Skip to content. | Skip to navigation

Sections
Home Research Tools Subject Guides Anthropology Human Relations Area Files Human Relations Area Files
Document Actions

Anthropology

Human Relations Area Files

The Human Relations Area Files (HRAF) are a specially organized collection of thousands of full text sources on almost 400 cultures worldwide. HRAF is useful for background information or specific data on a particular ethnic group, culture or country, as well as subjects like architecture, kinship, political structure or settlement patterns on a comparative cross-cultural basis.

Microforms, Willis Library, Lower Level

The HRAF began publishing in electronic format in 1994 (as the eHRAF).  Prior to this, it was on microfiche, which is housed in Microforms on the lower level of Willis Library.  Many of the older files are only available in microfiche.

To find the files you need, use the following indexes (located in Microforms):

  1. HRAF Source Bibliography Z5119 .H88 1969

  2. Outline of Cultural Materials H62 .B36 v.1 1965

  3. Outline of World Cultures H62 .B36 v.3 1972 

eHRAF Collection of Ethnography

The eHRAF Collection of Ethnography also known as the Human Relations Area Files or HRAF database is an important resource for anthropological research. The eHRAF provides information on a broad range of cultures. The cultures covered are of two general types: (1) North American ethnic minorities, and (2) what have been called traditional, small-scale, primitive, nonliterate, native, non-Western, indigenous, Fourth World, or non-industrialized cultures. (Keywords: Anthropology, Ethnography, Ethnographies, full-text, full text.)

    URL: http://irservices.library.unt.edu/resource.cfm?ai_id=163

    Only available to UNT students, staff, and faculty. Access for guests is on-campus only.

    How to Access Electronic Resources

last modified Friday, January 16, 2009. 04:01 PM
Info

Looking for journal articles? 

Try out our new Find Articles (Beta) search! 

Don't forget to let us know what you think about it.

 


UNT and State of Texas: UNT | UNT Search | UNT News and Events | State of Texas | State-wide Search

Policies: UNT Web Accessibility Policy | AA/EOE/ADA | Privacy Statement | Disclaimer

1155 Union Circle #305190
Denton , TX 76203-5017
(940) 565-2413

Locations, Maps, and Shipping.

Credits
Government Information Connection
The UNT Libraries are on Facebook