Reference Sources
Business & Co. Resource Center
Business & Company Resource Center [UNT Libraries' subscription]
- Provides company and industry information for over 300,000 companies.
- Includes company profiles, industry rankings, & marketing information.
- Includes products, brands, investment ratings, financial ratios, financial statements, market size, & industries by SIC.
- Search by company name, industry, topic, or geography.
A Company name or Industry search will pull the latest information drawn from the following databases:
American Wholesalers and Distributors Directory
Brands and Their Companies
Business Rankings Annual, 2000 through Present
Consultants and Consulting Organizations Directory
Encyclopedia of American Industries
Encyclopedia of Associations: National Organizations of the U.S.
Encyclopedia of Associations: Regional, State, and Local Organizations
Encyclopedia of Associations: International Organizations
Encyclopedia of Emerging Industries
Encyclopedia of Global Industries
Graham and Whiteside Major Company Series
International Directory of Company Histories
Market Share Reporter
Notable Corporate Chronologies
Publishers Directory
Telecommunications Directory
Ward's Business Directory of U.S. Private and Public Companies
Ward's Business Directory of Private and Public Companies in Canada and Mexico
World Market Share Reporter
Need Help?
The UNT Libraries Government Documents staff is happy to answer your questions! Visit us on the 3rd Floor of Willis Library Government Documents Department, or call us at (940) 565-2870, or email us!
Dictionaries
Here are a list of recommended dictionaries. Some of these are available in print, electronically, or through the Internet.
- Blackwell Encyclopedic Dictionary of Business Ethics HF5387.B55 [location: General Reference shelves and UNT Dallas
Library; also accessible as an ebook through eBooks on Ebscohost] - Blackwell Encyclopedic Dictionary of International Management HD30.15.B456 [location: General Reference shelves and UNT Dallas Library; also accessible as an ebook through eBooks on Ebscohost]
- Blackwell Encyclopedic Dictionary of Managerial Economics HD30.22.B55 [location: General Reference shelves and UNT Dallas Library; also accessible as an ebook through eBooks on Ebscohost]
- Blackwell Encyclopedic Dictionary of Organizational Behavior HD58.7.B57 [location: General Reference shelves and UNT Dallas Library; also accessible as an ebook through eBooks on Ebscohost]
- Blackwell Encyclopedic Dictionary of Strategic Management HD30.28.B59 [location: General Reference shelves and UNT Dallas Library; also accessible as an ebook through eBooks on Ebscohost]
- For different practices or publishers such as marketing or Palgrave, consider using keyword search terms such as Accounting -- Dictionaries or New Palgrave Dictionaries to find more reference sources available to you.
Online Dictionaries
-
Business Dictionaries [Libraryspot.com] - This site provides glossaries of business, finance, investment, and economics.
-
Business Dictionaries and Encyclopedias [Answers.com] This site provides dictionaries and encyclopedias for Accounting, Banking, Business, Economics, Finance, Investment, Insurance, Marketing, Real Estate, Small Business.
-
Credo Reference [UNT Libraries' subscription]
Contains thousands of reference ebooks, including dictionaries and encyclopedias on a wide variety of topics. -
New York Stock Exchange glossary of financial terms - Click GLOSSARY on the home page. A second window will open up. The financial glossary furnishes brief definitions.
-
Nolo.com [Everybody's Legal Dictionary] - This site furnishes definitions for over 1,000 legal terms. It also provides a legal encyclopedia with plain English articles about the most popular legal topics.
-
One Look Dictionaries: the faster finder - This site searches for words in over 600 web dictionaries.
-
Referenceforbusiness.com - Contents: Encyclopedia of Small Business, Encyclopedia of Business, Business Biographies, Business Plans, Encyclopedia of American Industries, Encyclopedia of Management, Company Histories, Leading American Businesses.
- Webopedia (internet.com) - Provides computer and Internet technology definitions.
Need Help?
The UNT Libraries Government Documents staff is happy to answer your questions! Visit us on the 3rd Floor of Willis Library Government Documents Department, or call us at (940) 565-2870, or email us!
