technical information on economic indicators. Contents: For Beginners, Technical Analysis, Economic Indicators, Central Banks.
National Association of Realtors
The National Association of Realtors strives to be the collective force influencing and shaping the real estate industry. It seeks to be the leading advocate of the right to own, use, and transfer real property; the acknowledged leader in developing standards for efficient, effective, and ethical real estate business practices; and valued by highly skilled real estate professionals and viewed by them as crucial to their success.
National Human Resources Association (NHRA)
Description: Represents human resource executives in business, industry, education, and government. Established to expand and improve the professionalism of those in human resource management. Established in 1951, the National Human Resources Association (NHRA) is a network of local affiliates focused on advancing the development of human resource professionals.
National Restaurant Association
Restaurant trade organization offering certification, training materials,start-up advice, education resources, and industry news and trends.
National Restaurant Association Educational Foundation
The National Restaurant Association Educational Foundation (NRAEF), is a not-for-profit organization dedicated to fulfilling the educational mission of the National Restaurant Association. Focusing on three key strategies of risk management, recruitment, and retention, the NRAEF is the premier provider of educational resources, materials and programs which address attracting, developing and retaining the industry's workforce.
The National Retail Federation is the world's largest retail trade association, with membership that comprises all retail formats and channels of distribution including department, specialty, discount, catalog, Internet, independent stores, chain restaurants, drug stores and grocery stores as well as the industry's key trading partners of retail goods and services.
Society for Human Resource Management (SHRM)
Founded: 1948. Description: Professional organization of human resource, personnel, and industrial relations professionals and executives. Offers certification through the Human Resource Certification Institute. Promotes the advancement of human resource management. Sponsors SHRM Foundation. Includes jobs and careers in Human Resource Management.
Interactive executives from more than 600 leading retail brands participate in Shop.org to get objective information from their peers about a variety of common challenges such as online marketing and merchandising, Site usability, multichannel integration, online and multichannel shopping consumer trends. The Shop.org community includes executives from nationally recognized retail brands, large or small.
Founded: 1977. Description: Executives responsible for international human resource management. Acts as an information clearinghouse on international concerns and issues; provides a forum for networking. Maintains information center of publications and periodicals on international human resources management. A division of the Society for Human Resource Management (SHRM).
Business Blogs and Wikis
- Best Business Information Blogs (Alacrawiki)
A selected list: U.S. and international. - Basic Guide to Business Blogging (Internet Business)
Business blogging is a way to reach out to existing customers, potential new customers, and widen the public relations influence of the company through engaging in the rapidly increasing active social web. - Biz Ref Desk Blog by Terese M. Terry, Business Librarian, Lippincott Library, Wharton School of Business
- Biz Wiki (Ohio University Libraries)
- Business and Finance (Answers.com)
Provides dictionaries and encyclopedias in Accounting, Banking, Business, Economics, Finance, Investment, Insurance, Marketing, Real Estate, Small Business. Also provides Business Plans, Company Histories, Exchange Rates, MarketWatch, Modern Design Dictionary, Modern Fashion Encyclopedia, Web Marketing. - Business Intelligence Resources
Information Blog developed and created by Internet expert, author, keynote speaker and consultant Marcus P. Zillman, M.S., A.M.H.A. for monitoring business intelligence resources and sites on the Internet. - 50 Best Business Blogs of 2008 (Business Pundit)
- Financial Blogs: The Best of the Bunch (Business Week)
- Intute: Business and Management (Best of the Web)
Intute: Business and Management provides free access to high quality resources on the Internet. Each resource has been evaluated and categorised by subject specialists based at UK universities. The focus is international. - News Sources and Blogs (Rutgers University Libraries)
Contents: U.S. news sources, international news sources, industry news and magazines, blogs, other lists of titles. - Referenceforbusiness.com
Contents: Encyclopedia of Small Business, Encyclopedia of Business, Business Biographies, Business Plans, Encyclopedia of American Industries, Encyclopedia of Management, Company Histories, Leading American Businesses. - Startup Nation Blogs Blogs "by entrepreneurs for entrepreneurs"