Skip to content. | Skip to navigation

Sections
Home Research Tools Subject Guides Biology Books eBooks
Document Actions

Biology

eBooks

EBook Collections

The University of North Texas Libraries subscribe to a number of electronic book collections. You can go directly to them through the links below, or through our Electronic Resources webpage, if you choose. Once in the collection, use the resource's search features to find a book related to your topic.

 

Gale Virtual Reference Library

Provides searchable access to the full text of selected reference ebooks, including Encyclopedia of Science, Technology & Ethics, and Who's Buying Transportation and the rest of the Who's Buying Series, which provides consumer statistics.

 

Idea Group Publications

The Idea Group Publications consist of 8 encyclopedias and handbooks about knowledge and research in the areas of information science and information technologies. The titles include Encyclopedia of Developing Regional Communities Using Communication and Technology and Handbook of Research on Electronic Surveys and Measurements.

 

Lecture Notes in Computer Science

Lecture Notes in Computer Science (LNCS), including its subseries Lecture Notes in Artificial Intelligence (LNAI) and Lecture Notes in Bioinformatics (LNBI), has established itself as a medium for the publication of new developments in computer science and information technology research and teaching - quickly, informally, and at a high level. The UNT Library has access to all issues in electronic full-text format from 1997-current.

return to top

National Academies Press

National Academies Press is the publisher for reports produced by the National Academy of Sciences, the National Academy of Engineering, the Institute of Medicine and the National Research Council. Over 3000 titles at this site are online for free, including new releases. To identify a full-text book, select a title link and look at the top left for the red tab labeled, "Read This Book Online, Free!"

 

eBooks on Ebscohost

You can search for ebooks in the UNT Library Catalog if you wish. Please see the directions below.

Contains over 50,000 electronic books you can read online.

 

Oxford Reference Online

The Oxford Reference Online premium edition provides fulltext access to numerous dictionaries and encyclopedias by Oxford University Press.

Click on "Subject Reference - Biological Sciences" to see the list of biology reference works.

return to top

Safari Tech Books Online

You can search for Safari Tech Books Online through the UNT Library Catalog if you wish. Please see the directions below.

Safari Tech Books online is a catalog of technical books available in electronic format. A number of titles are available in full text covering aspects of Information Technology and Computer Science.  Access is limited to four users at a time, so please try again later if access is denied. Because UNT does not have full-text access to all titles, you will need to check the "My Books" button to assure full text access. UNT currently subscribes to about 600 full text titles generally dating from 2001 to current (though some "classic" older materials as still available). Email rwallace@library.unt.edu with questions, comments, or requests for additions.

return to top

Finding Electronic Books in the UNT Library Catalog

Please follow these steps to find eBooks on EbscoHost or Safari Tech Books Online:

  1. Perform a title search or a keyword search in the UNT Library Catalog.
  2. Browse through the results list, looking at the "Medium" icons on the right. The icon for an ebook is a book with a floppy disc in front of it.
  3. Click on the title link of the book.
  4. On the next screen, you'll see a link about midpage that says "An electronic book accessible through . . . ." Click on that link.
  5. Now you'll be in one of our collection of ebooks, and can view the book.

 

If you prefer, you can do an Advanced Keyword Search in the UNT Library Catalog and limit your results to ebooks only by following these steps:

  1. Go to the Advanced Keyword Search in the UNT Library Catalog.
  2. Look for the "Material Type" drop-down menu on the lower half of the page. Select the first "EBOOKS" in the list.
  3. Do the search of your choice at the top of the screen. All of the results should be ebooks.

return to top

 

 

 

This page is maintained by Erin O'Toole last modified Thursday, July 28, 2011. 03:32 PM
Info

Looking for journal articles? 

Try out our new Find Articles (Beta) search! 

Don't forget to let us know what you think about it.

 

Erin O'Toole

Contact Info

Sycamore Hall
Room 106
Eagle Commons Library
940-891-6750
erin.otoole@unt.edu

Email me!

Other pages by me


UNT and State of Texas: UNT | UNT Search | UNT News and Events | State of Texas | State-wide Search

Policies: UNT Web Accessibility Policy | AA/EOE/ADA | Privacy Statement | Disclaimer

1155 Union Circle #305190
Denton , TX 76203-5017
(940) 565-2413

Locations, Maps, and Shipping.

Credits
Government Information Connection
The UNT Libraries are on Facebook