Skip to content. | Skip to navigation

Sections
Home Research Tools Subject Guides Biology Websites
Document Actions

Websites

Biographical Resources

Single Biographies

The Complete Work of Charles Darwin Online (Darwin Online)

The website is a comprehensive collection of Darwin's publications and unpublished papers, including 43,000 pages of searchable text and 150,000 electronic images. Darwin's works are also available as free downloadable mp3 audio files. The collection also includes reviews of Darwin's works and recollections of the man. The University of Cambridge sponsors the project.


Darwin Correspondence Project

The University of Cambridge and its partners have preserved 14,500 of Darwin's letters online. The letters to over 2000 correspondents are fully-searchable. Darwin used letters to collect data and discuss concepts, so the content has scientific as well as biographical significance. Each letter has footnotes to identify people and explain obscure references.

 

Collective Biographies

Biographical Memoirs of National Academy of Sciences Members

Deceased members of the Academy are remembered in biographies written by those who knew them or their work. Eventually 900 memoirs will be posted as pdf files at this site. Included in the collection are biographies of Linus Pauling, Barbara McClintock, William McElroy, and many more.

 

 

Current Awareness

Book Announcements and Reviews

Dover Books

Biology and medicine books from Dover Publishers. Tending towards "general" biology books, this site provides brief descriptions.

John Wiley: Life Sciences

Wiley's online bookstore, featuring book and periodical descriptions and access to tables of contents.

New York Review of Books

Free of charge to browse reviews from 1967 to present, although viewing the entire text of reviews older than one month requires a subscription.

Science Magazine

See the titles reviewed in the most current issue of Science Magazine.

Springer: Biomedical Sciences

A list of new books from Springer publishers. May have reviews or just a description. Can search entire catalog from this site.

return to top

Journal Alerts and RSS Feeds

Use these services to have the latest news from databases and websites sent to your desktop.

Email Alerting Services

Register for  the search, citation and journal alerts provided by the databases at the UNT Libraries.

RSS Feeds

Find out what RSS feeds are and how to subscribe to them.

 return to top

 

 

 

 

Grants and Scholarships

Grants

Community of Science

Search a database of over 400,000 funding opportunities.

GrantsNet

A free database of funding opportunities sponsored by Science Magazine and the American Association for the Advancement of Science.

National Science Foundation

Search NSF's database of competitive grants and cooperative agreements for scientific research.

NIH Guide for Grants and Contracts

Search the National Institute of Health's database of funding opportunities.

 

Scholarships

Collegeboard.com's Scholarship Search

Use this free service to find scholarships that match your personal profile.

FastWeb Scholarship Search

Create an account with FastWeb and do free searches of both scholarships and colleges/universities.

Document Actions

Scholarship Research Network Express

Do free searches of over 8,000 scholarship programs for undergraduate and postgraduate students.

U.S. News and World Report Guide to Scholarships

The 2005 article describes different categories of scholarships and how to apply for them.

Portals and Search Engines

The Academy of Natural Sciences, Library, Internet Resource Links

This collection of links provides access to numerous biodiversity and environmental biology sites, many of which are government sponsored.

AgNIC

The Agriculture Network Information Center is a guide to quality agricultural information on the Internet as selected by the National Agricultural Library, Land-Grant Universities, and other institutions.

BioMed Central Databases

A searchable catalog of 1100 biomedical sites, most of which are freely accessible. The catalog is provided by the open access publisher, BioMed Central.

MedBioWorld

A medical and bioscience reference and resource directory with over 35,000 links. It provides access to free articles and books, dictionaries, glossaries, specialized search engines, agencies, organizations and more.

Science.gov

A portal to science information from over 1850 U.S. government agencies. Search individual agency websites or topic areas, or do a customized federated search.

WorldWideScience.org

A portal to open access science resources around the world, including the Australian Antarctic Data Centre, the Canada Institute for Scientific and Technical Information, NARCIS from the Netherlands and Vascoda from Germany. The site provides federated searching of the national and international databases. The U.S. Department of Energy's Office of Scientific and Technical Information and the British Library developed WorldWideScience.org.

Yahoo! Biology Directory

Hundreds of links to biology-related websites.

Info

Looking for journal articles? 

Try out our new Find Articles (Beta) search! 

Don't forget to let us know what you think about it.

 

Erin O'Toole

Contact Info

Sycamore Hall
Room 106
Eagle Commons Library
940-891-6750
erin.otoole@unt.edu

Email me!

Other pages by me


UNT and State of Texas: UNT | UNT Search | UNT News and Events | State of Texas | State-wide Search

Policies: UNT Web Accessibility Policy | AA/EOE/ADA | Privacy Statement | Disclaimer

1155 Union Circle #305190
Denton , TX 76203-5017
(940) 565-2413

Locations, Maps, and Shipping.

Credits
Government Information Connection
The UNT Libraries are on Facebook