Articles
Electronic Resources
How to Access Electronic Resources
Academic Search Complete
Academic Search Complete is a scholarly collection providing full text journal coverage for nearly all academic areas of study - including social sciences, humanities, education, computer sciences, engineering, language and linguistics, arts & literature, medical sciences, and ethnic studies, etc. Full text for nearly 4,600 scholarly publications, coverage dating back to 1975. EBSCOhost database by way of TexShare.
AccessScience
AccessScience is the fully-searchable, full text version of the latest edition of the McGraw-Hill Encyclopedia of Science and Technology. Also contains "Research Updates" - new trends and developments in science and technology from the McGraw-Hill Yearbooks of Science & Technology. Provides links to reviewed web sites and offers learning guides.
Biosis Previews via ISI
Biosis Previews is the premier database for Biology and related disciplines, and replaces Biological Abstracts and Biological Abstracts RRM. Coverage is from 1989 and includes journal articles, proceedings, and patents. Limited to 8 simultaneous users.
Cambridge Scientific Abstracts
Cambridge Scientific Abstracts contains the following databases, that can be searched separately or as a group: ARTbibliographies Modern, Computer & Information Systems Abstracts, Computer Abstracts International, Electronics & Communications Abstracts, Solid State and Superconductivity Abstracts, Ceramics Abstracts/World Ceramic Abstracts, LISA: Library and Information Science Abstracts, Design & Applied Arts Index, Sociological Abstracts, Linguistics & Language Behavior Abstracts (LLBA), ERIC, Social Services Abstracts, Criminal Justice Abstracts, and Worldwide Political Science Abstracts.
Communication and Mass Media Complete
Abstracts of journal articles, handbooks and recent encyclopedias in communication & mass media made available on Ebscohost interface. Created by the merger of CommSearch and Mass Media Articles Index. Full-text when available.
Communication Sciences and Disorders Information Services
ComDisDome is a unique refereed resource for the field of Speech Language Pathology and Audiology. Search from journal articles, books and selected Web resources. Obtain detailed profiles of educational and research institutions and contact information for others working on your research interests.
Credo Reference
Credo Reference provides fulltext information from encyclopedias, handbooks and other high quality sources from all disciplines.
ECO - Electronic Collections Online
ECO - Electronic Collections Online provides over 600 full text journals spanning many academic disciplines. In the area of Business, ECO includes management, economics, finance, accounting, marketing, international business, and technology.
Education Research CompleteTopics covered include all levels of education from early childhood to higher education, and all educational specialties, such as multilingual education, health education, and testing. Education Research Complete provides indexing and abstracts for more than 1,500 journals, as well as full text for more than 750 journals, and includes full text for more than 100 books and monographs, and for numerous education-related conference papers.
ERIC via FirstSearch
(FirstSearch version) Premier national bibliographic database of education literature. ERIC consists of two files: Resources in Education, covering the document literature, and Current Index to Journals in Education, covering published journal literature from over 1000 periodicals.
ERIC via EBSCOhost
(EBSCOhost version) Premier national bibliographic database of education literature. ERIC consists of two files: Resources in Education, covering the document literature, and Current Index to Journals in Education, covering published journal literature from over 1000 periodicals.
ERIC via CSA
(CSA version) Premier national bibliographic database of education literature. ERIC consists of two files: Resources in Education, covering the document literature, and Current Index to Journals in Education, covering published journal literature from over 1000 periodicals.
ERIC
ERIC database freely available on the Web.
Gale Virtual Reference Library
Provides searchable access to the full text of selected reference ebooks, including Cambridge Guide to Children's Books in English, Encyclopedia of Science & Religion, Encyclopedia of Science Technology & Ethics, Encyclopedia of Sociology, Gale Encyclopedia of Neurological Disorders, and World of Forensic Science.
Health and Psychosocial Instruments: HaPI
HaPI is limited to 10 users at a time
HaPI abstracts information about questionaires, interview schedules, coding schemes, rating and other scales, and tests. Many of these instruments are not formally published and can only be found in journal articles on clinical medicine and the behavioral sciences. Helps students and researchers identify tools useful to their research.
Kraus Curriculum Development Library Online (KCDL online)
Kraus Curriculum Development Library Online indexes curricula from state departments of education, school districts, individual schools, regional educational consortia, special projects within colleges and universities, governmental agencies, and professional association.
Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts (LLBA) via CSA
CSA Linguistics & Language Behavior Abstracts (LLBA) assists both generalists and specialists in keeping abreast of cutting-edge developments in disciplines concerned with the nature and use of language. The database covers all aspects of the study of language including phonetics, phonology, morphology, syntax and semantics. Complete coverage is also given to various fields of linguistics including descriptive, historical, comparative, theoretical and geographical linguistics. Coverage begins with 1973.
