Skip to content. | Skip to navigation

Sections
Document Actions

Signatures

Artist's Signatures and Monograms

Artist's Signatures and Monograms

These sources contain visual examples of artist's signatures or monograms used to sign works of art. Most of these signatures are of painters, sculptors and printmakers.  For the signature or mark of an artist or manufacturer found on a decorative work of art, consult the section in this guide dealing with that particular medium. 


Located in Art Reference, 1st floor, Eagle Commons Library.

Dictionary of Artists

(Benezit), N40 .D5213 2006 14 vols.


Classified Directory of Artist's Signatures, Symbols, and Monograms

N45. C36 1976b

Dictionary of Signatures & Monograms of American Artists: From the Colonial Period to the Mid-20th C.

N45.F35 1988

Marks and Monograms of the Modern Movement,1875-1930

N45. H37

Monogram Lexicon

N45. G6

Die Monogrammisten

(Nagler), N45.N2 1977 vols. 1-5 (3rd floor, Willis Library) Includes painters, sculptors, lithographers, engravers, gold and silversmiths and ceramists. Includes references to the prints of the Illustrated Bartsch.

European artists III: signatures and monograms from 1800: a directory

N45 .C383 2009 

Abstract artists: signatures and monograms, an international directory
N6494.A2 C37 2007  

Artists' monograms and indiscernible signatures II: an international directory from 1800
N45 .C375 2007

Old Masters: signatures and monograms, 1400-born 1800
N45 .C39 1996 

Latin American artists' signatures and monograms: colonial era to 1996

N45 .C385 1997

Info

Looking for journal articles? 

Try out our new Find Articles (Beta) search! 

Don't forget to let us know what you think about it.

 

Rebecca

Contact Info

Research & Instructional Services,
Willis Library, RM155, University of North Texas

Email me!

Website/Blog

Other pages by me


UNT and State of Texas: UNT | UNT Search | UNT News and Events | State of Texas | State-wide Search

Policies: UNT Web Accessibility Policy | AA/EOE/ADA | Privacy Statement | Disclaimer

1155 Union Circle #305190
Denton , TX 76203-5017
(940) 565-2413

Locations, Maps, and Shipping.

Credits
Government Information Connection
The UNT Libraries are on Facebook