By Medium
Painting
Painting: Identification and Valuation Sources.
Located in General Reference, 1st floor, Willis Library.
British 18th Century Painters, N6766 .W29
Bryan's Dictionary of Painters and Engravers, N40 .B945 v.1-5
Illustrated Dictionary of 17th Century Flemish Painters, ND669 .F5 M34 1994 3 vols.
Dictionary of British Watercolor Artists up to 1920, ND1928 .M27 2002 v. 1-2
Dictionary of Scottish Painters1600-1960, ND475 .H35 1990
The Women Impressionists: a Sourcebook, Z5961 .F7 C58 2000
A
Dictionary of Miniaturists, Illuminators, Calligraphers, and Copyists,
with
References to Their Works, and Notices of Their Patrons, from the Establishment of Christianity to the Eighteenth Century, ND2890 .B8 vols. 1-3
Located 3rd floor, Willis Library.
Dictionnaire des Miniaturistes du Moyen Âge et de la Renaissance dans les Différentes Contrées de l'Europe, N7616 .A4 1949aA Dictionary of Painters of Miniatures (1525-1850),.. N7616 .F72 196
Sculpture
Sculpture: Identification and Valuation Sources
Sculpture is included in all other categories on the subject guide Art Sources for the Identification and Valuation of Fine and Decorative Arts, except other specific mediums.
Located in General Reference, 1st floor, Willis Library, unless otherwise noted.
Bronzes: Sculptors & Founders, 1800-1930, (includes marks), NK7909.8 .B47 vols. 1-4
Dictionary of British Sculptors, 1660-1851, NB496 .G85 1954 (3rd floor, Willis Library)
Dictionnaire des Sculpteurs de l'Ecole Française, NB552 .L29 1970 vols. 1-8 (3rd floor, Willis Library)
Dictionary of American Sculptors: 18th Century to the Present, NB236 .O64 1984 (3rd floor, Willis Library)
French Sculptors of the 17th and 18th Centuries: the Reign of Louis XIV, NB546 .S6813 vols. 1-4
Contemporary American Women Sculptors, NB212 .W37 1986 (3rd floor, Willis Library)
Prints
Fine Art Prints: Identification and Valuation Sources
Located in General Reference, 1st floor, Willis Library or 3rd floor Willis if indicated.
How to Identify Prints: a Complete Guide to Manual and Mechanical Processes from Woodcut to Ink Jet, NE850 .G37 2004
Bryan's Dictionary of Painters and Engravers, N40 .B945 vols. 1-5
Iconoclass Index. Early German Prints, NE651 .L386 1995 vols. 1-4
The Seventeenth Century: an Iconographic Index to A. Bartsch, Le Peintre-Graveur, NE90 .B2377 1990 vols. 19-21 (See Iconclass index for codes used to index subjects in the Illustrated Bartsch)
Marcantonio Raimondi and His School: an Iconographic Index to A. Bartsch, Le
Peintre-Graveur, NE90 .B2135 1988 vols. 14-16 (See Iconclass index for codes used to index subjects in the Illustrated Bartsch)
Antonio Tempesta and His Time: an Iconographic Index to A. Bartsch, Le Peintre-Graveur, NE90 .B2137 1987 (See Iconclass index for codes used to index subjects in the Illustrated Bartsch)
Italian Printmaking, Fifteenth and Sixteenth Centuries: an Annotated Bibliography, Z5947.3 .I8 K37 1987
Early Italian Engraving: an Iconographic Index to A.M. Hind, Early Italian Engraving, NE659 .H48 index
Old Master Print References: a Selected Bibliography, Z5947.3.E85 M37 1986
Fine Print References: a Selected Bibliography of Print-Related Literature, Z5947.A3 L82 1982
Print Reference Sources: a Selected Bibliography, 18th-20th Centuries, Z5947.A3 M37 1979
The Illustrated Bartsch, NE90 .B213 vols. 1-7 (3rd Floor), (See Iconclass index for codes used to index subjects in the Illustrated Bartsch)
American Lithographers, 1900-1960: the Artists and Their Printers,
NE2304 .A3 1983 (3rd floor)
Who's Who in Graphic Art, NC45 .W5 1982 (3rd floor)
The German Single-Leaf Woodcut, 1550-1600, NE1150 .G47 vols. 1-3 (3rd floor)
Early Italian Engraving: An Iconographic Index To A.M. Hind, Early Italian Engraving, NE659 .H48
Early Italian Engraving: a Critical Catalog... NE 659 .H48 (index to catalog listed above)
Prints of the Twentieth Century: a History, NE490 .C27 (3rd floor)
The Art of the Print: Masterpieces, History, Techniques, NE400 .E32 (3rd floor)
The History of the Illustrated Book: the Western Tradition, Z1023 .H387 (3rd floor)
A History of Engraving and Etching, from the 15th Century to the Year 1914, NE400 .H66 1930, (3rd floor)
An Introduction to a History of Woodcut, with a Detailed Survey of Work Done in the Fifteenth Century, 761 H584 vols. 1-2 (3rd floor)
American Printmaking: a Century of American Printmaking, 1880-1980, NE507 .W37 1984 (3rd floor)
A Guide to Collectors. 3,500 Illustrations. English Furniture, Decoration, Woodwork & Allied Arts during the Last Half of the Seventeenth Century, the Whole of the Eighteenth Century, and the Earlier Part of the Nineteenth, 749 St81e (3rd floor)
Watermarks
Watermarks are the impressed mark or logo of paper makers. Watermarks reveal the paper maker or manufacturer. This knowledge may give some insight into the history, place and time period when the work was created.
