The UNT Libraries have announced the 2015-16 Fellowship Awards from Special Collections and The Portal to Texas History. Winners are invited to spend a week in residence at UNT conducting research, and each are also invited to present a brief overview of their research during their residency as part of a Fellowship Lecture Series.

The winners of the Special Collections Fellowship are:

  • Oliver Burtin, Graduate student in History at Princeton University
    • Title of Project: The American Legion and Veterans’ Politics
  • Laura Forsberg, Ph.D. candidate in English at Harvard University
    • Title of Project: The Victorian Miniature Book
  • William A. Taylor, Assistant Professor of Security Studies at Angelo State University
    • Title of Project: In the Service of Democracy: American Military Service from World War II to the Present

The winners of the Portal to Texas History Fellowship are:

  • Ben Davis, Graduate student in Library and Information Science at the University of North Texas
    • Title of Project: Historic Architecture of Harrison County Texas
  • Evan C. Rothera, Ph.D. candidate in History at Pennsylvania State University
    • Title of Project: “There are in Texas Men who have suffered much”: Reconstruction in the Lone Star State
  • Nakia Parker, Graduate student in History at University of Texas, Austin
    • Title of Project: Life along the Red River: Gender, Slavery, and Emancipation in the Nineteenth-Century Southwest Borderlands

Each fellowship recipient’s lecture will be free and open to the public, and will be placed on the calendar of events at

For more information, contact Mandy Rausch at 940-565-2499 or