Mental Measurements Yearbook via Ebsco
Limited to 4 users at a time.
Mental Measurements Yearbook contains full-text information about and reviews of all English-language standardized test covering education skills, personality, vocational aptitude, psychology, and related areas.
MEDLINE via EBSCOhost
MEDLINE via EBSCOhost (Med Line) provides authoritative medical information on medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, pre-clinical sciences, and much more. Created by the National Library of Medicine, MEDLINE uses (MeSH) indexing with tree numbers, tree hierarchy and explosion capabilities to search abstracts from over 4,000 current biomedical journals. Included are citations from Index Medicus, the International Nursing Index, Index to Dental Literature, PREMEDLINE, AIDSLINE, BIOETHICSLINE and HealthSTAR. A TexShare database.
MEDLINE - PubMed
Medline-PubMed, (Medline - Pub Med, Medline - PubMed, Med Line) maintained by the National Library of Medicine, provides abstracts for journal articles covering the broad realm of biomedical literature covered in MEDLINE, PreMEDLINE, and HEALTHSTAR and through publisher-supplied citations. Daily updating of records. Search terms automatically use MESH headings as well as keyword searching. Free database with no restrictions to access.
MEDLINE Plus
MEDLINEplus (Medline Plus) (Med Line) provides up-to-date full-text health care information from the National Library of Medicine for both health professionals and consumers. Covers nearly any medical topic. Includes extensive information on specific diseases and conditions as well as links to medical dictionaries, lists of hospitals and physicians, consumer health information from the National Institutes of Health and clinical trials. (keywords/alternate spellings: Medline plus, Medline-plus, full text)
Proquest Online
Proquest Online provides searching for ABI/INFORM Global, PA Research II, and ProQuest Newpapers. If you have problems going beyond the first page of results, click Tools--Internet Options--Delete Files and then click Settings to make sure "Automatically" is checked.
PsycInfo via Ebscohost
PsycInfo, formerly known as PsycLit, provides abstracts for journal articles, books, chapters of books, technical reports, and dissertations representing the international field of psychology and related disciplines such as psychiatry, education, business, medicine, nursing, pharmacology, law, linguistics, behavior analysis, and social work. Coverage is 1872 to current with regular updates and covers over 1300 journals, representing over 25 languages. Chapter and book coverage is 1987 to current. Keywords/alternate spellings: behaviour, personality, neuroscience, psychometrics, sociology, social, sports, leisure, psychological, PsychInfo, Psyc Info, Psych, PsychLit, Lit.
Social Services Abstracts
Social Sciences Abstracts via Ebscohost is a bibliographic database that indexes and abstracts articles of at least one column in length from English-language periodicals. Coverage includes a wide range of interdisciplinary fields covered in a broad array of social sciences journals. Subjects covered include: addiction studies, anthropology, community health and medical care, corrections, criminal justice, criminology, economics, environmental studies, ethics, family studies, gender studies, geography, gerontolgy, international relations, law, minority studies, planning, and public administration.) Coverage is February 1983 to present.
Social Work Abstracts
Social Work Abstracts, produced by the National Association of Social Workers, covers social work and other related topics such as homelessness, AIDS, child and family welfare, aging, substance abuse, legislation, and community organization. Coverage is from 1977 to present.
Sociological Abstracts
Sociological Abstracts (formerly known as Sociofile) provides a gateway to both the theoretical and applied areas of sociology. The database contains information from approximately 2500 journals in 30 different languages from about 55 countries. It covers sociology and related disciplines by including bibliographic citations and abstracts and enhanced dissertation citations from Dissertation Abstracts International. Coverage begins with 1963.
Additional Resources
These resources may contain some useful information.
Alternative Press Index
Comprehensive guide to alternative sources of information, indexing
nearly 300 alternative, radical and left periodicals, newspapers and
magazines covering cultural, economic, political and social change.
Coverage is international and interdisciplinary. Indexing begins with
1991.
Annual Reviews
Each Annual Review contains full text articles covering current
research from a specific discipline. Currently 38 titles are published
each year, covering biomedical, physical, and social sciences.
Collection includes full text access to all volumes from the beginning
of each publication. The first series, Annual Review of Biochemistry,
began in 1932.
Anthropolgy
Plus
Provides extensive worldwide
indexing of journal articles, reports, commentaries, edited works and
obituaries in the fields of social, cultural, physical, biological and
linguistic anthropology, ethnology, archaeology, folklore, material culture and
interdisciplinary studies.
