Skip to content. | Skip to navigation

Sections
Home Research Tools Subject Guides Biology Articles Proceedings
Document Actions

Biology

Proceedings

What Are Proceedings?

Proceedings are the official record of a conference, usually held by an association or organization. The proceedings may include contributed papers, abstracts of papers or presentations, and other types of documents.

Articles or papers from conference proceedings can be more difficult to find than journal articles because they are not indexed in as many resources, and often the official title of the conference is difficult to identify.

Recommended Resources for Finding Articles/Papers

If a conference paper is not full-text in a resource below, please check the UNT Library Catalog to see if it is available in print. An author search for the organization usually works best.

Please contact Ask Us whenever you have difficulty finding a conference proceeding.

AGRICOLA

AGRICOLA (AGRICultural OnLine Access) via EbsoHost serves as the catalog and index to the collections of the National Agricultural Library, as well as a primary public source for world-wide access to agricultural information. Journal articles, books, conference proceedings, and technical reports are included in Agricola. The earliest information is from the 15th century. Information contained in Agricola covers all aspects of agriculture and allied disciplines.

BIOSIS Previews

Biosis Previews is the premier database for Biology and related disciplines, and replaces Biological Abstracts and Biological Abstracts RRM. Coverage is from 1989 and includes journal articles, proceedings, and patents.

Directory of Published Proceedings: DOPP

An open access resource useful for locating and procuring published conference proceedings.

PapersFirst via FirstSearch

PapersFirst via FirstSearch contains citations of papers presented at worldwide meetings, conferences, expositions, workshops, congresses, and symposia.

ProceedingsFirst via FirstSearch

ProceedingsFirst via FirstSearch cites over 19,000 articles published in printed reports of congresses, conferences, etc. received by the British Library; international in scope.

Web of Science

Web of Science service provides web access to the following citation indexes from 1995 to the present: Science Citation Index; Social Sciences Citation Index; and Arts & Humanities Citation Index. These resources enable the user to identify related writings (periodical articles, reviews, conference proceedings, etc.) by indicating sources in which a known article by a given author has been cited.

 

This page is maintained by Erin O'Toole last modified Friday, August 06, 2010. 12:01 PM
Info

Looking for journal articles? 

Try out our new Find Articles (Beta) search! 

Don't forget to let us know what you think about it.

 

Erin O'Toole

Contact Info

Sycamore Hall
Room 106
Eagle Commons Library
940-891-6750
erin.otoole@unt.edu

Email me!

Other pages by me


UNT and State of Texas: UNT | UNT Search | UNT News and Events | State of Texas | State-wide Search

Policies: UNT Web Accessibility Policy | AA/EOE/ADA | Privacy Statement | Disclaimer

1155 Union Circle #305190
Denton , TX 76203-5017
(940) 565-2413

Locations, Maps, and Shipping.

Credits
Government Information Connection
The UNT Libraries are on Facebook