Skip to content. | Skip to navigation

Sections
Home Research Tools Subject Guides Biographies
Document Actions

Biographies

Introduction

Welcome to the Biographies Subject Guide!

This is the place to learn about:

  • doing library research for biographical information
  • finding biographical information on specific groups of people (Presidents, prominent women, authors, etc.)

Contact Information

My name is Erin O'Toole. I'm the library liaison for the Biology and Geography departments. If you have questions, please contact me in the manner most convenient to you. I'm frequently out of my office, so if you'd like to meet in person, please make an appointment with me first.

Phone: 940-891-6750

Email: erin.otoole@unt.edu

IM: enter Meebo at the right when I'm online

Office: Willis Library, Room 155

Starting Points

How do you get started doing library research on a biographical topic?

  1. Reference Sources. If you have little or no familiarity with your topic, encyclopedias and biographical dictionaries are a good place to start. They can give you the background on a topic, the historical research in the area, and potential keywords for your catalog and database searches.
  2. Books. Search in the UNT Library Catalog for books. They will give you an in-depth coverage of a topic that is usually broad in scope. The information in a biographical book usually covers a very specific date range and/or group of people. Check the title page or index of a book to see if a particular aspect is covered and on which pages. The UNT Libraries provide access to numerous ebooks through netLibrary (see tutorial for assistance) and other ebook collections.
  3. Articles. Search in electronic databases, both general and subject specific, for journal articles about your topic. Articles are the most current source of peer-reviewed information and are narrow in scope, with the exception of literature reviews. Visit the Electronic Resources page and type "biography" or "biographies" into the search box (each term will give different results).  Also search within subject specific databases for biographical information on individuals in that field.  Read the descriptions to find out the time coverage, subject coverage and availability of full text in the databases.
  4. Websites. Use a search engine (see list here) to find websites, which provide the most current information and hard-to-find information. Beware - you must evaluate a site for credibility, authority and accuracy before using it as a reference for your research. Learn how to evaluate a website here.

return to top

 


This page is maintained by Erin O'Toole last modified Saturday, June 04, 2011. 01:59 PM
Contributors: Many thanks to Graduate Library Assistant Ryan Cassidy for creating this subject guide in Fall 2009.
Info

The UNT Libraries will be closed Saturday, May 26 through Monday, May 28 for the Memorial Day weekend. The Libraries will reopen during regular building hours on Tuesday, May 29.

Looking for journal articles? 

Try out our new Find Articles (Beta) search! 

Don't forget to let us know what you think about it.

 

Erin O'Toole

Contact Info

Sycamore Hall
Room 106
Eagle Commons Library
940-891-6750
erin.otoole@unt.edu

Email me!

Other pages by me


UNT and State of Texas: UNT | UNT Search | UNT News and Events | State of Texas | State-wide Search

Policies: UNT Web Accessibility Policy | AA/EOE/ADA | Privacy Statement | Disclaimer

1155 Union Circle #305190
Denton , TX 76203-5017
(940) 565-2413

Locations, Maps, and Shipping.

Credits
Government Information Connection
The UNT Libraries are on Facebook