AnthroSource
A new resource for full text anthropological information.
Article
First
Indexes articles from over 12,500
journals in science, technology, business, medicine, social science,
humanities, and popular culture. Bibliographic information including article
location help.
Associations Unlimited
Associations Unlimited contains information for approximately 460,000
international and U.S. national, regional, state, and local nonprofit
membership organizations in all fields, including IRS data on U.S.
501(c) nonprofit organizations. For some 2,600 major U.S. national
associations, provides full-text association materials such as
brochures, pamphlets, and membership application forms. A GaleGroup
database.
Children's Literature
Comprehensive Database
The CLCD provides over 200,000 reviews of children's books, videos and
audio books from 24 reputable sources. Includes entries for book
awards, honors, prizes, and all state reading lists. A green dot on the
search result page indicates that full-text reviews exist for a title.
Materials covered range from early baby board books to nonfiction for
young adults. More than 1500 reviews are added monthly. Coverage date:
MARC records from 1965-current.
Web of Science
Web of Science service provides web access to the following citation
indexes from 1995 to the present: Science Citation Index; Social
Sciences Citation Index; and Arts & Humanities Citation Index.
These resources enable the user to identify related writings
(periodical articles, reviews, etc.) by indicating sources in which a
known article by a given author has been cited. The older indexes are
available from the Electronic Resources page by their titles. This
resource is limited to 5 simultaneous users.
For access to Spanish language journals try:
Clase Periodica
ClasePeriodica provides
access to Latin American journal article citations and is actually two
Spanish-language indexes joined together in one service. The CLASE database
indexes over 1200 Latin American journals in the social sciences and the
humanities, while the PERIODICA database indexes over 1400 Latin American
science and technology journals. CLASE includes subjects such as anthropology,
the arts, economics, management and accounting, education, political science,
psychology, religion, sociology, history, linguistics, literature, and
philosophy, while PERIODICA covers subjects such as agricultural sciences,
biology, chemistry, engineering, geosciences, physics, and medicine. Updated
quarterly; CLASE coverage is 1975-present, and PERIODICA coverage is
1978-present.
Fuente Academia
Provides full text coverage for nearly 200 Spanish language scholarly
journals from throughout the world. Abstracts are in English and
Spanish. An EbscoHost database via TexShare.
Medica Latina
Spanish language collection of medical research and investigative
journals published by renowned Latin American medical publishers. This
unique database provides access to full text for nearly 100
peer-reviewed medical journals in native Spanish. A wide range of
topics are covered including neuroscience, cardiology, nephrology,
biomedicine, clinical research, pediatrics, human reproduction,
clinical pathology, cancer research, and hematology. From TEX Share.
Selected Journals
There are
many journals that may deal with aspects of Autism or other developmental
disorders. Journals may be located in a variety of locations. Always check the
UNT Online Catalog (http://iii.library.unt.edu/) for location and availability.
All journals bound and current are shelved in alphabetical order.
Abbreviations: ECL= Eagle Commons Library
ASC = Academic Search Complete
BMC = BioMed Central
BSC = Business Source Complete
CJO = Cambridge Journals Online
ECO = Electronic Collections Online
ERC= Education Research Complete
HRCA = Health Reference Center Academic
IW= InformaWorld
LNA = Lexis Nexis Academic
MF = Willis Microforms
MFP = MasterFILE Premier
PMC = Pub Med Central
PQ = Proquest
PsycA = PsycArticles
SD = Science Direct
WON= Wiley Online
Some electronic journals may have an embargo period from 3 months to 1 year.
