Articles
How to Find Articles

So you have a research topic but you don't know where to start? Check out the following links to get familiar with searching for articles. Once you are familiar with the general search options available, check out the Electronic Resources Page to find a specific database. I've listed some recommended databases that are accessible here or by clicking on the pages under the Articles tab.
Don't forget to use the UNT Libraries' iSearch (at the right) to find articles from multiple databases at the same time.
If you find that article you are looking for is not available online, don't be too concerned. Everything is not available electronically. With the title, issue number, year, and page numbers in hand, check out the UNT Library Catalog. Do a journal title search and check to see if our library holds a print copy. If not, you can put in a request from another library using our Interlibrary Loan ILLiad system.
Searching for Articles
- How to Find Journal Articles
- How to Find Specific Articles
- Core Business Journals
- Core Accounting Journals
Where's My Database?
Core Business Journals
Online editions may be located on:
- UNT Libraries'catalog http://iii.library.unt.edu/search/v
- Ejournals link on the Electronic Resources page http://dq4wu5nl3d.search.serialssolutions.com/
- Academy of Management Journal
- Academy of Management Review
- Administrative Science Quarterly
- American Business Law Journal
- Financial Review
- Financial Services Review
- Global Finance Journal
- Harvard Business Review
- Information and Organization
- Information Systems
- Information Systems Research
- INFORMS Journal on Computing
- International Insolvency Review
- International Review of Financial Analysis
- Journal of Accounting and Economics
- Journal of Business and Economic Statistics
- Journal of Consumer Research
- Journal of Corporate Finance
- Journal of Emerging Market Finance
- Journal of Finance
- Journal of Financial Economics
- Journal of Futures Markets
- Journal of Intellectual Capital
- Journal of International Business Studies
- Journal of International Financial Markets Institutions and Money
- Journal of International Money and Finance
- Journal of Marketing
- Journal of Marketing Research
- Journal of Money, Credit and Banking
- Journal of Multinational Financial Management
- Journal of Operations Management
- Journal of Risk and Uncertainty
- Journal on Computing
- Marketing Science
- Management Information Systems Quarterly
- Management Science
- Managerial Finance
- Manufacturing and Service Operations Management
- MIS Quarterly
- Operations Research
- Organization Science
- Pacific-Basin Finance Journal
- Production and Operations Management
- Property Management
- Review of Derivatives Research
- Review of Financial Studies
- Review of Quantitative Finance and Accounting
- Strategic Management Journal
- Transportation Journal
- Transportation Science
Core Accounting Journals
Online editions may be located on:
- UNT Libraries'catalog http://iii.library.unt.edu/search/v
- Ejournals link on the Electronic Resources page http://dq4wu5nl3d.search.serialssolutions.com/
- Abacus
- Accounting and Business Research
- Accounting and Finance
- Accounting and the Public Interest
- Accounting, Auditing, and Accountability Journal
- Accounting, Business and Financial History
- Accounting Historians Journal
- Accounting History
- Accounting Horizons
- Accounting, Management and Information Technologies
- Accounting, Organizations and Society
- Accounting Review
- Advances in Accounting
- Advances in International Accounting
- Auditing: A Journal of Practice and Behavioral
- British Accounting Review
- Contemporary Accounting Research
- Critical Perspectives on Accounting
- CPA Journal
- CPA Letter
- European Accounting Review
- Financial Accountability and Management
- Intelligent Systems in Accounting, Finance and Management
- International Journal of Accounting
- International Journal of Accounting Information Systems
- International Journal of Auditing
- International Journal of Intelligent Systems in Accounting, Finance and Management
- International Tax and Public Finance
- Issues in Accounting Research
- Journal of Accountancy
- Journal of Accounting and Economics
- Journal of Accounting and Public Policy
- Journal of Accounting, Auditing, and Finance
- Journal of Accounting Education
- Journal of Accounting Literature
- Journal of Accounting Research
- Journal of Business Finance & Accounting
- Journal of Corporate Accounting and Finance
- Journal of Information Systems
- Journal of International Accounting Auditing and Taxation
- Journal of International Accounting Research
- Journal of Management Accounting Research
- Journal of the American Taxation Association
- Management Accounting Research
- Managerial Auditing Journal
- The National Public Accountant
- National Tax Journal
- The Practical Accountant
- Public Budgeting and Finance
- Research in Accounting
- Review of Accounting Studies
- Review of Quantitative Finance and Accounting
- Strategic Finance
ABI/Inform
ABI/INFORM: Full Text, Cover-to-Cover Business Articles Online
Can't find solid information about a business paper or project? Consider searching Proquest's ABI/Inform, providing full text cover-to-cover coverage for journals in the business and management areas in a variety of formats including full text pdf, html, and image pages. Featuring over 2800 (1920 available in full-text) of the top business publications, ABI/Inform has been consistently the gold standard for business information.
