Skip to content. | Skip to navigation

Sections
Home Research Tools Subject Guides Biology Reference Sources Handbooks and Field Guides
Document Actions

Biology

Handbooks and Field Guides

Online

American Society of Mammalogists: Mammalian Species

This website contains 700+ highly detailed accounts of mammals, including general characters, distribution, behavior, reproduction, ecology and more.

Avibase

A database containing over 1.6 million records of information about ~10,000 species of birds from around the world. Avibase is hosted by Bird Studies Canada, the Canadian copartner of Birdlife International.

A Field Guide to Common Texas Insects

This website is hosted by Texas A&M University's Department of Entomology, and contains detailed descriptions of species, high-quality images and characteristics of insect orders.

FishBase

A database of over 28,000 species of fish.

National Plants Database

A service of the US Department of Agriculture, it includes names, plant symbols, checklists, distributional data, species abstracts, characteristics, images, plant links, references, crop information, and automated tools.

Plants for a Future: Edible, Medicinal and Useful Plants for a Healthier World

Plants for a Future, a registered charitable company in England and Wales, provides a database of over 7000 plants. There are multiple ways to search the database: common name, botanical name, medicinal use, edible use, habitats and more. Search limiters include deciduous/evergreen, height, width and growth rate.

 

return to top

Print

Most of these print resources are shelved in the Reference area on the first floor of the Eagle Commons Library in Sycamore Hall. Handbooks and field guides can be used in the library only.

General:                                  

  • Beacham's guide to the endangered species of North America. Edited by Walton Beacham, Frank V. Castronova, Suzanne Sessine. EAGLE COMMONS REFERENCE QH77.N56 B43 2001 

  • The Oryx Guide to Natural History.  By Patricia Barnes-Svarney and Thomas E. Svarney. EAGLE COMMONS REFERENCE QH45.2 .B32 1999 

Arthropods: 

  • American insects : a handbook of the insects of America north of Mexico.
    Ross H. Arnett, Jr. EAGLE COMMONS REFERENCE QL474 .A76 2000

  • Insects of the world. Anthony Wootton. EAGLE COMMONS REFERENCE QL463 .W876 1984

return to top

Biochemistry: 

  • Handbook of Metalloproteins. Edited by Albrecht Messerschmidt. EAGLE COMMONS REFERENCE QP552.M46 H363 2001

  • Handbook of Proteomic Methods.  Edited by P. Michael Conn.  EAGLE COMMONS REFERENCE QP551 .H33 2003 

Birds:                                            

  • Birds of Texas : a field guide. John H. Rappole and Gene W. Blacklock. EAGLE COMMONS LIBRARY QL684.T4 R365 1994

  • The Sibley Guide to Birds. By David Sibley. EAGLE COMMONS REFERENCE  QL681 .S497 2000 

Cell Biology: 

  • Handbook of Stem Cells. Edited by Robert P. Lanza. EAGLE COMMONS REFERENCE QH588.S83 H36 2004

return to top

Fish: 

  • Fishes of the Gulf of Mexico, Texas, Louisiana, and adjacent waters. H. Dickson Hoese and Richard H. Moore. EAGLE COMMONS REFERENCE QL621.56 .H63 1998

  • Fishes of the central United States. Joseph R. Tomelleri and Mark E. Eberle. EAGLE COMMONS REFERENCE QL628.M53 T66 1990

Invertebrates:

  • Common and scientific names of aquatic invertebrates from the United States and Canada: Crustaceans. Donna D. Turgeon, chair ; Patsy A. McLaughlin, Jr. [et al.]. EAGLE COMMONS REFERENCE QL441 .1.A1C6 2005

Microbiology: 

  • Bergey's Manual of Systemic Bacteriology. Edited by George M. Garrity.  EAGLE COMMONS REFERENCE QR81 .B46 2001 

  • Handbook of Microbiological Media. By Ronald M. Atlas.  EAGLE COMMONS REFERENCE QR66.3 .A85 2004

return to top

 

This page is maintained by Erin O'Toole last modified Tuesday, July 26, 2011. 05:52 PM
Info

Looking for journal articles? 

Try out our new Find Articles (Beta) search! 

Don't forget to let us know what you think about it.

 

Erin O'Toole

Contact Info

Sycamore Hall
Room 106
Eagle Commons Library
940-891-6750
erin.otoole@unt.edu

Email me!

Other pages by me


UNT and State of Texas: UNT | UNT Search | UNT News and Events | State of Texas | State-wide Search

Policies: UNT Web Accessibility Policy | AA/EOE/ADA | Privacy Statement | Disclaimer

1155 Union Circle #305190
Denton , TX 76203-5017
(940) 565-2413

Locations, Maps, and Shipping.

Credits
Government Information Connection
The UNT Libraries are on Facebook