Encyclopedias
Business Dictionaries, Encyclopedias, and Handbooks in the UNT Libraries--a selected list
- AMA Style Guide for Business Writing [accessible as an ebook through eBooks on Ebscohost]
- Blackwell Encyclopedic Dictionary of Business Ethics [accessible as an ebook through eBooks on Ebscohost]
- Blackwell Encyclopedic Dictionary of International Management [accessible as an ebook through eBooks on Ebscohost]
- Blackwell Encyclopedic Dictionary of Managerial Economics [accessible as an ebook through eBooks on Ebscohost]
- Blackwell Encyclopedic Dictionary of Organizational Behavior [accessible as an ebook through eBooks on Ebscohost]
- Blackwell Encyclopedic Dictionary of Strategic Management [accessible as an ebook through eBooks on Ebscohost]
- Business & Company Resource Center [UNT Libraries' Subscription]
Contains the latest information drawn from the following databases:
American Wholesalers and Distributors Directory
Brands and Their Companies
Business Rankings Annual, 2000 through Present
Consultants and Consulting Organizations Directory
Encyclopedia of American Industries
Encyclopedia of Associations: National Organizations of the U.S.
Encyclopedia of Associations: Regional, State, and Local Organizations
Encyclopedia of Associations: International Organizations
Encyclopedia of Emerging Industries
Encyclopedia of Global Industries
Graham and Whiteside Major Company Series
International Directory of Company Histories
Market Share Reporter
Notable Corporate Chronologies
Publishers Directory
Telecommunications Directory
Ward's Business Directory of U.S. Private and Public Companies
Ward's Business Directory of Private and Public Companies in Canada and Mexico
World Market Share Reporter
Online Encyclopedias:
- Business Dictionaries and Encyclopedias (Answers.com) - This site provides dictionaries and encyclopedias for Accounting, Banking, Business, Economics, Finance, Investment, Insurance, Marketing, Real Estate, and Small Business.
- Credo Reference [UNT Libraries' subscription]
Contains thousands of reference ebooks, including dictionaries and encyclopedias on a wide variety of topics. - Nolo.com [Everybody's Legal Dictionary]
This site furnishes definitions for over 1,000 legal terms. It also provides a legal encyclopedia with plain English articles about the most popular legal topics. - New York Stock Exchange glossary of financial terms
Click GLOSSARY on the home page. A second window will open up. The financial glossary furnishes brief definitions. - Referenceforbusiness.com - Contents: Encyclopedia of Small Business, Encyclopedia of Business, Business Biographies, Business Plans, Encyclopedia of American Industries, Encyclopedia of Management, Company Histories, Leading American Businesses.
- Webopedia (internet.com)
Provides computer and Internet technology definitions.
Need Help?
The UNT Libraries Government Documents staff is happy to answer your questions! Visit us on the 3rd Floor of Willis Library Government Documents Department, or call us at (940) 565-2870, or email us!
Guides and Handbooks
- Accountants' handbook. Vol. 1, Financial accounting and general topics
Available online through eBooks on Ebscohost. - AMA handbook of business letters
Available online through eBooks on Ebscohost. - Business Information Handbook
Available online through Gale's Virtual Reference Library. - Business Plans Handbook: A Compilation of Actual Business Plans Developed by Small Businesses throughout North America
Location: call number HD62.7.B865, Willis Library, 3rd floor, Government Documents / Business Reference [Also located at the Dallas Campus Library].
The last volume in the series indexes all the preceding volumes. Continuously updated. - Business Writer's Handbook
Location: call number HF5718.3 .A46, Willis Library, 3rd floor, Government Documents / Business Reference. - Complete handbook of business meetings
Available online through eBooks on Ebscohost. - Craighead's international business, travel, and relocation guide to ... countries
Location: call number HF5549.5.E56, Willis Library, 3rd floor Government Documents / Business Reference.
Covers up to 90 countries.
Country Orientation section contains geography, history, climate, and requirements to relocate.
