Reference Sources
Abbreviations and Acronyms
Online
Biological Journals and Abbreviations
A list of the abbreviated forms of biological journal names and their corresponding full titles.
Dictionaries
Online
A glossary of terms essential to understanding molecular biology and its methods. Helpful diagrams are included. The glossary was compiled by Dr. Robert H. Lyons, Director of the University of Michigan DNA Sequencing Core.
These print resources are found in the Reference area on the first floor of the Eagle Commons Library in Sycamore Hall. The dictionaries can be used in the library only.
The American Heritage Science Dictionary. EAGLE COMMONS REFERENCE Q123 .A5178 2005
The Facts on File Dictionary of Biochemistry. Edited by John Daintith. EAGLE COMMONS REFERENCE QP512 .F33 2003
The Facts on File Dictionary of Biology. Edited by Robert Hine. EAGLE COMMONS REFERENCE QH302.5 .F38 2005
The Facts on File Dictionary of Cell and Molecular Biology. Edited by Robert Hine. EAGLE COMMONS REFERENCE QH575 .F33 2003
The Facts on File Dictionary of Ecology and the Environment. Edited by Jill Bailey. EAGLE COMMONS REFERENCE QH540.4 .F35 2004
Encyclopedias
Online
AccessScience is the fully-searchable, full text version of the latest edition of the McGraw-Hill Encyclopedia of Science and Technology. Also contains "Research Updates" - new trends and developments in science and technology from the McGraw-Hill Yearbooks of Science & Technology. Provides links to reviewed web sites and offers learning guides.
Print
These print resources are found in the Reference area on the first floor of the Eagle Commons Library in Sycamore Hall. The encyclopedias can be used in the library only.
The Encyclopedia of Animals. Edited by Harold G. Cogger et al. EAGLE COMMONS REFERENCE QL7 .E53 2002
Encyclopedia of Animal Behavior. Edited by Marc Bekoff. EAGLE COMMONS REFERENCE QL750.3 .E53 2004
Encyclopedia of Endangered Species. EAGLE COMMONS REFERENCE QH75.A1 E53
Encyclopedia of Environmental Studies. Edited by William Ashworth and Charles E. Little. EAGLE COMMONS REFERENCE TD9 .A84 2001
Encyclopedia of Genetics, Genomics, Proteomics and Bioinformatics. Edited by Lynn B. Jorde. EAGLE COMMONS REFERENCE QH431 .E62 2005
Encyclopedia of Human Biology. Edited by Renato Dulbecco. EAGLE COMMONS REFERENCE QP11 .E53 1997
Encyclopedia of Microbiology. Edited by Joshua Lederberg. EAGLE COMMONS REFERENCE QR9 .E53 2000
Encyclopedia of Molecular Biology. Thomas E. Creighton. EAGLE COMMONS REFERENCE QH506 .C74 1999
Life on Earth: An Encyclopedia of Biodiversity, Ecology, and Evolution. Edited by Niles Eldredge. EAGLE COMMONS REFERENCE QH541.15.B56 L54 2002
Water Encyclopedia. Edited by Jay H. Lehr and Jack Keeley. EAGLE COMMONS REFERENCE TD345 .L393 2005
Handbooks and Field Guides
Online
American Society of Mammalogists: Mammalian Species
This website contains 700+ highly detailed accounts of mammals, including general characters, distribution, behavior, reproduction, ecology and more.
A database containing over 1.6 million records of information about ~10,000 species of birds from around the world. Avibase is hosted by Bird Studies Canada, the Canadian copartner of Birdlife International.
A Field Guide to Common Texas Insects
This website is hosted by Texas A&M University's Department of Entomology, and contains detailed descriptions of species, high-quality images and characteristics of insect orders.
A database of over 28,000 species of fish.
A service of the US Department of Agriculture, it includes names, plant symbols, checklists, distributional data, species abstracts, characteristics, images, plant links, references, crop information, and automated tools.
Plants for a Future: Edible, Medicinal and Useful Plants for a Healthier World
Plants for a Future, a registered charitable company in England and Wales, provides a database of over 7000 plants. There are multiple ways to search the database: common name, botanical name, medicinal use, edible use, habitats and more. Search limiters include deciduous/evergreen, height, width and growth rate.
Most of these print resources are shelved in the Reference area on the first floor of the Eagle Commons Library in Sycamore Hall. Handbooks and field guides can be used in the library only.
General:
-
Beacham's guide to the endangered species of North America. Edited by Walton Beacham, Frank V. Castronova, Suzanne Sessine. EAGLE COMMONS REFERENCE QH77.N56 B43 2001
-
The Oryx Guide to Natural History. By Patricia Barnes-Svarney and Thomas E. Svarney. EAGLE COMMONS REFERENCE QH45.2 .B32 1999
Arthropods:
-
American insects : a handbook of the insects of America north of Mexico.
Ross H. Arnett, Jr. EAGLE COMMONS REFERENCE QL474 .A76 2000 -
Insects of the world. Anthony Wootton. EAGLE COMMONS REFERENCE QL463 .W876 1984
Biochemistry:
-
Handbook of Metalloproteins. Edited by Albrecht Messerschmidt. EAGLE COMMONS REFERENCE QP552.M46 H363 2001
-
Handbook of Proteomic Methods. Edited by P. Michael Conn. EAGLE COMMONS REFERENCE QP551 .H33 2003
Birds:
-
Birds of Texas : a field guide. John H. Rappole and Gene W. Blacklock. EAGLE COMMONS LIBRARY QL684.T4 R365 1994
-
The Sibley Guide to Birds. By David Sibley. EAGLE COMMONS REFERENCE QL681 .S497 2000
Cell Biology:
-
Handbook of Stem Cells. Edited by Robert P. Lanza. EAGLE COMMONS REFERENCE QH588.S83 H36 2004
Fish:
-
Fishes of the Gulf of Mexico, Texas, Louisiana, and adjacent waters. H. Dickson Hoese and Richard H. Moore. EAGLE COMMONS REFERENCE QL621.56 .H63 1998
-
Fishes of the central United States. Joseph R. Tomelleri and Mark E. Eberle. EAGLE COMMONS REFERENCE QL628.M53 T66 1990
Invertebrates:
-
Common and scientific names of aquatic invertebrates from the United States and Canada: Crustaceans. Donna D. Turgeon, chair ; Patsy A. McLaughlin, Jr. [et al.]. EAGLE COMMONS REFERENCE QL441 .1.A1C6 2005
Microbiology:
-
Bergey's Manual of Systemic Bacteriology. Edited by George M. Garrity. EAGLE COMMONS REFERENCE QR81 .B46 2001
-
Handbook of Microbiological Media. By Ronald M. Atlas. EAGLE COMMONS REFERENCE QR66.3 .A85 2004