| Advances in Special Education | Willis Stacks |
| American Journal of Human Genetics | RS, ECL, PMC, SD |
| American Journal of Medical Genetics, Part B Neuropsychiatric Genetics | Wiley |
| American Journal of Psychiatry | RS, ECL, LNA, PQ, publisher, Highwire Press |
| American Journal on Mental Retardation:AJMR | ECL |
| Applied Developmental Science | ASC, BSC |
| Autism Research and Treatment |
ASC, Hindawi, Open J-Gate |
| Autism The International Journal of Research and Practice | ECL, Sage |
| Behavior Modification | RS, ECL, ECO, Sage |
| Biological Psychiatry | RS, ECL, SD |
| BMC Genetics | BMC, PMC, ASC |
| Brain and Cognition | ECL, SD |
| Brain Research | RS, SD |
| British Journal of Psychiatry | RS, ECL, Highwire Press |
| Child Development | Willis, Dallas, ASC, ECO, WON, JSTOR |
| Development and Psychopathology | ECL, CJO, PQ |
| Developmental Medicine and Child Neurology | RS, CJO |
| Developmental Medicine and Child Neurology-Supplements | various ECL Stacks |
| Developmental Review | SD |
| Early Education and Development | Willis, ERC |
| Education Week | Willis, MF, ASC, MFP, PQ, ERC. LNA |
| Educational Psychology | ASC, PQ,ERC |
| European Journal of Human Genetics | ASC |
| Exceptional Children | RS, Willis, ASC, ERC, H&WRC, HRCA, PQ |
| Exceptional Parent | Willis ,ERC, HRCA, PQ |
| Exceptionality | Willis, ASC,ERC, IW |
| Focus on Autism and Other Developmental Disabilities | ECL, ASC, MFP, ERC, Sage |
| Focus on Autistic Behavior | ECL, ASC, MFP, ERC |
| Genomics | ECL, SD |
| JAMA-Journal of the American Medical Association | RS, ECL, MF |
| Journal of Applied Behavior Analysis | RS, ECL, PMC, PQ |
| Journal of Autism and Developmental Disorders | ECL, MF, ASC, PQ, Springer Link, ERC |
| Journal of Child and Adolescent Psychopharmacology | PQ, HRCA, PMC |
| Journal of Child Neurology | ASC, Sage |
| Journal of Child Psychology and Psychiatry (and Allied Disciplines) | RS, ECL, ASC, WON |
| Journal of Clinical Psychiatry | ECL, also Reserves, PMC, publisher |
| Journal of Communication Disorders | RS, ECL, SD |
| Journal of Consulting and Clinical Psychology | ECL, PsycA |
| Journal of Developmental and Physical Disabilities | ASC, Springer Link |
| Journal of Emotional and Behavioral Disorders | ECL, ASC, MFP, PQ, ERC, Sage |
| Journal of Intellectual & Developmental Disability | ASC, PQ, ERC |
| Journal of Intellectual Disability Research | ECL, ASC, SYN, ECO, ERC |
| Journal of Medical Genetics | RS, HRCA, PMC, Highwire Press |
| Journal of Neural Transmission | Springer Link |
| Journal of Neuropathology and Experimental Neurology | RS |
| Journal of Positive Behavior Interventions | ECL, ASC, PQ, ERC, Sage |
| Journal of the American Academy of Child and Adolescent Psychiatry | ECL |
| Mental Retardation and Developmental Disabilities | ECL stacks |
| Mental Retardation and Developmental Research Reviews | ASC, WON |
| Molecular Autism |
BMC |
| Molecular Psychiatry | ASC, PBS, HRCA |
| Nature Genetics | ASC, PQ, Nature journals |
| New England Journal of Medicine -NEJM | RS, ECL, MF, PQ |
| Neurobiology of Disease | ECL, SD |
| Neurology | RS, ECL, PMC |
| Pediatric Neurology | SD |
| Pediatrics | RS, ASC, HRCA, LNA, MFP, PQ, Highwire Press |
| Psychiatry Research | ECL, SD |
| Remedial and Special Education:RASE | Willis, ASC MFP, PQ, ERC, Sage |
| Research in Developmental Disabilities | Willis, SD |
| Teaching Exceptional Children | Willis, ASC |
| Topics in Early Childhood Special Education | Willis, ASC, MFP, PQ, ERC, Sage |
Journal locations
Journals may located in a variety of locations
- Willis Library - current journals and bound volumes located in basement
- Eagle Commons Library (Information Sciences Building) - current journals located on 1st floor, bound journals on 1st floor and basement
- Remote Storage (Libraries Annex) - Journals published before 1980. For retrieval use the Library Materials Delivery Request Library Materials Delivery Request form located on the Library Services page. Five volumes at a time may be requested. These materials are generally available 24 hours later (weekdays only) at the circulation desk of the appropriate library.
- Reserves Desk-Certain journals will at times be located at the Reserves Desk of the Libraries.
- Media Library at Chilton Hall- videos and related media items.
- Online - Full text journals can be accessed directly though the Online Catalog or from the Electronic Resources page. Many of these journal packages have a search engine to help you locate the information needed -- EBSCOhost, Science Direct, Wiley Interscience, Blackwell's Synergy, Electronic Collections Online, PsycArticles or SpringerLink.
Always check the UNT Online Catalog (http://iii.library.unt.edu).for location and availability. All journals bound and current are shelved in alphabetical order. If you have any problems contact the nearest Reference or Service desk for assistance.