In ABI/Inform, you can search by publication, keyword, topic, or use a guide search using boolean operators to find articles of interest. Once discovered, articles can be downloaded, emailed or printed and can be accessed from any computer at anytime, 24 hours a day.
Some of the titles you can find in ABI/Inform include:
-
Academy of Management Journal
-
Foreign Affairs
-
Nation’s Business
-
Thunderbird International Business Review
-
Journal of Marketing
Contact the subject librarian Jeffrey Levy at jeffrey.levy@unt.edu or instant message him using Meebo. If unavailable, don't forget to Ask a Librarian using virtual reference chat, email, phone, or visit a reference desk to learn more about ABI/Inform.
NOTE: If you are unable to view results beyond the first page, Click on Tools-Internet Options--Delete Files. Click Settings to be sure "Automatically"" is checked.
Business Source Complete
Business Source Complete
Business Source Complete via Ebscohost provides full text and abstracts of articles in journals, magazines, newspapers and periodicals covering a wide range of topics in business and industry. For best remote access, use Internet Explorer or FireFox.
Business Source Complete is a scholarly business database, providing an extensive collection of bibliographic and full text content.
-
As part of the comprehensive coverage offered by this database, indexing and abstracts for the most important scholarly business journals are included.
-
Searchable cited references provided for more than 1,200 journals
-
detailed author profiles for the 20,000 most-cited authors in the database.
-
Additional full text, non-journal content includes financial data, books, monographs, major reference works, book digests, conference proceedings, case studies, investment research reports, industry reports, market research reports, country reports, company profiles, SWOT analyses and more.
Business & Company Resource Center
Business & Company Resource Center
Business & Company Resource Center (Business and Company Resource Center) provides company and industry information for over 300,000 companies. Includes company profiles, industry rankings, marketing information, products, brands, investment ratings, financial ratios, financial statements, market size, industries by SIC, directory information, and more. You may search by company name, industry, or topic. A geographical search option supplements the familiar keyword search option.
Hoover's Online
Hoover's Online
Provides proprietary information on about 18,500 companies, 180,000 officers, and 600 industries. Furnishes access to additional information on nearly 13 million companies from leading providers such as Dun & Bradstreet. Provides advanced tools to create targeted contact lists, custom company reports, and additional tools to locate hard-to-reach small businesses. Provides an information download tool allowing users to import data into spreadsheets, CRMs, and other software for in-depth analysis of companies, competitors, and customers. Includes customizable news alerts and news coverage from top wire services.
NOTE: Online resource only available to UNT students, staff, and faculty. Access for guests is on-campus only.
Predicast's PROMT
PROMT -- Predicast Overview of Markets and Technology. Use this database to research companies, the products and technologies they produce, and the markets in which they compete. Includes summaries and full text from nearly 1,000 business and trade journals, industry newsletters, newspapers, market research studies, news releases, and investment and brokerage firm reports. A large number of industries, activities, and organizations are covered; it even includes cultural and not-for-profit organizations.
NOTE: Online resource only available to UNT students, staff, and faculty. Access for guests is on-campus only.
Reference USA
Reference USA Business Database provides directory information for more than 12 million U.S. businesses. The information is compiled from the following public sources: more than 5,600 Yellow Page and Business White page telephone directories; annual reports, 10-Ks, other financial information provided by the SEC, Chamber of Commerce information, and other sources. Quick Search: search by company name, city, and state. Custom Search: search by company name, yellow page heading, SIC number, geographic location, headquarters/branch, or by business sales volume. It is possible to compile lists of companies for projects in Marketing, Finance; or for company and industry analysis.
NOTE: Online resource only available to UNT students, staff, and faculty. Access for guests is on-campus only.