Business Practices section covers business clothes, business appointments, pace of business, work ethic, business negotiations. - Economic indicators handbook
Location: call number HC101 .E385, Willis Library, 3rd floor, Government Documents / Business Reference.
This is a handbook of U.S. economic indicators. - Handbook for Memo Writing
Available online through eBooks on Ebscohost. - Handbook for Technical Writing
Available online through eBooks on Ebscohost. - How to research an old stock certificate [UNT Libraries subject guide]
These web sites cover getting started, company histories, corporate records, what is Scripophily, and fee-based services. - International finance and accounting handbook
Available online through eBooks on Ebscohost. - Kiss, bow, or shake hands
Willis Library, 1st Floor, RESERVE DESK, call number HF5389 .M67
This is the bestselling guide to doing business in more than 60 countries. - McGraw-Hill handbook of more business letters
Available online through eBooks on Ebscohost. - Media handbook: a complete guide to advertising media selection, planning
Available online through eBooks on Ebscohost.
Need Help?
The UNT Libraries Government Documents staff is happy to answer your questions! Visit us on the 3rd Floor of Willis Library Government Documents Department, or call us at (940) 565-2870, or email us!
Hoover's Online
Hoover's Online [UNT Libraries' subscription]
- Provides proprietary information on about 18,500 companies, 180,000 officers, and 600 industries.
- Furnishes access to additional information on nearly 13 million companies from leading providers such as Dun & Bradstreet.
- Use to create targeted contact lists and custom company reports.
- Import data into spreadsheets.
- Includes customizable news alerts and news coverage.
Need Help?
The UNT Libraries Government Documents staff is happy to answer your questions! Visit us on the 3rd Floor of Willis Library Government Documents Department, or call us at (940) 565-2870, or email us!
Reference USA
REFERENCE USA [UNT Libraries' Subscription]
Provides directory information for more than 12 million U.S. organizations.
The information is compiled from the following public sources:
- Yellow Page and Business White Pages.
- Annual reports.
- Chambers of Commerce.
- Quick Search: search by company name, city, and state.
- Custom Search: search by company name, yellow page heading, SIC number, geographic location, headquarters/branch, or by business sales volume.
- Use to compile lists of organizations..
Suggested search strategy
Sample topic: hospitals in the DFW area.
- First, under "select a database to search," choose "U.S. Businesses"
- Next, click Custom Search and click the Business Type/Keyword SIC and NAICS and the Metro Area boxes
- On the next screen, in the top SIC / NAICS box, type hospitals
- In the LOOKUP box, click hospitals (the code will be 8062-02)
- In the State box, select Texas
- In the Metro Area box, select Dallas-Fort Worth-Arlington, Texas
- Click View Results
- You will pull up a list of hospitals in the DFW area
- View either SUMMARY (list of hospitals) or DETAILS of particular hospitals
- As of June, 2010 there were 182 hospitals (32 with email addresses)
.
Note that Reference USA allows only 50 downloads/prints per search.
Need Help?
The UNT Libraries Government Documents staff is happy to answer your questions! Visit us on the 3rd Floor of Willis Library Government Documents Department, or call us at (940) 565-2870, or email us!
S&P Industry Surveys
Standard and Poor's Industry Surveys (available through Standard and Poor's NetAdvantage) [UNT Libraries' subscription]
Covers over fifty (50) of the largest North American and global industries. Each report includes the following sections:
- Current Environment
- Industry Trends
- How the Industry Operates
- Key Industry Ratios and Statistics
- How to Analyze a Company
- Glossary of Industry Terms
- Additional Industry Information
- References
- Comparative Company Financial Analysis.
Hint: Once in NetAdvanatage, go to the right-hand margin and click on "Industry Surveys." This enables you to browse all industries. Formats are either html viewable or pdf. Other options on the left-hand margin are Global Industry Surveys and Sub-Industry Review.
Need Help?
The UNT Libraries Government Documents staff is happy to answer your questions! Visit us on the 3rd Floor of Willis Library Government Documents Department, or call us at (940) 565-2870, or email us!