*To look for a watermark, hold the work up to the light and tilt in various degrees while looking for the impression of the watermark. Watermarks will usually be located in the corner of the paper. If you do find a watermark, visually match the mark to examples shown in the sources listed below.
Watermarks in Paper in Holland, England, France, etc. in the XVII and XVIII Centuries and Their Interconnection, Z237 .C56 1967 (Eagle Commons Library)
Papermaking: the History and Technique of an Ancient Craft, TS1090 .H816 1943, (Rare Books, 4th floor, Willis Library)
American Prints in the Library of Congress; a Catalog of the Collection, NE505 .A47 1970
Les Filigranes: Dictionnaire Historique des Marques du Papier dès Leur Apparition vers 1282 jusqu'en 1600, Z237 .B845 1985 vols. 1-4 (Rare Books, 4th floor, Willis Library)
Photography
Photography: Identification and Valuation Sources
Located in General Reference, Eagle Commons Library, unless otherwise noted.
Contemporary Photographers, TR139 .C663 1995
American Photographers: an Illustrated Who's Who Among Contemporary...TR13.9 .A46 1989
Illustrated Bio-Bibliography of Black Photographers 1940-1988, TR139 .W55 1989
Macmillan Biographical Encyclopedia of Photographic Artists & Innovators, TR139 .B767 1983
Collectors' Guide to Nineteenth-Century Photographs, TR6.5 .W44 1975
Black Photographers, 1840-1940: an illustrated bio-bibliography, TR139 .W55 1985
The Photograph Collector's Guide, TR6.5 .W57
Photographers: a Sourcebook for Historical Research, TR15 .P477 2000
Index to American Photographic Collections, TR12 .E85 1996
Photographic Collections in Texas: a Union Guide, TR12 .P43 1987 (Eagle Commons Library regular shelves)
Ceramics, Porcelain and Glass
Ceramics, Porcelain and Glass: Identification and Valuation Sources
Located in General Reference, 1st floor, Willis Library, or 3rd floor Willis Library (if noted).
Marks & Monograms on European and Oriental Pottery and Porcelain NK4215 .C46 1946Sèvres Porcelain: Makers and Marks of the Eighteenth Century
NK4390 .D38 1986
Encyclopaedia of British Pottery and Porcelain Marks NK4085 .G63 1964b
Encyclopaedia of British Porcelain Manufacturers NK4485 .G592 1988
Warman's English & Continental Pottery & Porcelain NK4083 .B34 2004
Dictionary of Marks: Pottery and Porcelain (Kovels), NK4215 .K68
Collector's Handbook to Marks on Porcelain and Pottery NK4215 .B8 1974, (3rd Floor)
Handbook of Pottery and Porcelain Marks, NK4215 .C8 1980 (3rd Floor)
Collector's Handbook to Marks on Porcelain and Pottery NK4215 .B8 1974 (3rd Floor)
Lehner's Encyclopedia of U.S. Marks on Pottery, Porcelain and Clay NK4215 .L36 1988
Art Pottery of the United States: an Encyclopedia of Producers and Their Marks NK4007 .E92 1974, (3rd Floor)
The Kovels' Collector's Guide to American Art Pottery NK4005 .K68 1974, (3rd Floor)
Warman's American Pottery & Porcelain NK4005 .A1 B35 2000 (3rd floor)
Encyclopedia of Pottery & Porcelain, 1800-1960 NK3920 .C36 1986
Twentieth Century Glass NK5110 .M55 2004
Kovels' Depression Glass and Dinnerware Price List NK5439.D44 K67 2004
The Collector's Encyclopedia of American Art Glass NK5439.A77 S58 2006
Warman's Glass: Values and Identification NK5104 .S37 2002 (3rd floor)
The Ceramic, Furniture, and Silver Collectors' Glossary NK3770 .C46
A Guide to Collectors. 3,500 Illustrations. English furniture, decoration, woodwork & allied arts during the last half of the seventeenth century, the whole of the eighteenth century, and the earlier part of the nineteenth 749 St81e, (3rd Floor)
The Dictionary of World Pottery and Porcelain NK3770 .B64, (3rd Floor)
Five Thousand Years of Glass NK5106 .G54 2004 (3rd Floor)
World Ceramics: from Prehistoric to Modern Times NK3780 .M86 1998 (3rd Floor)
An Illustrated Dictionary of Glass TP788 .N48 (Eagle Commons Library, Reference)
The Concise Encyclopedia of Continental Pottery and Porcelain NK4083 .H3 1960, (3rd Floor)
European Ceramic Art, from the End of the Middle Ages to about 1815 NK4083 .H63 1963, (3rd Floor)
Glass Throughout Time: History and Technique of Glass making from the Ancient World to the Present, NK5106 .E7213 2003 (3rd Floor)
Gold, Silver, Pewter and Jewelry
Gold, Silver, Pewter Art and Jewelry: Identification and Valuation Sources
Located in General Reference, 1st floor of the Willis Library or the 3rd floor of the Willis Library, (if noted).
