

Lorenzo de Zavala State Archives and Library Building

P.O. Box 12927 Austin, Texas 78711-2927

1201 Brazos Street Austin, Texas 78701

State Board Coordinator Jelain Chubb

> Members Linda Barrett Malinda L. Cowen Teri Flack Bob R. Glenn Melissa Gonzales Monte L. Monroe Linda Reynolds Kristy Sorensen

September 21, 2018

Morgan Gieringer Head of Special Collections University Libraries 1155 Union Circle, #305190 Denton, TX 76203-5017

Dear Ms. Gieringer:

On behalf of the Texas Historical Records Advisory Board, I am pleased to inform you that the University of North Texas Libraries has been selected to receive the 2018 *Archival Award of Excellence*.

The *Archival Award of Excellence* was established to honor a Texas institution for its projects and/or ongoing programs that build collections, enhance access to archives, develop effective digitization programs, or implement preservation strategies.

The University of North Texas Libraries was selected for its extensive work to preserve, digitize and provide access to archival records from NBC5/KXAS, Texas's oldest television news station. UNT's effort to digitize over 20,000 individual news segments dating from 1951 and its success in raising over \$600,000 to support its continuing digitization efforts are significant achievements in safeguarding and promoting our state's rich documentary heritage.

We will share the news of UNT's success and selection as the 2018 *Archival Award of Excellence* recipient in a press release on October 1 as part of our Texas Archives Month celebration. I look forward to seeing you and members of the project team at the award presentation during the DFW Archives Bazaar on October 14 at Dallas Heritage Village (time to be determined).

Congratulations to you and the UNT Libraries staff!

Sincerely,

Jelain Chubb

Jelain Chubb State Archivist & THRAB State Coordinator

Email: thrab@tsl.texas.gov