The Ceramic, Furniture, and Silver Collectors' Glossary NK3770 .C46
The Sotheby's Directory of Silver, 1600-1940 NK7142 .B74 1986
The Collector's Dictionary of the Silver and gold of Great Britain and North America NK7143 .C55 1985
The Collector's Dictionary of the Silver and Gold of Great Britain and North America NK7143 .C55 1985
Old Pewter, Its Makers and Marks in England, Scotland, and Ireland NK8415.G7 C6 1963
Directory Of Gold And Silversmiths, Jewelers and Allied Traders 1838 1914 NK7143 .C924 1987
A Directory of American Silver, Pewter, and Silver Plate NK7112 .K66
An
Illustrated Dictionary of Silverware: 2,373 entries relating to British
and
North American wares, decorative techniques and styles, and leading designers and makers, from c.1500 to the present NK7104 .N49 1987
Encyclopedia of American Silver Manufacturers NK7112 .R3 1986
American Silver Flatware, 1837-1910 NK7112 .T8 1972
The Book of Old Silver, English, American, Foreign, 739 W977 1937 (3rd Floor)
An Illustrated Dictionary of Jewelery NK7304 .M37 1974 (3rd Floor)
Encyclopedia of Native American Jewelry: a Guide to History, People, and Terms NK7311 .B38 2000
Warman's Jewelry NK7104 .R66 2002
Antiques and Collectibles
Antiques and Collectibles: Identification and Valuation Sources
Located in General Reference, 1st floor, Willis Library.
Warman's Antiques & Collectibles Price GuideNK1133 .W33
Miller's International Antiques Price GuideNK1133 .M53
The Kovels' Antiques & Collectibles Price List, (includes clocks & furniture) NK1125 .K642Furniture
Furniture: Identification and Valuation Sources
Located in General Reference, 1st floor, Willis Library, unless otherwise indicated.
The Furniture Collector's Glossary NK2240 .L75 1967
The Dictionary of English Furniture, from the Middle Ages to the Late Georgian Period NK2529 .M32 1954, vols. 1-3
Dictionary of English Furniture Makers, 1660-1840 TS810.G7 D52 1986 (Science Library)
A History of English Furniture NK2529 .M3232 1972, vols. 1-4
Collector's Encyclopedia of American Furniture NK2405 .S894 1998
Dictionary of Furniture NK2205 .D5 2000
Encyclopedia of Furniture Materials, Trades, and Techniques NK2205 .E34 2000
The Complete Guide to Furniture Styles NK2270 .B63 1997
Western Furniture: 1350 to the Present Day in the Victoria and Albert Museum NK2260 .V53 1996
The Complete Book of Shaker Furniture NK2407 .R54 1993
Collector's Encyclopedia of American Furniture NK2405 .S894 1991
Furniture & Furnishings: a Visual Guide NK2230 .W48 1990
Sotheby's Concise Encyclopedia of Furniture NK2235 .S68 1989
American Furniture & the British Tradition to 1830 NK2406 .K55 1982
American Painted Furniture, 1660-1880 NK2406 .F3 1972
The Encyclopedia of Furniture NK2205 .A7 1965
The Antiques Directory. Furniture NK2206 .A57 1985
The Cabinetmakers of America NK2406 .B55 1978
Cabinet Makers and Furniture Designers NK2350 .H6 1972
A Short Dictionary of Furniture NK2205 .G55 1977